reefdude2003 Posted September 1, 2003 Share Posted September 1, 2003 Just bought a prism skimmer last week, but it keeps overflowing and flooding my living room. Anyone familar with this skimmer and its settings? HELP:) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member [P]owder Blue Posted September 1, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 1, 2003 Reefdude, you must have turn the Flow Regulator to the fullest, causing excessive wet skimming. The water level should be around the place where the O-ring (ie the rubber rim that is above the reaction chamber and below the collection cup) is. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
polarlim Posted September 3, 2003 Share Posted September 3, 2003 Hi, try this setting for those who is unable to achieve getting foam. 1) Turn off the air control valve. 2) Turn the water flow valve until the water rise to about 2.5cm below the o-ring ( the black rubber ring). 3) When this is achieve, turn the air control valve until you see foam forming. 4) Try to "Very Fine tune" fine tune the water flow valve. If your skimmer is new, the first few days you will get lots of white colour foam. after that you will see less foam but more concentrated foam. You should then get your result. For those who have salt water in the contain, this means over skimming (waste of salt water) try ajusting the water flow. Hope this help user of prizm user. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah_d3x Posted September 3, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 3, 2003 how can it possibly overflow? perhaps its outlet or something is stuck? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NgaoCi Posted September 3, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 3, 2003 1) Turn off the air control valve. To disconnect air pipe is it?if not, which one is the air control valve? 2) Turn the water flow valve until the water rise to about 2.5cm below the o-ring ( the black rubber ring). There seem to be only one valve in the whole skimmer...which is which? 4) Try to "Very Fine tune" fine tune the water flow valve. "Fine tune" = ensure no bubbles in the water? Thanks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
polarlim Posted September 4, 2003 Share Posted September 4, 2003 Hi, To disconnect air pipe is it?if not, which one is the air control valve? No, there is an air control valve to control the air in take. There seem to be only one valve in the whole skimmer...which is which? There should be 2 valve one to control incoming water and the other to control incoming air. "Fine tune" = ensure no bubbles in the water? By now the water bubbles should be less. It is to prevent over skimming. Hope to help... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member victorp Posted September 7, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2003 Prizm has only a valve to control the flow rate of the water. To control the air intake, you need to DIY by using a air valve or clamp on the air intake tube. Prizm Pro does have separate valves for water and air. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted September 8, 2003 Share Posted September 8, 2003 1) Turn off the air control valve. To disconnect air pipe is it?if not, which one is the air control valve? 2) Turn the water flow valve until the water rise to about 2.5cm below the o-ring ( the black rubber ring). There seem to be only one valve in the whole skimmer...which is which? 4) Try to "Very Fine tune" fine tune the water flow valve. "Fine tune" = ensure no bubbles in the water? Thanks. got kopi O or not your skimmate now? mine solid kopi-O, but using weipro lah. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
reefdude2003 Posted September 11, 2003 Author Share Posted September 11, 2003 now got kopi-o Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted September 11, 2003 Share Posted September 11, 2003 how it taste? hehe.. nice hor.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
polarlim Posted September 11, 2003 Share Posted September 11, 2003 So I assume you skimmer work now..... Happy Skimming..... ha ha ha Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dradttg Posted September 12, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 12, 2003 Hi all, I just bought a Prizm Skimmer today. I have followed all the instructions but my foam doesnt seen to reach the top of the cup. I have increased the water flow to almost reaching the o-ring but the foam still does not reach the top of the cup. Please help. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hotsoup Posted September 12, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 12, 2003 Give the skimmer a few days to settle down. maintain the form level @ the O-ring and results will come.Dun worry Quote 2ft cube with 2.5 sump 400w MH with 6 x 24w blue T5 Hydor wavemaker controller Aquatronica controller Daikin compressor with double coil RM CR H&S out sump skimmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dradttg Posted September 12, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 12, 2003 Hi Hotsoup, I plug my Air Hose (the transparent tube) into the plug (marked II) on the collection cup. Is that correct? Thank you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member PornStar Posted September 14, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 14, 2003 Hi Hotsoup, I plug my Air Hose (the transparent tube) into the plug (marked II) on the collection cup. Is that correct? Thank you. yes. that is correct. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Matt06 Posted September 14, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 14, 2003 Greetings reefdude2003, I guess it is the way you understand how Protein Skimmer works - It actually uses micro-air-bubbles to push dirt and disolved contaminants up to the collecting cup. All Protein Skimmer is based on the same principle. You WILL NOT see immediate results. Please be patient to learn and wait for the result on your Skimmer. When using Prism Skimmer, you need to adjust the flowrate slowly and watch the result. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dradttg Posted September 16, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 16, 2003 Yes Sir!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...