RAV-65 Posted January 22, 2005 Share Posted January 22, 2005 Hi all, I noticed many of my SPS have STN on the tips... wat could be the reason?? could it be the pesky hermit crab that always climbs onto it?? Help!!!! Would should I do?? Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted January 22, 2005 Author Share Posted January 22, 2005 Another pic... Can see that the tips are white with no polyps.... Wat should I do?? frag?? Wats the cause for this?? The hermits? Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member andysho Posted January 22, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 22, 2005 o i also have some problems with this~~ i dip it into lugols solution and also frag it but seems to be no help when i dip this stn sps into a container water treated with some lugols solution~~ can seesome weird things swimming out and then just died off wonder wat is it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted January 22, 2005 Author Share Posted January 22, 2005 o i also have some problems with this~~i dip it into lugols solution and also frag it but seems to be no help when i dip this stn sps into a container water treated with some lugols solution~~ can seesome weird things swimming out and then just died off wonder wat is it Swimming out?!?!?!?! Does anyone know wat's happening?!?!?!? Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member andysho Posted January 22, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 22, 2005 frmo wat i know i did some search on the net got one reefer from states or so~~ have a sps tank within few days~~ which stn start from the tip around 50 kg of sps was gone~~ check water parameter is perfect one must know ~~ dun mean got perfect water parameter means your sps will be 100 solid proof~~ becaues there a lot of strange things that can take your sps away study have show that even corals in the wild can go STN for no reason not to mention sps in a reef tank wat the reason ~~ no one knows Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted January 22, 2005 Author Share Posted January 22, 2005 frmo wat i know i did some search on the netgot one reefer from states or so~~ have a sps tank within few days~~ which stn start from the tip around 50 kg of sps was gone~~ check water parameter is perfect wat the reason ~~ no one knows Huh?! siao liao... Maybe the experts could comment... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member andysho Posted January 22, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 22, 2005 bro from wat the guess from some sps expert in the states is due to some disease~~ once they settle on your sps no mattter how your water parameter how good is the chances of recover is slim keke human contact Aids also no cure so i guess same for corals once contact deadly stuff can said bye bye Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted January 22, 2005 Author Share Posted January 22, 2005 bro from wat the guess from some sps expert in the statesis due to some disease~~ once they settle on your sps no mattter how your water parameter how good is the chances of recover is slim keke human contact Aids also no cure so i guess same for corals once contact deadly stuff can said bye bye Aiyoh... maybe gotta frag them and see how... It's a nice colony and I dun wan to lose it... so far only 3 of my SPS colonies are doing very well... after buying mroe than 20 colonies evr since I staretd SPS... Normally they dun lose much colour, but always got problems with the flow in my tank and light and placement... dat's why I decided to do a major rescape... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member minsmarine Posted January 22, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 22, 2005 IMO, Either may be your touched the part too much while u scaping. STN should start from bottom not from top. RTN normally start from top/center. Or there was another colony near by touched him. But both of them are not aggressive so no RTN but STN the part that touched. Quote Life is like a peice of Uncured Live Rock [ from LFS ], you never know what you gonna get......... Ocean Gump Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Jimng Posted January 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 23, 2005 Hi all, I noticed many of my SPS have STN on the tips... wat could be the reason?? could it be the pesky hermit crab that always climbs onto it?? Help!!!! Would should I do?? From the pics, it seems that the top part are in the same area zone whereas the bottom part are doing well, do you have any strong flow consistently pumping water pass that area? Quote My Tank Thread Part I Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted January 23, 2005 Author Share Posted January 23, 2005 IMO, Either may be your touched the part too much while u scaping. STN should start from bottom not from top. RTN normally start from top/center. Or there was another colony near by touched him. But both of them are not aggressive so no RTN but STN the part that touched. No, no colony near it... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted January 23, 2005 Author Share Posted January 23, 2005 From the pics, it seems that the top part are in the same area zone whereas the bottom part are doing well, do you have any strong flow consistently pumping water pass that area? That is a pretty high flow area, but I wouldn't say the flow is consistent coz it 's controlled by my ts12... and my ts12 is currently set to pretty low flow... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted January 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 23, 2005 How far away are the colonies from the return pumps outlet? streams? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted January 23, 2005 Share Posted January 23, 2005 Could also be due to burn by the MH. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted January 23, 2005 Author Share Posted January 23, 2005 It's not near the tunze streams, in fact, it's slightly off the flow path of the tunze... as for the burn out part, the colony is in mid tank... tink I've decided to frag off the tips to play safe... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...