Sound Stream Car Audio Sound System?

kschew1498

Hi

Anybody's In-Car Entertainment is Soundstream?

Was recommended by a car audio shop for this system:

1st option:

Front Component speaker , Rear 3 way, 8" Bazooka, 1 Amp + wiring and cables......$1250........

2nd option:

Front Component speaker , Rear 3 way, 12" woofer box type, 1 Amp + wiring and cables......$1250+150(for the spider cap)........

Contemplating now!

Anybody here can advise how is the quality of SoundStream......heavy investment leh......really hesitating now.......hmmmmmm

Best Regards

Are you looking at sound quality or loudness? Can never have best of both in a car audio unless its home audio.

The Taruntula and Davinci are way beyond the price you quoted. More likely at that price, you will get the entry to mid level soundstreams.

For sound quality , go MacIntosh if you have spare cash. However, with all the traffic and road noise, one can never get the correct soundstaging at the driver seat unles you get one head unit with adjustable time alignment and delay to move the soundstage to the front of the driver or passenger.

Are you looking at sound quality or loudness? Can never have best of both in a car audio unless its home audio.

The Taruntula and Davinci are way beyond the price you quoted. More likely at that price, you will get the entry to mid level soundstreams.

For sound quality , go MacIntosh if you have spare cash. However, with all the traffic and road noise, one can never get the correct soundstaging at the driver seat unles you get one head unit with adjustable time alignment and delay to move the soundstage to the front of the driver or passenger.

Yup...its definately the entry level........I understand it cost >10k for a full blown Taruntula system! :sick:

Well....I like Jazz music when I am sleepy or down but to spice up my mood I like Loud Techno and Trance music...especially after a hard day at work..... :D

MacIntosh? :huh: ....pai say...sound alien to me....hehe :paiseh:

"adjustable time alignment and delay" ....are you referring to the fading mode???

I cant change my head set as it is build in with the audio control on the steering wheel......so can only upgrade the speakers..... <_<

Just need some feedback on the quality of the sound :paiseh: .....its my first time I have seen such a system.......cool manz.....probably mesmerise by the Taruntula logo! :paiseh:

Bro, IMO, the stuffs he's giving u will reflect if the price is alright... it may be component speakers, but if some pariah brand... den it's way too ex!!!

U need to know wat stuffs u are getting exactly....

Some tips, if u wan the sound to be good, u need a good headset, bear in mind all the signals come from the headset.

Also, if u enjoy techno, have a potted subwoofer box made...

If I were you, and budget is limited, I would focus on the front sound stage, if the front sound stage is done well, the rear of the car can do even without speakers...

My car doesn't have speakers on the rear at all, but u cant really tell, many people who have sat in my car cant tell also....

The rear would only have one subwoofer box and if u like heavy bass, go for at least a 12 inch woofer... :)

I rather go for a good set of front component speakers and a very good 4 channel amp, den use 2 channels for the front and 2 channels to drive the subwoofer at the back...

If u decide to upgrade in the future, go for a monoblock amp juz to drive the subwoofer and the 4 channel for the speakers in front...

This would be a pretty ideal and cost-effective setup liao... :)

Hi Vincent

Thanks for your advise. :thanks: Will go check out again what did they recommended me :paiseh:

Think I will just leave my rear speaker alone and invest on the Amp, Front Speakers and Woofer.

12" woofer huh :evil: ....kekeke.....

Hi Weisoon

There is this pioneer 8650 model.....damn nice!....the player can display underwater reef world.......like a mini TV display......and can move the "sound stage" to the front of the car.....absolutely incredible!

Yes...the system quoted to me is the Xtreme series.....entry level only. After hearing the system by the Taruntula....... :blink: ...it was just WOW!!!...so clear...so sharp....so strong! :P ..but then have to scarifice the whole boot/trunk! <_<

After seeing and hearing it......I am drooling now.....its gonno cost 3k+ to install!

Hmmm.....MAN!.....after my reef tank craze(already spent 6k+).....now crazy about In Car Entertainment system.....my Mdm is gonno kill me..... :sick::lol::lol:

To order the Soundstream amps, some of the USA sites offer a dam good deal.

Some of the forummers in DIY Audio Delphi have ordered into Singapore.

http://www.infinitecaraudio.com/ Check this link for price comparisons.

Usually no warranty here of course.

As far as i know, Soundstream are not famous for their speakers, more for their amps.

For budget amps, try the JBL GTO series or Alpines V series.

A good place to look for amps is Sim Lim Square Edison on 1st floor.

Speakers wise, i personelly favor the CDTs HD series or the Focals

Both are around 600 for 2-way componet.

Woofer wise, a JL or kicker is quite worth your money. Depending on your car size, a 10inch in will be able to give you the "deepness" you need for jazz.

Bazooka not advisable....

