My New Tank (5'x2'x27")

seamonkee

wah sounds quite sad tt u r predicting the deaths of the purple queens.. :(

I predict so cause its two weeks and they appeared not feeding....

but dun look skinny leh... :blink:

I heard they feed on phytoplankton too.... so could it be so that sustain their survival till now?

The purple queens skip all the solid stuff leh...

• Replies 351

Great tank you have and so envy.

I just curious to know what's your current temp ? ;)

I have a bad experience when i forget to switch on my chiller after cleaning my sump, my lps are all crying(almost report to heaven) when tank temp hit 31.x deg.

Great tank you have and so envy.

I just curious to know what's your current temp ? ;)

I have a bad experience when i forget to switch on my chiller after cleaning my sump, my lps are all crying(almost report to heaven) when tank temp hit 31.x deg.

present temperature of chiller is set to cut in at 28 degree and cut off at 26 degree....

Yup, I have a chiller.... ;)

After some careful assessment with my wife.... and my one month experience with reef....

I have decided to go into FOWLR.... reason? I've been adding additives here and there every weekend and we think FOWLR may be a better choice to cut back on maintenance and time...

Anyway, I want to say thanks to those who encourage me to give reef a shot... but seriously, I will still keep to my FOWLR...

So keep a look out for sales soon.... :lol:

u are still able to have a stunning FOWLR. think of all those angels u can keep. ;)

Yeah... and those beautiful butterflies...

I kind of regret getting the anthias... for their sake during acclimisation, I have to flood my tank with frozen brine and mysis shrimp..... twice everyday... now my sandbed gets a little diatom bloom....

Having now switch to complete FOWLR, here's what I settled for..... to achieve a FOWLR w colour vibrance and maintenance in mind..

1) NEW - Asfur Angel - for blue and dazzling yellow (wanted a blue tang but dun wan to be spending time fighting ich here and there.... if it happens)

2) NEW - Tunze Wrasse - for emerald green and pink (very active fish!!!)

3) NEW - 2 pieces of Banner fish - to occupy the upper strata of the tank.... moorish idol was a big no-no due to feeding problems though I very much want to keep them.... so bannerfish is a sort of substitute

4) NEW - 2 pieces of fridamani dottyback - for that vibrant purple

5) NEW - 2 pieces of false clown + anemone - for vibrant orange (and yeah, it is my wife's request for false ocellaris)

6) 1 yellow tang - more yellow colours....

7) 1 sailfin tang - I just love this fellow

8) 1 fire goby - my wife's fave fish.....

post-34-1112429746.jpg

Tunze Wrasse with false clowns....

Tunze Wrasse is vibrant and active... swimming around constantly... it is slowly buying my heart and will probably become my fave fish in the tank.... haha

post-34-1112429936.jpg

Thinking of getting a Tunze wavemaker to up my water movement...

Since mine is only a FOWLR... what model should I get (economical).... for a tank my size?

Thinking of getting a Tunze wavemaker to up my water movement...

Since mine is only a FOWLR... what model should I get (economical).... for a tank my size?

Bro, if yours only FOWLR, den dun really need wavebox lah...

Juz my opinion... :P

Seamonkee- hows the scaping now? I flipped to the previosu page and you seemed to have a flat rock structure, good for corals but no real flavour for a FOWLR. How about two mountains and a deep open space in between for the fish to swim around and through?

RAV65 is right- tunze only if you strike 4d got money to spare, although they might help in over all live rock filtration.

where did u get the sponge bob square pants figurine? :yeah:

Plastic or Clay ??

Very cute...!! .. the colour won't drop off in time to come meh? :D

Okie.... got it from America (ebay)... it is known made for aquarium use (both sea & fresh water)..... won't leak colour or whatever...

Seamonkee- hows the scaping now? I flipped to the previosu page and you seemed to have a flat rock structure, good for corals but no real flavour for a FOWLR. How about two mountains and a deep open space in between for the fish to swim around and through?

RAV65 is right- tunze only if you strike 4d got money to spare, although they might help in over all live rock filtration.

Thought of it.... but two mountains very hard to achieve lots of caves for so many fishes....

If you look at my scaping, you will notice that behind there are lots and lots of big caves..... :lol::D I have two PVC pipe structure to elevate the rock to create the caves... which in my opinion is difficult to achieve for twin mountain look....

Anyway, personal preference lah.... my wife and I like it this way... the picture I took with cheapo digicam kind of give it some injustice...

Also, my tank is viewable from the right side, so two mountains will block lots of view and swimming place...

Last but not least, my DSB is in the main tank.... which explain why I try to avoid using lesser base rocks (for exchange purposes)... If I do twin tower, then I probably need to use lots of base rocks....

Also, I am adding two or three anemones to give my present scaping more definite shape...

Cheers and thanks!

ICH ATTACK!!!

For a few days, I woke up early in the morning (around 6am) and saw that most of my fishes are covered with white spot!

Once the lights are on (around 10am) and the fishes start to get active, the white spots are all gone?!?!

Then by midnight when all the lights are gone and the fishes start to rest again, the iches spots appear again on the body....

Wonder if it has to do with the fish body metabolism slowing down (at night) and the ich coming in to attack then...

Now I am feeding my fish frantically with Garlic Guard and may consider getting Kent RXP for full treatment....

On a positive note, does it mean that my fishes are has a higher chance to fight off the ich themselves, considering the iches are gone on the body by the time they are active?

Don't think I want to take out the fishes and do a hypo dip and quarantine stuff.... too troublesome.... I just hope the ich goes away...

My water parameters are ok too....

If the spots disappear and reappear it just means that ich is spreading.

http://www.marineaquariumadvice.com/aquarium_fish_1.html

From understanding cryptocaryon irritans to the life cycle and to potential treatments. ;)

If the spots disappear and reappear it just means that ich is spreading.

http://www.marineaquariumadvice.com/aquarium_fish_1.html

From understanding cryptocaryon irritans to the life cycle and to potential treatments. ;)

Gosh... so "Lechey"..... :(:(

Funny thing is why only the new additions last week got it?

Namely the Asfur (Very Bad), Klunzinger (Slight Spots) and Blue Tang (Slight spots)?

While the original members of the tank never got them? :huh::huh:

Bro, what do you suggest? Since my is only FOWLR, do you think a hyposalinity in the main tank is ok...

Or continue with my garlic and RXP regimen? Right now, they are all feeding very well.....

Or should I take out these three fishes alone and hypo dip them?

I am prepared to sacrifice my two cleaner shrimps if I doing hypo in main tank(which I think will be a pain to catch them)....

Here's the rescaping... now in hyposalinity state..... How does the rockscaping look now? better?

Fishes are in quarantine tank undertaking copper treatment.... :lol:

post-34-1113271078.jpg