SRC Member shoelevy Posted January 8, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2005 hi guys recently i went hunting for true oct however...a one thing that puzzles me is the extreme in price that is offered 1 place offered me $60 for 3 heads....another only 35 for 2 heads and another only 8 for 1 head...can anione advice on this? also....how easy is this coral to keep?...i can't seem to find this info on the net thank u all Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member djviper Posted January 8, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2005 i counted mine hee i bought a 7 head for $30 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AquaRa Posted January 8, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2005 what's octopus? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter ReDDeviLs Posted January 8, 2005 SRC Supporter Share Posted January 8, 2005 octo u mean? got true or fake 1 meh? Quote [ ] [ ] Reef Reefing Reefed Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted January 8, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2005 well my frend calls 2 types true and fake the true one is really special u'll recognise it the moment u see it it has a main tentacle then short small bumps the fake one will haf larger and longer bumps similar to frogspawn think dj viper one is fake one Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member djviper Posted January 8, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2005 from what i know there is no true and fake ... u might wanna classify it as different family cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted January 8, 2005 Share Posted January 8, 2005 The true octos are so called the "non-branching" octos... They have translucent flesh and also normally it doesn't extend its tentacles so much... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member diabolus Posted January 8, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2005 hehe... if dats the case, i have a 6 head "true" octo at $15... its not true or fake, its either the paradivisa(branching) or the divisa(normal) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted January 8, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2005 eh u guys wanna post pics of yr octo to show off to me abit??? diabolus...i wnana see pic lor cos i'm really skeptical of the price!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted January 8, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2005 hehe... if dats the case, i have a 6 head "true" octo at $15... its not true or fake, its either the paradivisa(branching) or the divisa(normal) diabolus....wat is the diff between the branching and divisa in terms of looks wat should i look out for to diffrentiate the 2 types? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member diabolus Posted January 9, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2005 the difference between the paradivisa and the divisa is the way the corallites wall are formed. the paaradivisa(branching) forms phaceloid colonies. The corallites are tall and seperate and rise upward from the skeleton. the divisa(non branching) forms flabello-meandroid colonies. the corallites wall form long,meandering valleys with seperate walls. If you see branches,then its E. paradivisa. if its a long and narrow, with no branches, then its the E. divisa. This applies to the E. ancora and the E. paraancora as well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted January 9, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2005 oh...so am i rite to sae that divisa octopus r more ex than paradivisa? cos that's the kinda price quotes i get from lfs around Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member diabolus Posted January 9, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2005 i think you can say that, the branching types are more commonly found in LFS. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
limsteel Posted January 17, 2005 Share Posted January 17, 2005 I was told mine is a octopus or frogspawn...Just bought them and place in my tank... these 2 fellow kept opening (size of ½golf ball) and shrinking (to size of 2 panadol stack together). sometimes both opened fully and they look really good! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted January 17, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 17, 2005 eh...can anione verify this cos i tink its a frogspawn...not octopus octopus has much smaller bumps in the tentacles Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chucky Posted January 17, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 17, 2005 For wht i think,its a frogspawn. For octopas is one tanticle wth a few dot dot dot on it and octopas is more ex than the frogspawn a lot. Correct mi if i m wrong... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted January 17, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 17, 2005 chucky, agree with u limsteel...r u sure yrs is octopus? cos it looks more like frogspawn to me Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted January 17, 2005 Share Posted January 17, 2005 octo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted January 17, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 17, 2005 slurp... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member damien Posted January 17, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 17, 2005 someone shld post the luminous green octo corals, those are simply breathtaking! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
limsteel Posted January 17, 2005 Share Posted January 17, 2005 No idea... I was told it is a frogspawn by the seller then another fellow came along and say it is a Octopus... Till now I got no idea... So can see that the 2nd fellow BS me Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted January 17, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 17, 2005 yeah....lumi green VERY nice saw one head selling for $8 at some lfs limsteel...i'm pretty sure yrs is a frogspawn but in any case, frogspawns r also very pretty cheers! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chucky Posted January 17, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 17, 2005 Now $8 very cheap liao.. Last time I bought it at $45..Bcause wht i was told is frm scientist.. Like a bit kana chop. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted January 17, 2005 Share Posted January 17, 2005 octo is frogspawn... frogspawn is octo.... best to identify them is by their scientific name paradivisa or divisa Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tigger Posted January 17, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 17, 2005 Is this true or fake octo? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...