Hitchhike pistol shrimps. Good or bad?

Bros and Sis, can help me with this dilemma: :o

I realise I have a shrimp looking bugger in one of the holes of a LR. At first I thought it was a mantis shrimp and tried all ways to lure it out, but i failed.

Then I realise that this bugger actually has 2 pincers, 1 big 1 small, when it poked out of its hiding place to "smell" the shrimp meat in my trap. So I suppose it should be a pistol shrimp liao, and decided to let it continue to live in my tank....

But until recently, when i do a search abt pistol shrimps, i found out that pistol shrimps may feed on other smaller shrimps. (cleaner shrimps?? peppermint shrimps??)

I currently kept some shrimps and fear that this hitchhike pistol shrimp may "makan" them as supper... Are hitchhike type of pistol shrimps reef safe?? Pls advise. thks in advance! :thanks:

(ya, prior to popular belief, i don't actually hear any noticeable snapping, clicking sound from this pistol shrimp)

Bros and Sis, can help me with this dilemma: :o

I realise I have a shrimp looking bugger in one of the holes of a LR. At first I thought it was a mantis shrimp and tried all ways to lure it out, but i failed.

Then I realise that this bugger actually has 2 pincers, 1 big 1 small, when it poked out of its hiding place to "smell" the shrimp meat in my trap. So I suppose it should be a pistol shrimp liao, and decided to let it continue to live in my tank....

But until recently, when i do a search abt pistol shrimps, i found out that pistol shrimps may feed on other smaller shrimps. (cleaner shrimps?? peppermint shrimps??)

I currently kept some shrimps and fear that this hitchhike pistol shrimp may "makan" them as supper... Are hitchhike type of pistol shrimps reef safe?? Pls advise. thks in advance! :thanks:

(ya, prior to popular belief, i don't actually hear any noticeable snapping, clicking sound from this pistol shrimp)

Pistol Shrimp are quite alright, they prefer to feed on pods and benthic invertebrates buried among the substrates. ;) It is only when they are harrased or disturb that they will resort to violence.

A programme in Discovery shown that when harrased, the PS can even kill a Skunk Shrimp just by snapping its pincer!

If you are unable to remove the PS for whatever reasons - you may try to pair it up with a Shrimp goby. This will calm the PS down quite a fair bit cuz the almost blind PS now has a pair of 'eyes'. :D

(Just curious, over here you mentioned you are new and you need advise on PS but over at the Disease & Treatment forum you commented on the thread on Mantis as if you know your stuffs..... mmmmmm.... :rolleyes:)

opps, Gouldian, so paiseh..... :P

i know quite a bit on mantis because i first thought my hitchhiker was a mantis shrimp. So i did a lot of search on the potential threats on MS... but neither did i realise that my bugger was a PS, which i dun no much.... :D hehe..

opps, Gouldian, so paiseh..... :P

i know quite a bit on mantis because i first thought my hitchhiker was a mantis shrimp. So i did a lot of search on the potential threats on MS... but neither did i realise that my bugger was a PS, which i dun no much.... :D hehe..

We are all learning. But for me, I will refrain from commenting unless I have literature to back me up. ;)

Anyway, welcome to SRC. ;)

Hmm.... it seems that pistol shrimps are quite safe creatures to keep. Thinks i will keep it under supervision for the time being....

Ya, i did some search and find out that gobies and pistol assist one another in a mutual relationship. btw, my pistol shrimp(the hitchhiker) is hiding in a cave that is quite small. The cave is oso quite high above the substrate. The pistol shrimp also quite shy and very seldom sees it out of its hiding place.

Just wondering if i really purchase a goby, would they have a chance to pair up, given the the cave is too small for the goby to enter... :o Any advise?? thks in advance :thanks:

Hmm.... it seems that pistol shrimps are quite safe creatures to keep. Thinks i will keep it under supervision for the time being....

Ya, i did some search and find out that gobies and pistol assist one another in a mutual relationship. btw, my pistol shrimp(the hitchhiker) is hiding in a cave that is quite small. The cave is oso quite high above the substrate. The pistol shrimp also quite shy and very seldom sees it out of its hiding place.

Just wondering if i really purchase a goby, would they have a chance to pair up, given the the cave is too small for the goby to enter... :o Any advise?? thks in advance :thanks:

you have to ensure that the goby you purchase is a shrimp goby loh. If the PS is about 3cm get the watchman gobies, they will paired up quite well.

However, if your PS is the Alpheus sp i.e. 1 to 1.5cm, try to pair them with the Stonogobiops sp. gobies. ;)

No worries. Good luck!