attaching rics to main rock

hamannbmw

Loctite is the one you should use. I will suggest to glue it out of water but stand by 2 small pails of your tank water and lots of toilet paper. After you remove the rics from your tank, just before you apply the glue, quickly rinse the rics in the 1st small tub of your tank water. This will remove the mucus/slime from the ric from hampering the effect of your glue. After rinsing dab it onto the toilet paper to absorb the water quickly and apply the glue immediately. Stick it to the rock you want and quickly place the entire rock into the 2nd pail of your tank water. This will prevent the rics from continued sliming coz the slime will affect your glue. Wait until the glue hardens in the small pail before you continue with the next ric.

Then just repeat until you're through. :P The above is only for glueing rics with small base rocks onto large rocks. If your rics come without rocks, super glue won't work, in fact nothing will. You just have to place them in a low flow area, preferable a sump with light, over some coral chips. Allow them time to attach to the coral chips then you stick them on the rocks.

Ty bro for your advice... the problem is, i tried to glue on base rocks which cant be taken out of water, so resort to glueing it underwater, any tips for glueing underwater :P

Oh underwater hah! Ok, the small base rock attached to your rics, make it bigger by adding epoxy or super glue to it first. Big enough for your fingers to hold on to it. Because when the rock is too small you have to touch the rics to fixed it underwater and the slime will tranfer onto the superglue and affect its efficiency.

When the epoxy or glue has cured, apply fresh superglue on it and holding onto your new bigger 'rock' fix it onto the LR underwater. You know the secret of using super glue underwater right? First got to clean your LR from any algae and detritus. Second when you place the frag with the super glue onto the LR, you got to twist around the frag/rics base rock to break the film that form once the super glue touches the saltwater. This is why you got to form the base rock bigger to get leverage to twist it around underwater. Thirdly, hold it in position and count to 20. It should be in place. If it dislodge, well try again. :lol:

Good luck

Oh underwater hah! Ok, the small base rock attached to your rics, make it bigger by adding epoxy or super glue to it first. Big enough for your fingers to hold on to it. Because when the rock is too small you have to touch the rics to fixed it underwater and the slime will tranfer onto the superglue and affect its efficiency.

When the epoxy or glue has cured, apply fresh superglue on it and holding onto your new bigger 'rock' fix it onto the LR underwater. You know the secret of using super glue underwater right? First got to clean your LR from any algae and detritus. Second when you place the frag with the super glue onto the LR, you got to twist around the frag/rics base rock to break the film that form once the super glue touches the saltwater. This is why you got to form the base rock bigger to get leverage to twist it around underwater. Thirdly, hold it in position and count to 20. It should be in place. If it dislodge, well try again. :lol:

Good luck

thanks, will do it tomolo with the help of another reefer :P

Yeah, have tried wat Scarab recommended with great success!!

Anyway Sacrab, stop buying all the Locitite super glue gel off the racks!!  :P

Sorry ah, everytime I see I sure 'sapu' everything off the shelf. The Home Fix guys at Harbourfront and Great World already recognise me coz everytime I buy a lot. :sick:

No wonder...

Last time I was at Great World Handy Fix, I was wodering why you buy so much Loctite, i thought you are into sniffing. :lol::lol::lol:

Anyway, was to shy to introduce myself to a guru like you. ;)

No wonder...

Last time I was at Great World Handy Fix, I was wodering why you buy so much Loctite, i thought you are into sniffing. :lol::lol::lol:

Bro next time call me leh. Always glad to meet a fellow reefer. Sometimes I meet people who look really familiar but can't put my finger to who. :D

Next time bro, will definitely call you. ;-p

Anyway, I go Great World very often....

No wonder...

WAHAHAHAHA....

Bro, into sniffing?!??!! :lol::lol::lol:

I'll be pretty impressed if he can sniff glue and maintain hs weight at the same time!!! :lol::lol::lol:

Anyway Bro Sacrab super friendly one... he'll talk to you even if he doesn't know you!! :P

WAHAHAHAHA....

Bro, into sniffing?!??!! :lol::lol::lol:

I'll be pretty impressed if he can sniff glue and maintain hs weight at the same time!!! :lol::lol::lol:

Anyway Bro Sacrab super friendly one... he'll talk to you even if he doesn't know you!! :P

:o Glue sniffing can lose weight ah????? Maybe should try. Joking lah.

Me no guru or what lah. Talk coc# and have a good laugh, my favourite past time. :lol:

:o Glue sniffing can lose weight ah????? Maybe should try. Joking lah.

Me no guru or what lah. Talk coc# and have a good laugh, my favourite past time. :lol:

U never see all the drug addict very skinny one meh??

So you from the TCSS ( Talk coc* sing song ) camp also?? :lol: