MY LION FISH COMMITTED THE ULTIMATE SIN

look at my lionfish...THAT IDIOT!

that CRAZY siao kia!!!

it ate my golden head goby!!!

INSANE!!!!!!

words cannot express my shock at what this fish has done!

take a look...the golden head's head is in the tummy and the tail fin is sticking out!!!

no wonder my orange spotted goby also MIA

now i'm worried about my angels and damsels inside...u guys think this fish will gobble them all up?

post-8-1105937941.jpg

IMO...

u can only keep lion fish if it is the smallest fish in the tank....

ask volitan... he can vouch for it....

everytime he buy new fish.... his lion fish gets a good meal....

ur lionfish has a very big tummy! :lol:

if u intend to keep small fishes in future, then u got to sell this guy.

A medium size lionfish will even eat clownfish that is 2-3 inch if given the chance.

Ever since I got a lionfish, I had many fishes missing too... :fear:

Frankly, it's not that amusing or shocking.

You should research and readup before you buy ANYTHING.

Lionfish are predators, any fish that can fit into their mouths are fair game. Sorry for your loss but I think you seriously can't blame the lionfish.

wat did i do to deserve this :cry2:

The answer is you did not do enough research.

I also wanted to keep a lion fish as the children like these "terror" fishes, like lions, triggers, boxfish etc. Did some research and decided not to keep them for obvious reasons that my small fishes will disappear soon or I get a wipe out from boxfish if it releases toxins.

Frankly, it's not that amusing or shocking.

You should research and readup before you buy ANYTHING.

Lionfish are predators, any fish that can fit into their mouths are fair game. Sorry for your loss but I think you seriously can't blame the lionfish.

i'm not shocked by the fact that it eats other fishes cos i came across such info while reading up on lions

wat i'm shocked by is the fact that could fit sth as long as itself into its tummy...that's wat's amazing and shocking

oh dun worry AT...i'm not blaming the lion

i'm jus disappointed in the fact it ate sth it could live peacefully with ever since i put it in

The only way you can keep a peaceful lion in a reef tank is to have one that is trained and weaned to take fresh meat from your hands (recommended - feeding stick or tongs) and one that is well fed so it won't hunt down other fishes.

But you can't stop instincts so that's no guarantee either.

Anyway, unless you have a huge tank with excellent water quality husbandry skills/good equipment/tabj maintenance routine, upkeeping a lionfish long term will probably foul up your reef tank faster and cause problems.

The only way you can keep a peaceful lion in a reef tank is to have one that is trained and weaned to take fresh meat from your hands (recommended - feeding stick or tongs) and one that is well fed so it won't hunt down other fishes.

But you can't stop instincts so that's no guarantee either.

Anyway, unless you have a huge tank with excellent water quality husbandry skills/good equipment/tabj maintenance routine, upkeeping a lionfish long term will probably foul up your reef tank faster and cause problems.

AT, the lion is in my FOWLR

not the reef one

in the light of this, would there still be problems upkeeping the lion in the long term?

can borrow your lionfish to eat my damsel that

give me a lot of problem kekeke

With all due respect, I dun think the lion will ever catch the damsel because it will probably be busy acclimitising to its new environment. On the contrary, there is a likelihood that the damsel may start harassing the lion, and find chances to nip the lion's long fins.

Shoelevy, just take it as a lesson to pass on to others and yourself.

Even in a FOWLR tank, you have to be careful about the compatibility of fish species.

Some are just not meant to be. Some are just wrongly-sized. Whatever the fish you put in.... research research research!

It'll save you a lot of pain... ;)

eh...it did catch my golden goby

which is kinda puzzling...how come the golden head so stupid never swim awae....its not like gold fish small and can't swim fast

?????

Bro, the golden goby cant be on the run 24/7 and one moment of concentration lapse, it ended in the lionfish's tummy... :(

With all due respect, I dun think the lion will ever catch the damsel because it will probably be busy acclimitising to its new environment. On the contrary, there is a likelihood that the damsel may start harassing the lion, and find chances to nip the lion's long fins.

YOU ARE ALIVE!!!!!!

hahahhaa... :off:

shoelevy.... learn frm one of the lion gurus here....

heehee... or u can learn frm me..... i learn alot frm him.... aiming for a predator tank like his ex-tank... heehee....

Shoelevy, just take it as a lesson to pass on to others and yourself.

Even in a FOWLR tank, you have to be careful about the compatibility of fish species.

Some are just not meant to be. Some are just wrongly-sized. Whatever the fish you put in.... research research research!

It'll save you a lot of pain... ;)

guess u're rite AT...as usual :D

i made a very bad judgement on compatibility

will try to see wat to do with the lion...now its isolated in my sump:paiseh: