SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted January 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2005 CNY is coming.... being newly married... like seamonkee... our first headache is here.... 4 dollar ang poh for first married lunar year??? hahahaha..... but seriously... does anyone has any gift suggestions for like parents or godparents??? usually give hamper every year.... think its time to change.... so what other things can we give them?? jade bangle?? or maybe wad?? instead of the usual XO and stuff.... how about a bottle of tequila??? hahahaa.... any suggestions??? Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member surfedelic Posted January 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2005 My silbing gave a ###### package to my auntie - she is 85 years old . She was very delighted.... You might want to try it out - Though it can't make them looks younger but it makes them FEELS younger .... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member diabolus Posted January 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2005 best is still ang pao... never go wrong. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member minsmarine Posted January 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2005 how about healt club memebership they will feel younger and happier Quote Life is like a peice of Uncured Live Rock [ from LFS ], you never know what you gonna get......... Ocean Gump Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted January 6, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2005 best is still ang pao... never go wrong. we can give ang poh to our parents meh?? Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member 35Cents Posted January 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2005 I think the best gift now is a grandchild!!! Quote "Ah, Blackadder. Started talking to yourself, I see." "Yes...it's the only way I can be assured of intelligent conversation." - Melchett and Edmund Blackadder Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member diabolus Posted January 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2005 we can give ang poh to our parents meh?? why not? i gave them to my parents,aunts,uncles every CNY. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted January 6, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2005 best is still ang pao... never go wrong. we can give ang poh to our parents meh?? Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member 35Cents Posted January 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2005 Now the current ang pow trend is the working adults (married or not) can give elders like parents and grandparents. Quote "Ah, Blackadder. Started talking to yourself, I see." "Yes...it's the only way I can be assured of intelligent conversation." - Melchett and Edmund Blackadder Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member clammy Posted January 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2005 nothing beats ang bao and a box of tradditional Bah Kwa for chinese new year! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member seamonkee Posted January 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2005 CNY is coming.... being newly married... like seamonkee... our first headache is here.... 4 dollar ang poh for first married lunar year??? hahahaha..... but seriously... does anyone has any gift suggestions for like parents or godparents??? usually give hamper every year.... think its time to change.... so what other things can we give them?? jade bangle?? or maybe wad?? instead of the usual XO and stuff.... how about a bottle of tequila??? hahahaa.... any suggestions??? Geez, u know wat.... I was thinking of rewrapping up those distasteful tacky wedding gifts I got from friends and give them out during CNY.... (e.g. bedsheets that didn't match my house theme, picture frames and yeah, cups!) Should hear what my wife says... "Hey! New year I gotta work, as for you, dun anyhow go out for visitation hor! Otherwise, I deduct those expenses from ur tank budget..." Anyway, I heard first year after marriage not necessary to give ang pow... is it so? But if you seriously ask me for advice, with regards to gifts (esp for older folks), nothing beats Ang Pow... This way, they can channel the money to what they prefer, e.g. new dentures, a visit to Batam (Esp for Ah Kong.... ) but usually they keep the $$$ lah... it's the thought that counts... Trust me... when it comes to gifts, ang pow better.... personal experience from my very own wedding.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted January 7, 2005 Share Posted January 7, 2005 buy abalone lah.. even the old folks got no teeth, they see liao still like to choke themselves by swallowin them whole.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member seamonkee Posted January 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 7, 2005 buy abalone lah.. even the old folks got no teeth, they see liao still like to choke themselves by swallowin them whole.. Yeah.... best... give them those u take out from your tank.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member clammy Posted January 8, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted January 8, 2005 Haha, how about this?? Check it out! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=27556 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jackwills Posted May 24, 2018 Share Posted May 24, 2018 Hello, One of my friends want to go china after 5days. So i want to give them a chines gift like this: Could you please suggest me where to buy??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member daveyy Posted May 24, 2018 SRC Member Share Posted May 24, 2018 U just revive a 13 years old thread. *slow clap* hahaha Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jackwills Posted May 26, 2018 Share Posted May 26, 2018 Hello, Could you please suggest any relevant thread in this forum??? unique corporate gift ideas Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...