Temp

marble

Hi all, :D

Like to ask wat is a acceptable temp for a tank with fishes n invertebrates onli.??

29.5degree on average ok anot???huh???

Is using of ice cube to top up water ok???

Reasons:Top up water n bring down temp at e same time. :lol:

Will e temp changes thoughout e mths??As some mths r hotter n some r cooler??? <_<

tks for reading..... :thanks:

guess its getting hotter by the month... temp about 27-28 should be alright...

hm... not sure about ur place lah.. but my place can hit 32 ... and somemore i live in 9th story...

temp still so hot.. its really a sad story.. but lucky i got CHILLER!!!

add ice then the temp not constant.... if the temp up down up down... might stress ur LS..

guess its getting hotter by the month... temp about 27-28 should be alright...

hm... not sure about ur place lah.. but my place can hit 32 ... and somemore i live in 9th story...

temp still so hot.. its really a sad story.. but lucky i got CHILLER!!!

add ice then the temp not constant.... if the temp up down up down... might stress ur LS..

So its normal tat thoughout e mth,e temp for ur tank will b diff if u dun hav a chiller???tks....

I add ice cube abit bit at a time to bring e temp dw.Not e whole cup at one go..keke....

tks n happy cny...

Actually it is not reccomended to use ice cube to lower tank temperature cuz when the ice melts, it lowers the salinity of the tank which will still cuz problem. :(

The safer methos is to install a fans blowing across the water surface to reduce temp by evaporation. However, you will need to top-up fresh water constantly. ;)

Another method is to freezed some water in a soft drink bottle and place the whole bottle into the sump without un-capping. This will reduce temperature and yet the melted water will be contain in the bottle. ;)

Actually it is not reccomended to use ice cube to lower tank temperature cuz when the ice melts, it lowers the salinity of the tank which will still cuz problem. :(

The safer methos is to install a fans blowing across the water surface to reduce temp by evaporation. However, you will need to top-up fresh water constantly. ;)

Another method is to freezed some water in a soft drink bottle and place the whole bottle into the sump without un-capping. This will reduce temperature and yet the melted water will be contain in the bottle. ;)

:D Yah hor....Can use e bottle idea too.....Saw tat method at some places b4...At tat time dun noe y they r doing tat kekeke.....

For u,wat do u think is e acceptable range of temp for a fish n invertebrates onli tank????huh..... <_<

....Tks Gouldian

:D Yah hor....Can use e bottle idea too.....Saw tat method at some places b4...At tat time dun noe y they r doing tat kekeke.....

For u,wat do u think is e acceptable range of temp for a fish n invertebrates onli tank????huh..... <_<

....Tks Gouldian

Fish only is easy, as long as it is not exceeding 31 degree it should be alright.

But for invertebrates some may be stressed. Thus try to keep them below 29 degree max. ;)

25-26 degrees are the most ideal but as Steven have pointed out, it can only be done with a chiller.

a colder water will also be able to hold more oxygen.....therefore important for fishes like AT or clown tang.....

dunno if marine fish behaves the same as gold fish....but for gold fish you can actually feed less when the water is colder....

I think its because the warmer water causes increase metabolism thus fishes will feed more.

That's why when treating diseases some reefers heat up the tank slightly. ;)

;) Any ideas of getting any model pump (flowrate??) to go with resun cl650??

Wah lao bro, the topic of this thread is temperature and you ask flowrate here? A little off topic leh. :off::peace:

Anyway, the flowrate of CL650 varies, some reefers have tried 5000l/h and some tried 1200l/h. I use 2000l/h with no problems. :D

If you want the reccomended flowrate, I suggest you check out the manual cuz I forgot liao. :paiseh:

yap i agree .......... the heat also kill some of the germs in the water too i think ... :D

Do increase in water temp kill germs???

Found out tat,with increase in temp,e white spot on my fishes seems to disappear liao leh.....huh....B4 tat was using cure ich.But aft awhile seems ineffectiveIs it reali co-related??? :D

As for chiller,unless i wan to keep coral..If not i think not worth e investmt eventhough resun chiller is quite cheap n value for $$$...keke.... :D