Planning for rockscaping of my 3x2x2

Rocks

Hi

I am planning for have a major rescaping of my 3x2x2 tank after CNY period.

Need advise from those experienced rescaping on their tank(s). I hope to avoid

any disaster from rescaping... :(:(

Intention

(1) Using eggcrates as liverocks support

(2) Take this opportunity to do equipment / tank "spring" cleaning

(3) Might want to add-on liverocks / #1 sand (currently only #0 size)

Concerns / Questions

How long the whole rescaping process takes? (ie: 4 hours? 1 days? etc)

What to start (take out) first? (ie: liverocks? livestocks? saltwater? etc)

Corals / Livestocks:

Where / how to temporary host all my corals/fishes during the rescaping?

If i take more than 1 day, what to take note inorder to keep them healthy?

Liverocks:

Any cleaning / bushing of the liverocks necessary before recaping back in the tank?

(most liverocks are at least 8 months olds)

Sand:

Do not disturb the sand < OR > try to stir up the sand and clean it a little?

Saltwater:

Do i siphon out all saltwater down to sand level then do new rockscaping? < OR >

Leave the water alone, just work on new rockscaping then change full tank water

after satisfy with the final rockscaping?

After finished with the new rockscaping, added NSW, do i leave the tank for a while

before putting back the corals / livestocks? < OR >

i have to wait for hours/days before putting in th corals/livestocks?

Manpower:

I only have myself to do the rescaping, the most wife help a little, can do? < OR >

I need a whole platoon to help me.. :P

MISC consideration:

What other things I need to take note of?

** jokes aside, genuine advises are very much appreciated **

CHEERS!

Rocks

:thanks::bow::thanks::bow::thanks::bow::thanks::bow::thanks::bow::thanks:

maybe tell us more abt your intented livestock so we can help out? ;)

What started me thinking to rescape the rock work is that current rockwork has quite a few dead corner/spot, and a lots of caves for fishes... which didn't have much rooms for corals... wanted to improve the liverock formation to address the issue and at the same time take the opportunity to do equipment / tank cleaning, also to add some size #1 sand... current sand size easily have sand storm.

I am not in a hurry to do the rescape work, so gather more info... take down notes from experienced reefers before doing so...

CHEERS!

Rocks

Hi

I am planning for have a major rescaping of my 3x2x2 tank after CNY period.

Need advise from those experienced rescaping on their tank(s). I hope to avoid

any disaster from rescaping... :(:(

Intention

(1) Using eggcrates as liverocks support

(2) Take this opportunity to do equipment / tank "spring" cleaning

(3) Might want to add-on liverocks / #1 sand (currently only #0 size)

Concerns / Questions

How long the whole rescaping process takes? (ie: 4 hours? 1 days? etc)

Corals / Livestocks:

Liverocks:

Any cleaning / bushing of the liverocks necessary before recaping back in the tank?

Sand:

Saltwater:

Do i siphon out all saltwater down to sand level then do new rockscaping? < OR >

After finished with the new rockscaping, added NSW, do i leave the tank for a while

Manpower:

I only have myself to do the rescaping, the most wife help a little, can do? < OR >

I need a whole platoon to help me.. :P

MISC consideration:

** jokes aside, genuine advises are very much appreciated **

CHEERS!

Rocks

:thanks::bow::thanks::bow::thanks::bow::thanks::bow::thanks::bow::thanks:

if your LR is serving you fine, why brush it? 8 months is already alot of time for things that should die off, die off long time ago.

Of course you got to take out your coral first and house them in a container with some water movement. you may end up taking out the LR before you can net the fish out. As long as your LR are only expose to air for a few second that you transfer them to a container, its ok. you may wan to use the tank water to save on addition saltwater to house them.

better to do the aqauscaping with the rock wet. you can try a half tank water and always remember to wet the LR on top at interval. i dun think you like the idea of dried up rock that cause a large ammonia spike which will kill your inhibitants. And

I cant imagine aquascaping with a full tank of water. Too "chim" for me.

stir up the sand and debris and siphon them out. More important if you wish to add a new layer of sand. I dun know about this idea but i suggest you mixed the old and new sand alittle at random spot, instead of covering the entire layer.

Hope it helps...

if your LR is serving you fine, why brush it? 8 months is already alot of time for things that should die off, die off long time ago.

