help... where is my cycle process now

hi there everyone

can anyone help me with this i sort of want to know is my cycle near the end of just starting or watever

free ammonia - 0-->0.03

total ammonia - 0.8 --> 1.0

Nitrite - 0 --> 0.03

nitrate - 2 --> 5

also

i am getting alot of this brown aglae starting to take over my tank, is it just a phase ? if u need a picture *points to his website* the picture is not big but u can see my live rock has copper brown aglae on it

:paiseh::thanks:

ok pm sent

but can anyone help me ? where is the cycle process is my tank in ....

o yeah its about coming to 2 weeks old and i am using live sand and cured live rock from a fellow MASWA (marine aquaist soicity western australia)

anyone :\

hi there everyone

can anyone help me with this i sort of want to know is my cycle near the end of just starting or watever

free ammonia - 0-->0.03

total ammonia - 0.8 --> 1.0

Nitrite - 0 --> 0.03

nitrate - 2 --> 5

also

i am getting alot of this brown aglae starting to take over my tank, is it just a phase ? if u need a picture *points to his website* the picture is not big but u can see my live rock has copper brown aglae on it

:paiseh::thanks:

Hmm, how long have you been cycling your tank?

Ammonia should be undetectable once you are at the end of the cycle... but u still have some readings... either the bacteria count is still inadequate or there is something still dying in your tank... are your LR uncured?

Algae will grow whenever there is nutrients available. In your case, it could be either phosphates or nitrates.

ermmm as i said in my last post its cured rock (1 year old)

i also said it been cycling for about 2 weeks well coming to 2 weeks

i have a feeling it from the sea weed or something that might be dieing =\

its kinda of confusing where my cycle is due there is ammonia and there is nitrate which is going up now from the last time i checked i still dont get the free and total ammonia thing i know that free is the most toxic one soo wat is the total one then ?

u shld see a peak in ammonia first, then a peak in nitrite, then u will see ammonia goes to 0 first followed by ur nitrite go to 0, then this is the end of cyle...

btw, wat u used to trigger ur cycling?

btw, do not on full blast ur lightings when u cycle, keep it minimum bnut sufficient to keep most of the organisms on the LR alive... in this way, u will get min nuisance algae n some coralline growing....

btw, rem to hav good water movements ;)

that came with the live rock la sian dont go on about it i got scold already by maswa ppl the BTA is doing fine i had a fellow member do a house call and check on it for me it doing fine i feed it ever 7th day i just want to find out about this cycle to have peace of mind for the bta its a tough one i can tell u that

also doing my testing now from what i see now i HAVE NO Nitrite :o

let hope ammonia is the same :P *wait for 15 mins*

THE RESULTS ARE IN !!! *drum roll*

Free Ammonia - 0 !!!!

Total Ammonia - 0.01

Nitrite - 0 --> 0.01

Nitrate - 2 - 5

*dances around*

i hope this result shows that my cycle is over ? ....

or maybe like ending or something i think the ammonia left is due to the rotting sea weed but dont worry my hermit crabs are eating that :P

<3 hermit crabs

I dun know if u din read or dun bother to read past threads, but it's been mentioned that cycling takes 4 weeks or more.

*point to the search button*

Good one bro.... ;):lol:

well i heared from that it can take from 1 week to 3 months

i am using somebody else live rock from their mature tank (1 year) i guess helped the process and also the live sand

My advise is to wait out the whole cycling process of at least 4 weeks.

else u add fishes b4 cycling completed, sekali a lot of die off how? waste of money.

be patient in dis hobby & it will pays off. :peace:

There is no diffrence in getting LR from a friend and getting LR from the LFS. It does not speed up your cycling process.

good for u bro.

cycling does not need any skimming or lighting for info.

after 4 weeks remember to add fishes slowly. Dun one shot put too many.

Allow the bioload sometime to adjust to new addition.

normally it's 1 fish per week, although some will disagree with dis timing.

yeah lol i am going to add 1 fish per 2 weeks was going to add 2 clown fish together (helps them bond a bit better) but i might as a friend to keep it in his spare tank until the next week most fish i even get is 4 fish over the 1 year period

i heared lighting is important to cycling lol dont remember where i read that from but meh

i still want to get everything else growning (coral line) and my little hermit and crabs i got