Chiller sizing problem

xpert1974

Need some advise here, does anyone here has a reliable chiller sizing formulae>?

My tank is 210g with sump and using altogether app. 1000w of lights and equipment. Can a ResunCL650 1/4HP maintain temp of 27 assuming ambience temp is 33. The Artica has only 1/3HP but it costs >$2k. Still confused which chiller to buy amogst all the brands.........

Btw, where can I get a daeil 0.5HP chiller in Singapore????

before all technicalities are discussed, the most important thing would be........

what is your budget. (= if you have deep pockets, you can consider getting the industrial version of the Articas/Daeil chillers. these consume more power, and are slightly bigger/louder, but have chilling power that can rival the poles.

so it really depends on how much you are willing to spend. :)

the commercial/industrial models are like what I said, big, noisy, and cooling power that the eskimos would be envious of.

the hobby versions are smaller, not that noisy, and though effective in cooling rate, is not as effective compared to the industrial/commercial types.

Daeil/Artica are both the same brands, dunno who OEM who. and Daeil/Artica both have hobby AND commercial versions.

if you want my Teco, I'm more than happy to sell it to you. (= but it's your money, and you are parting with it. I'd rather you buy something that you're comfortable with, and not something that you are being pressured into buying. :)

Before one start purchasing a 1hp chiller, I will like to air some of my personal view on chiller size...... **Pls correct me if I am wrong.... I am here to learn also.**

If by applying the above formula that I provide earlier, the calculation shows that u need a 1 hp chiller go ahead. But if not, please do consider a smaller size one.

Why some may ask.....this is my understanding and explaination.

1) If you can get the job done with this spec why bother up the spec. Save the $$ and spend more on corals, fish, etc, etc.

2) Some may say bigger chiller will run shorter time and thus save more electricity. **This, I think is bullshit** Let me quote one good example you guys can relate. Bigger CC car size, everyone love but not everyone can afford. Why? For the same distance travel, the bigger CC car will drink more petrol. Okay, how this relate to the chiller sizing, one may ask. From what my reasoning is that the amount of heat generated from all our equipments remain the same. So to chill down to desired temperature, the amount of energy needed is the same. If the smaller chiller runs longer to cool down, it is reasonable.

3) I have applied the above formula and the answer for my case is Resun CL450 can do the job for me. Okay, how to know whether the formula is somehow correct? I have run the chiller for many months and this is what I observed its operation.... On hotter day, my chiller may ON for a long time then Off for a while and ON. On cooler days, my chiller is less hardworking. This goes to prove that somehow the formula is correct. I have get a correct size chiller. **Do I have to explain why here?** Basically I am trying to say that if there are some OFF time in chiller means that the chiller size is correct.

By getting an oversize chiller may have a shorter duty cycle BUT may not save you more $$$ on electricity bill. **I cannot support my claim 'cos I do not have any data to prove, only reasoning**

My kapohing reason..... :D

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

yes, it is sound reasoning.

however, I do like to highlight the potential pitfall of such reasoning.

the reasoning is only sound and valid should you not upgrade anything else. meaning to say, your lighting specs/electrical load will remain the same throughout the entire duration of the tank's lifespan. should the need arise for you to upgrade, replacing the chiller might prove to be a bit of a pain.

also, having a chiller with a slightly larger capacity gives you leeway. with the event of global warming, we're going to have even hotter days and fewer colder days. with that in mind, your "just nice rated" chiller may have to work longer/harder to cool to a desired effect, as opposed to a chiller that is rated slightly higher.

I guess ultimately it depends on whether you have the financial muscle to upkeep the maintenance cost of everything. so getting a nicely rated chiller, may require you to pay for electricity usage, and skip the initial equipment procurement cost. likewise, if getting a higher rated chiller, will cost you more on the initial procurement, and also the maintenance *should be, lah.*

That I have to agree. The formula is 'dead', how ones apply it is the thing that count. Once you are arm with the knowledge, you should start asking yourself what are your equipments and future planning..... ;)

I will like to point out something.....

In my opinioun only a severly underated chiller spoil easily (all work no play). An overrate chiller ONLY cool down your tank FASTER not BETTER. Is time a critical factor in this case?

I rest my case.

psychologically, to people, faster = better. so I suppose time is a better thing.

the downside of having a fast cooling chiller is that the change in temperature variation may be too great for the fishes to handle. then again, this can be solved by setting a lower delta value, and therefore having a faster cooling rate will ensure that the parameters are kept constant under the shortest possible time.

Xpert 1974

Now a serious answer to your question - No a 1/4 hp chiller is not suitable for your size of tank and lighting.

If your really want a real tank temp of 27 deg, 200+ gallons and 1000w of lights you should look at min 0.75hp but more realistic would be 1 or 1.25hp

Do remember to check the max loading of your power point too.

For JBJ or Daeil 1hp chiller, the rating is about 2046W.

With additional of your 1000W lights and pumps, a normal 10A power point cannot tahan.

Just a gentle reminder.... :lol:

I measured my 1/2hp artical commerial chiller, power drawn is abt 660W. This is done with a clamp Amps meter which does not take into account the reactive power drawn.

The 2046W is "cooling power" which is also the same specs that our reef relief and titanium chiller is rated on.

You can go around measuring the actual current drawn on each different brands of chiller then decided which one is more efficient.

1000Watt :whistle .....another really giant size tank :bow:

**I guess I miss your 1000watt rating here... :D **

**actually I am really, really, really kapoh..... I go and search high and low, where the hell I got this piece of chiem formula.... Finally, from one of the branded chiller maker :lol: **

http://www.jbjlighting.com/prod_chiller_size.asp

**Really, just wana share what I know and find extremely useful..... Morale: to spend wisely in this money pit hobby....**

I have applied the above formula and the answer for my case is Resun CL450 can do the job for me.  Okay, how to know whether the formula is somehow correct?  I have run the chiller for many months and this is what I observed its operation....  On hotter day, my chiller may ON for a long time then Off for a while and ON.  On cooler days, my chiller is less hardworking. This goes to prove that somehow the formula is correct.  I have get a correct size chiller.  **Do I have to explain why here?**  Basically I am trying to say that if there are some OFF time in chiller means that the chiller size is correct.

Kareen,

just curious, may i ask on a hotter day, your chiller turn ON for a long time (how long a time it turn ON?) and off for a while (how long a time it take a break before the next ON cycle?)...

Thanks fellows

Have used the jbjlighting formula a long time ago and found that I need to get at least 0.5HP chiller.

However, have decided to get a new 0.5HP Hailea or Resun 1HP, mainly to save costs and also bearing in mind that these China brand chillers generate noisy sounds. Really cant bear to pay twice as much or more for a similar size chiller from notable brands.

My 1000 watts comprise of 2x250W MH, 4xT5 54w, 38w Skimmer pump, 120w Return Pump, 2xRefugium T5 24w and have not included Tunze streams and future to get Calcium reactors

Hi Rock!

To be frank, I was never so 'free' to stay at my tank long to even calculate that.... **A wife ###### mother ###### fish nanny take away all my time** :D

Hi Rock!

To be frank, I was never so 'free' to stay at my tank long to even calculate that....  **A wife ###### mother ###### fish nanny take away all my time**  :D

alamak .... then hope you still got time to enjoy watching your fishes and other live stocks... :D

was asking that qq though it will give me some indication of the CL450's performance on a 422...

CHEERS!