Cleaner shrimp death

Seng

Hmm...

My temp is ard 30 degrees average...sometimes 30.5 on hot days but my cleaners are fine....I have one full sized cleaner and a smaller one together with a boxer. All seem to be doing well.

I use a single fan for my MH (250w) but it's open and the area is well ventilated.

My yellow tang is a regular patron of the larger cleaner and this particular cleaner also provides "dental" services for my goby :)

Cute creatures I have to say...

Additives is about 2 teaspoons of trace elements once every week and water change once a month...

I believe its all about acclimatisation and the individual survival strength of the shrimp we acquire...partially based on luck actually and the reputation of the LFS we buy from..

marble,

these few days the weather very very hot...

you know what when i was home yesterday evening..after i switch off the lights for about 2 hours later..the temp (bottom tank) was 30 degree celsius even i have a fan blowing at the surface...damn hot..

so i quickly put some ice..and the temp dropped

seems like all the ls will suffer due to the hot climate...if got extra better invest on a chiller asap ... ;)

Hmm...

My temp is ard 30 degrees average...sometimes 30.5 on hot days but my cleaners are fine....I have one full sized cleaner and a smaller one together with a boxer. All seem to be doing well.

I use a single fan for my MH (250w) but it's open and the area is well ventilated.

My yellow tang is a regular patron of the larger cleaner and this particular cleaner also provides "dental" services for my goby :)

Cute creatures I have to say...

Additives is about 2 teaspoons of trace elements once every week and water change once a month...

I believe its all about acclimatisation and the individual survival strength of the shrimp we acquire...partially based on luck actually and the reputation of the LFS we buy from..

what trace elements do you use, bro?

what light u using...

if mh, better use two fan..(best is chiller..sure very very hot ) if T5 ..i think one should be enough lor..

just secure the fan on one side of the tank...and blow directly at the water..(cos when there is movement on the water surface, it will cool down the water)

you can get a profantec fan at clementi florist for abt 30 plus..

I stripped two fans from old PCs. Both are DC powered, so need an adapter (about $6). Less noise (contactless), less electrical consumption (12V), and more efficient airflow, I think.

My 2 footer hovers between 25-26 deg on cold days, 27-28 on warmer days.

But must top up water daily, though.

Jus a thot...;)

How does blood shrimp look like???huh???

My 1st cleaner shrimp die aft 2wks.Suspect gana attack by fishes aft it change its shell e nite b4.

E other 1 die think when there is a sudden change in temp.All along average temp was always 28.5.Dun noe y aft i add some pur 2 n aqua cay(Dun noe e actual spelling) into my sump tank,e temp shoot up to 29.4degree.Its fast man,less then 5min,i saw my cleaner prawn overturn liao... :cry2:

Huh...R they beri senstive to sudden change in temp.How high a temp can they tahan????Anybody noe???

"aqua cay"? the one they use to remove phosphate/silicate?

I know that thses stuff do release heat at initially, so you got to rinse it before use

"aqua cay"? the one they use to remove phosphate/silicate?

I know that thses stuff do release heat at initially, so you got to rinse it before use

Yah yah yah...aqua cay...Its intro by e shop ppl to combine use with pur 2 fm aqua pxxm.It help to bulid up gd bat lor.But aft i put it into my sump tank,e temp shoot up to above 29degree n e nx thing i c is my CS overturn.But e rest of my LS still ok...B4 tat my average temp is 28.5degree.

U use tat product b4 ah???It will release heat untill when????tks <_<

But one thing strange is tat,with e increase in temp,e white spot disease tat my Purple tang have seems to disappear liao leh..huh.... :D

marble,

these few days the weather very very hot...

you know what when i was home yesterday evening..after i switch off the lights for about 2 hours later..the temp (bottom tank) was 30 degree celsius even i have a fan blowing at the surface...damn hot..

so i quickly put some ice..and the temp dropped

seems like all the ls will suffer due to the hot climate...if got extra better invest on a chiller asap ... ;)

I dun wan to invest on a chiller bec i dun hav coral lor.Think not worth it if dun have coral.

Another reason is bec chiller takes up space lor.My CSM(Wife) at hm wont b happy w tat.kekeke :D

My 3 dear shrimps (boxing, cleaner, fire) all still doing well since started. Just to share a joy. Maybe it's just coincidentally, they all change their shell on the Chinese New Year EVE!!! :yeah: 1st, was Mr. Boxing, about an hour later was Mr. Cleaner, then finally Mr. Fire about 2 hours later at about 2300H.

"Do they also celebrate Chinese New Year and wear brand new clothes on the 1st day?", my daughter asked. :blink::blink::blink:

Items left...

Ehliem Wet & Dry 2223

Prizm protein skimmer

Coralife UV

Resun 650 chiller

Giving up hobby, due to family commitment.