joeyttk Posted February 3, 2005 Share Posted February 3, 2005 Hi, was snooping around the net and found that there is actually something called the cleaner clam. http://www.saltwaterfish.com/site_11_03/##...oot_parent_id=4 it claims to help reduce NO3- too.... Is this the clams that we eat at seafood reataurants and marche ? Anyone knows where can we find 'live' ones ? thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member thioeh Posted February 3, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 3, 2005 Got 4-5 pcs in my tank give by friend where collected from outside s,pore water. They will buried itself into the sandbed after few hour, dont whether it will help to clean the sandbed or not, just put in for fun. The colour of the shell is different from market clam as it is pure white and market is golden brown in colour. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joeyttk Posted February 3, 2005 Author Share Posted February 3, 2005 interesting know where can I get them in Singapore ? I saw some in the seafood restaurant in HK but not so sure if I can find them in the wet market here Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted February 3, 2005 Share Posted February 3, 2005 clam do so call help to clean the water... But if they die, you are in for some big trouble Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted February 3, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 3, 2005 interesting know where can I get them in Singapore ? I saw some in the seafood restaurant in HK but not so sure if I can find them in the wet market here you can get fresh ones from the seafood retail shop opposite eAquaNature. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted February 3, 2005 Share Posted February 3, 2005 clam do so call help to clean the water... But if they die, you are in for some big trouble agree Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted February 3, 2005 Share Posted February 3, 2005 clam do so call help to clean the water... But if they die, you are in for some big trouble Anything of sufficient size that die will also give you trouble if your skimmer not garang enuff Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ambystoma82 Posted February 3, 2005 Share Posted February 3, 2005 how abt abalone? also jialat to e water when die? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joeyttk Posted February 3, 2005 Author Share Posted February 3, 2005 fresh ones ? Are u refering to fresh water clams in a seafood restuarant opp eaquanature ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lester Posted February 3, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 3, 2005 Hi anyone know where to buy abalone??? it seems fun to have one in my tank cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joeyttk Posted February 4, 2005 Author Share Posted February 4, 2005 I think there was one at ML [i.e. henry at hong leong garden]. I am not sure if it is already sold. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lester Posted February 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 4, 2005 hi i see ... u know how much it is selling and wat does it eat ??? cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lester Posted February 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 4, 2005 by the way ... the cleaner clam is it the one we normally eat outside ??? cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Venezia Posted February 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 4, 2005 lester u can get small abalone from coral farm for $8 NETT. hurry b4 they are all gone.... the clams u can try to buy from unique seafood at turf city.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member surfedelic Posted February 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 4, 2005 I thought all clams take nitrate regardless what type of clams basically they take nutrient from the water. The only thing to take note is your calcium level becasue clams suck calcium pretty fast ...... if yor calcium drops -- your ph will drop and all your livestock will go up to heaven. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotlemond Posted February 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 4, 2005 in SG, we call them "la la" right, fried with chilli at hawker centre one. East coast have leh..., you see those rocks on shore during low tide, over turn them. some more have trochus snail. i caught a few and it got rid of me algae issue. they eat and work 10X faster than those torbo's you get at LFS. Got a buddy who pick up a la la at the size of 4 inch diameter and 2 inch thick. No joke. still inside the main tank Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah_d3x Posted February 5, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 5, 2005 haha... i'm using cockle to clean my sandbed! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lester Posted February 5, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 5, 2005 Hi ... so comfrim all types of clam can reduce NO3 la ??? comfrim ?? if steady later going to eat sea food .. will pack a few back for the tank reali ah ...???? cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lester Posted February 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 6, 2005 hi ... just went down to ML this afternoon ... but can't find any abalone there .. guess it have been sold out... but manage to get a few live clam (lala) i think yesterday... but haven throw into the tank yet ... so is it safe for the tank ???? cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lester Posted February 8, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 8, 2005 so is it safe for the tank ???? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah_d3x Posted February 8, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 8, 2005 dun know leh... my white shell and cockles r doing good... but if they die then can really cause a serious spike... so must constant check for dead clams on the first week of introduction.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lester Posted February 8, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 8, 2005 hi .......... hmmmmmmm ok .. here goes nothing.. hehe crossfinger.... hehe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lester Posted February 9, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 9, 2005 hi ... hmmm ... lala seems ok ... throw in a total of 5 small lala (clam) but currently can only see 3.. hmmm.... ~praying Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotlemond Posted February 11, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 11, 2005 dun worry too much. they will live. unless something ambush it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lester Posted February 11, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 11, 2005 dun worry too much. they will live. unless something ambush it. bro.... .. hmmm lost sight of them all liao .... hiding somewhere where i can't see liao ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...