Resun 650

gods_angel77

B) I’ve been using the Resun650 for about 3 months now

Here is some feedback and information for you guys

When the new Resun 650 chiller cut in and out it’s extremely noisy

the compressor cut in/out every 10min creating a loud bang sound each time the compressor kicks in/out.

My chiller set temperature is 25 deg c it cut in almost 6 times in 1 hour & 144 times a day. Who ever tells me it cut in only after 1 hour must be joking.

Overall the unit can be improve on :idea:

I believe the compressor should use inverter technology to save

cost and i strongly don't think that the bill only increases by $10 per month it is definitely range between $50-$60 per month. :erm:

If I have the money I rather pay more to get a better quality chiller like arctica

Anyone who wants to feedback to me can E-mail me at gods_angel77@hotmail.com

• Replies 55

I doubt your statement of electric bill of $50-60 a month for CL650. From my simple calculation.....

CL650 = 0.25hp = 187 watts

187watts * 24 hrs = 4.488kwatt/hr

What is the HDB electric charges? I think is around 0.158 $/kWh

Therefore, 4.488*0.158 = 0.71 cents per day. Take this multiple by 30 days give you only $21.27. Is there anything I miss out?

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

Really :shock: What you get that figure from? I thought it is just a 0.25hp chiller. 600 over watt is equilvalent to a 0.8hp chiller.

u mean the refrigerating capacity? Hm..... I thought the horsepower is the electrical rating..... I really cannot believe it

That will be very nice......

BTW, did you use a clameter to take a CL650 before? A 0.25hp draws 600watts sound way out..... I doubt they can get their ISO standard if the case.

wah.....lol

dun have sengkang/punggol ones ah...

i know gouldian may be getting a CL650....if he allows to strip the wire to test then can find out liao....but stripping the wire quite ugly lah....lol (may affect resale value too :P )

hope lightningstrike from his personal experience with chilling systems or cookiemonster as rep for pacific coo can enlighten us with all these numbers...

then we no need perform operation on our chiller wires hehe :)

i hv posted calculations for true comp mechanical power rating (H.P) in a previous thread as shown. ;) hopefully it will clear ur doubts.

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...3044&hl=danfoss

btw kareen, a chiller does not run 24hrs a day. it wld be more logical to assume 1/2 of that. true running time will hv to be dependant on quite a few factors, e.g. ambient temp, placement of chiller, pump flow thru rate to chiller, etc. :peace:

will get back to you guys on the actual cost calculation not free to do it now so if i made a mistake a big apology on that but i believe the cost is still very high when compare to and inveter compessor

Chees

Hello gods_angel77,

Yes, I definitely believe the running cost is high.... ie imagine the $20 bill is for your fish only on chiller not including MH, pumps, etc. But not as high as your 1st statement of $50-60 bill on CL650 per month.

Also, I am not picking on you, just point out your mistake so that others don't blindly agree. I may have overlook something and I welcome people point it out so that I learn. ;)

kareen staying in tiong bahru? which part?

haha, i m another reefer in tiong bahru too

Opposite the temp. tiong bahru market. How about you?

wah.....lol

dun have sengkang/punggol ones ah...

i know gouldian may be getting a CL650....if he allows to strip the wire to test then can find out liao....but stripping the wire quite ugly lah....lol (may affect resale value too :P )

hope lightningstrike from his personal experience with chilling systems or cookiemonster as rep for pacific coo can enlighten us with all these numbers...

then we no need perform operation on our chiller wires hehe :)

NVM if I can gaurantee a Teco @ a lower price :P ..... ;)

I've tried to monitor the power comsumption from the day i started using my 250w MH,Resun CL650 and the rest of the PHs. This is my "not so accurate' findings.

Total increase of Electricity bill on a 3 mths average - $50

250w MH @ 8 hrs/day - $0.35 per day/$10.50 per month

160w of Powerheads @ 24 hrs/day - $0.65 per day/$19.50 per month

Therefore Resun Cl650 - $0.70 per day/$21.00 per month

BTW, the temp on my chiller is set at 26 degrees celcius and my chiller kicks in once it reaches 28 degrees celcius.

My chiller kicks in once every 1 and 1/2 hours and for about 20 minutes each time.

It might not be accurate but i hope that it provides a rough guide on the power consumption of the CL650.

cheers!

I've tried to monitor the power comsumption from the day i started using my 250w MH,Resun CL650 and the rest of the PHs. This is my "not so accurate' findings.

Total increase of Electricity bill on a 3 mths average - $50

250w MH @ 8 hrs/day - $0.35 per day/$10.50 per month

160w of Powerheads @ 24 hrs/day - $0.65 per day/$19.50 per month

Therefore Resun Cl650 - $0.70 per day/$21.00 per month

BTW, the temp on my chiller is set at 26 degrees celcius and my chiller kicks in once it reaches 28 degrees celcius.

My chiller kicks in once every 1 and 1/2 hours and for about 20 minutes each time.

It might not be accurate but i hope that it provides a rough guide on the power consumption of the CL650.

cheers!

Bro Diabolus,

Do you find that your chiller is producing the sound discribe by gods_angel77?

I getting worried now...... :cry2:

I got my chiller 2nd hand from another reefer.

its 1 yr and 4 mths old now.

compared to other CL650 ive seen, the sound is still very quiet when its kicking in and the only loud noise is when it stops.

otherwise, i think i got myself a very good set considering the price i got it at and the age of the chiller. ;)