Anemone

marble

:o My newly bought anemone 3days ago seems to act abnormally since yest.It kep on showing his white color centre part n its becoming small n seldom wan to open up...At time will open up abit but not to e full size as b4 i buy it...

Have touch it n there is no sign of decaying ....Mine is a green bubble tip anemone...

Any idea wat is wrong with it??Is it dieing????or is it still getting use to e enviromt??Or too stress out???My tank have being running for 3wks onli....NH4,NO2 all oppm NO3 is 10ppm....

:thanks: Tks for e advise....

Think it is dying on you liao. if you pick it up and you cannot feel that its trying to stick on you and is slipping off - very soon you will notice an ammonia spike.

Btw the way, I still dun understand the logic of adding an anemone in a 3 weeks tank?

My newly bought anemone 3days ago seems to act abnormally since yest.It kep on showing his white color centre part n its becoming small n seldom wan to open up...At time will open up abit but not to e full size as b4 i buy it...

Have touch it n there is no sign of decaying ....Mine is a green bubble tip anemone...

Any idea wat is wrong with it??Is it dieing????or is it still getting use to e enviromt??Or too stress out???My tank have being running for 3wks onli....NH4,NO2 all oppm NO3 is 10ppm....

I have quite a bit of handon on anemone..... this is purely my observation/point.

1) In a new enviroment, some anemones tend to deflat quite frequently especially a newly setup tank. Why? I don't know just my experience on my two anemone when I shift tank..... thrice.

2) If there is no decaying and still able to open, leave it alone but feed him daily with a small portion of minced market prawn. I have to stress, SMALL PORTION DAILY.

3) Make sure u have good water flow and filteration system in your tank for anemone to thrive. Note, good flow NOT direct powerhead flow. Good filteration system wash away the toxin it secreted.

4) Good water parameter. Especially the anomomia. Also make sure your KH is between 8-12. If your KH is dangerous low, raise it slowly over the days.

When I moved my anemone to new tank, they looked like they are dieing before..... just my experiences.....

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

Oh yes... forget to add one more thing. Also make sure Calcium is in correct range ie 400+ ppm. If dangerous low, raise it slowly over days.

That's generally speaking....if you know what to look out should be okay. When I change a new tank, I done up everything in a week.

:o Think might b bec of my KH n ALK. KH:7dkh n alk:2.5meq/l

Could it b bec of tis???

I havnt ck for cal yet as tot no corals so not impt...

Is it a must to ck for cal for anemone???tks...

Anyway my anemone crazy crazy one leh...At times will open up for quite long n let my clown fish go in n play with it..keke....No sign of decaying yet..Jzt tat he like to close up n shrines freqly.....Esp when i suddenly on e lgts etc or at nite.....

Do they like to close up at nite????tks... :thanks:

My anemone tend to become smaller after the lights off.... but the clownfish are still able to enjoy the comfort of their home.

KH and calcium are the 2 most important water parameters that I have learned over the years. If you can get these two element right, most stocks are pretty okay.

My anemone tend to become smaller after the lights off.... but the clownfish are still able to enjoy the comfort of their home.

KH and calcium are the 2 most important water parameters that I have learned over the years. If you can get these two element right, most stocks are pretty okay.

wic brand of test kit do u suggest for cal??N wat add on for cal if it is too low??tks... :D

heheehe... I know Salifert test kits is good but they are expensive..... If you want to know what I used...... SERA for both calcium and KH. I think they are good enough for my usage. A-hem.... this is purely my opinion okay..... ;)

okok tks...

im now trying to increase my KH lor....

Cfm,1 day cannot increase by 1meq/l???

Im using e liquid type not powder type as lazy to mix lor keke...

Added 4caps in at 1hr interve for my 3by1.5by2ft tank aft calcutate e lit...

If correct,KH shld increase by 0.5meq/l lor....

Will ck e kh again later...

Tks for all e advise.... :D

Will increase in kh lead to a increase in PH??

found tat aft i incre my kh,my ph increase fm 8.2 to 8.4.... 

PH fluctunate with time..... unless u always measure same time. To me, it seems like another piece of information to scare yourself. I didn't bother with it, seriously.

Keep a stable KH at around 10dkh, then you are very safe on your PH, as KH above 8 dkh, it will help to stable your PH at around 8 +/- 0.2. As1 dont dose PH, just dose and test KH.

... very soon you will notice an ammonia spike.

Btw the way, I still dun understand the logic of adding an anemone in a 3 weeks tank?

Ammonia spike? That's good for cycling tank right? Maybe he's thinking of using it for cycling leh ... :ph34r::P ... juz joking ... :lol::lol::lol:

anemone need lights...y didn't anione mention lights???

not enough lights and they die

they do possess zooxanthelae

Lgts ah.... :o

Im using 3*39w T5 lgts lor, 2*13000K white n 1*20000k blue.

Shld b enough rite???

Anyway,aft i incre e KH fm2.12meq/l to 2.86meq/l n Alk fm5.95DKH to 8DKH, e anemone sees to look more active n alife liao leh...Think its my kh n alk too low liao i think,as my nh4 n no2 r both 0ppm n no3 is bet 5-10ppm.

Wat do u all think???Tks.... :D

N surpisingly my ph wen dw to 8.2 again...

Tonite gog to incre my kh n alk again..... :D

Lgts ah.... :o

Im using 3*39w T5 lgts lor, 2*13000K white n 1*20000k blue.

Shld b enough rite???

Anyway,aft i incre e KH fm2.12meq/l to 2.86meq/l n Alk fm5.95DKH to 8DKH, e anemone sees to look more active n alife liao leh...Think its my kh n alk too low liao i think,as my nh4 n no2 r both 0ppm n no3 is bet 5-10ppm.

Wat do u all think???Tks.... :D

N surpisingly my ph wen dw to 8.2 again...

Tonite gog to incre my kh n alk again..... :D

Bro, careful not to increase kH and not monitoring your Mg levels.

anemone need lights...y didn't anione mention lights???

not enough lights and they die

they do possess zooxanthelae

I deduce that marble's problem could be highly due to incorrect water parameters rather than light, temperature....

1) light and temperature WILL NOT have drastic behaviour change in anemone or even some soft corals and LPS.

2) If not enough light, I think the colour of the anemone will slowly fade away....

Wat do i ned to ck out for now???

Nh4:0

NO2:0

No3:5-10ppm

KH:9.3dkh

ALK:3.31meq/l

ph:8.4

Huh wat is wrong now???Water too new???huh..........

Can anyone advise me wat to ck up for now??Cal??Mg???

I bought it thinkin tat its a invertebrate not like coral water parameter got to b tip top....sigh.....

tks tks ......