Of course you got to take out your coral first and house them in a container with some water movement. you may end up taking out the LR before you can net the fish out. As long as your LR are only expose to air for a few second that you transfer them to a container, its ok. you may wan to use the tank water to save on addition saltwater to house them.

better to do the aqauscaping with the rock wet. you can try a half tank water and always remember to wet the LR on top at interval. i dun think you like the idea of dried up rock that cause a large ammonia spike which will kill your inhibitants. And

I cant imagine aquascaping with a full tank of water. Too "chim" for me.

stir up the sand and debris and siphon them out. More important if you wish to add a new layer of sand. I dun know about this idea but i suggest you mixed the old and new sand alittle at random spot, instead of covering the entire layer.

Hope it helps...

Hi hotlemond

Thanks a lot for the input, and YES every feedback helps in my planning... especially me have no experience in doing this... so better seek other's advise first.

thanks again. points noted.

Anyone else has valuable input for me?....

CHEERS!

Get a BIG toyogo tub and put all your live rock, corals and livestock in there. Add a power head for circulation and start re-scaping. You need to think what style you want- an island in the middle? A lagoon with the centre hollowed out? How are your lighting needs? Where do you want to put your corals to maximise the light? Is your new landscape able to hide your powerheads or overflow? If so, are they easily serviceable?

Hope this helps.

Get a BIG toyogo tub and put all your live rock, corals and livestock in there. Add a power head for circulation and start re-scaping.

Hey... this is a good idea, i have a few of these in my store-room. Will do this.

You need to think what style you want- an island in the middle? A lagoon with the centre hollowed out?

Likely to have the liverocks pile up against the back wall of the tank and extend to the right side of the tank wall. (overflow is at the back right corner).

How are your lighting needs? Where do you want to put your corals to maximise the light?

Current lighting are 1x150w MH + 4x39w T5... no SPS in tank, mostly LPS and softies... i guess lighting should not be a problem

Is your new landscape able to hide your powerheads or overflow? If so, are they easily serviceable?

Yes, i plan to hide my 2 x Rio820, hope to use some liverock to pile up as a blind spot corner to hide the Rios.. but this have to play by year and see how i can construct the corner when rescaping. Thanks for reminding me of this... point taken

Hope this helps.

YES, points highlighted above are worth considering ... thank you.

Anyone with more ideas or tips that i need to take note as well ?...

CHEERS!

Rocks.

Well experient group ( me, SBS_Transit, Neokn and AD ) can help you on the spot with minium fee ( Haa Haa Food and Drink ), if you are staying north.

haha yup, late night scaping :lol:

SBS_Transit

:lol::lol:

OK some light moments... minsmarine, SBS_Transit..

I do stay in the North.. so i sub-contract my rescaping job to both of you lor ? ... :lol::lol:

Rocks, read this thread I started some time ago... my rescape is targetted for 19th Feb... wat about you??

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...topic=27399&hl=

RAV-65

Hey .. thanks for sharing your thread... I have lots of questions answered there. :peace:

I am targetting to redo the rock work sometime in late Feb if not early March..

I am rather superstitious 19 Feb still CNY period... i won't want to do any cleaning work at home... :lol::lol::lol:

Currently am a little worry whether re-scaping my liverocks will result killing some corals and livestock... :( so better be well prepare before i start my 'project' ..

CHEERS!

off to read the rest of your thread... :D

I just helped Neokn to rescape his tank with new DSB 2 days ago.

So far no LS and Coral loss.

So what are you waiting for :)

thanks everyone... for the encouragement and advises.. I guess should not have any die-off resulting in rescaping...

Tto begin, I need to go buy

Eggcrates,

PVC pipes,

#1 sand,

Marine Salt (is Topical Marine alright?)... $30 for the 50 US Gal / 180litres package.

Think should be able to get it from that shop in Yishun Central..

CHEERS!

Take out your corals first, and place them in a tub full of heated tankwater, with a powerhead or the like for some circulation. No need to remove fish etc unless you are draining the entire tank IMO

Have heaps of towels, and containers to rest the rocks in to stop water going everywhere!

Corals / Livestocks:

It shouldn't take more than a day, but a tub with a heater and powerhead should be fine for 24 hours... any longer than that and you need to start planning better!

Liverocks:

Nope, leave the rocks as is. A little blast with a powerhead can remove some detritus build up but don't scrub them!

Sand:

Leave it be

Saltwater:

Can do it either way, leaving the water in means the rock is not out of the wter for as long, but also creates asandstorm in your tank that won;t settle for a while, which makes it difficult to see what you are doing. Just make sure if you do drain water, replace it with new salt water that is heated up.

I would put all the livestock back in straight away provided that the water is the right temperature.

[

u]Manpower:

I need a whole platoon to help me..    :P

Should be ok on your own I think

MISC consideration:

Cable ties and putty can help heaps to hold rocks in place. Consider using a frame made out of PVC pipe instead of eggcrate, much easier to work with!

Good luck ;)