My setup was installed at the industrial estate in Bukit Merah, must dig up the name...... anyway he fabricated a FG kick panel for my front....the whole thing including CDTs HD62 came up to $800

Also, most Jap cars will require sound proofing at the door panels its bout $120 one layer for 2 doors. A good place to do it is at 55 Audio at Bukit Batok

Anyway drop me a PM if you need to know more.

Thanks

Justin

Hey Justin....Thanks for the infor.....very good for newbie like myself....... :P I used to install heavy sound system for my last ride.....but only loudness only :paiseh: .....I am looking for clarity.... :P

There are so many different brands in the market......each audio shop will introduce you different brands and setup......depending what system they carries.......really confusing.......donno which one is good.......

So far.....I am just mesmerise by the Soundstream Tarantula logo on the woofer......damn chio manz..... :lol:

hmmmm.....I also heard from a couple of ICE guru that Soundstream speaker not very fantastic..... :unsure:

Hmmm.....sound proofing.....WeiLeong.......Planetg.....where are you guys??? :lol:

Planetg.....how is your sound proofing for your ride.....is it worth spending the money?? :huh::P

Bro, if u leaving your rear speakers alone, might as well take it our altogether, sounds crazy, but if u got clear sound in front, the sound from the rear will actually be noise...

My ICE is installed in the way I recommended to you, u know where to find me if you wanna listen to it right?! :P

WOW!!!.....McIntosh!!! :blink: ....you are a serious ICE guru huh :P ......yet you so modest .....hahaha......

Hey Vincent......ya....one of these days we should meet up......long time liao......ok....going for a car wash liao :rolleyes: .....Chum....neglecting my reef tank liao....kekeke :paiseh:

My setup was done 6 years ago. It came with the Nakamichi MB-100, MB-Quart Mid and tweeter for the front, Rockford fosgate 5 channel amps and 2x15 inch Rockford subwoofer at the back, Alpine Mid and tweeter at the back, with complete sound proof on all 4 doors. At that time cost me about 6-7k. Not sure if I got riped off or not. :)

Have been out of touch with ICE for a while. May be time to do a little upgrade. :)

Anyway, weisoon is correct. The soundstage adjustment is absolutely critical since unlike home hi-fi, you cannot be sitting in the best position in the middle. So having a headunit that can do soundstage adjustment makes a world of difference in the enjoyment. If you use the factory headunit, your enjoyment will be limited. That's the reason why I riped off the factory unit which comes with a built in GSM phone.

I still think that Alpine has a very good head unit. For headunit go for the top of the line and you will never regret.

bro,

just realised u were 'paging' for me! post in mazdaclub and here also? haha :P

firstly, dun bother to do the side doors. our car is not made up of some pariah plastic like some others and thus installing acumat or whatever will not make any diff. however, i did my floor with 2 layers or bitumen and armaflex with the help of bro WL. damn blardy shack man but very interesting to learn abt the car. whole process took abt 7hrs and i've not done my boot yet :lol:

initially, i could tell the diff. the dampening is not really THAT fantastic but there IS a difference. however, after like 1 wk, cannot tell liao! haha. u will only appreciate it if u pop into another mzd3 with no dampening.

your taste for music is a little similar to mine. i love bossa nova, latin jazz, prog house and trance music. i did Rockford Fosgate for the Punch Amp and 12" Sub. u will love the clarity of the bass. solid and non obtrusive. very clean and crisp. for front components, i installed PHD (Italian) which is pretty ok only. Total damage then was ard $1.3k.

now i'm looking to add another amp and changing the front components. looking at RF components and speakers again. the look of that grill is just a killer!!! i remember chuan sing has a complete RF package for ard $1.8k (RF components, 12" Sub + 4Ch Amp if i'm not wrong)

uncle homey from mazdaclub will bring me along to shopping when he's back from biz trip. he's THE ICE Guru. somehow i also agree in looking at a single make for the speakers unless the installer or yourself know how to match different makes well.

Wow....Patrick.....you also siao ICE huh?!! :lol: ...Interesting I notice you and Planetg go for Rockford fosgate.....hmmmm...I doubt I will tear down my existing head set...... :unsure:

In fact my previous car comes with Rockford speaker.....very solid even without Amp.

Yo, Gabriel, must hear your system one of this day la.....you going to the Mega Meetup right?

By the way, guys.....thanks for sharing with me your sound system configuration......very informative for me..... :thanks:

yup. i shd be attending if i'm in town.

for now, i'll be looking forward to auditioning the RF P162S.

i even thought of sacrificing a section of my boot to house a custom panel for my ICE but decided against it cos i know my madness for this car and ICE will not last long enuff!!! :lol:

dun expect too much from my RF since you've already auditioned some pretty high end SoundStream. if u really want to spend more $$$, can go for Morel or DLS :D

Wow....Patrick.....you also siao ICE huh?!! :lol: ...Interesting I notice you and Planetg go for Rockford fosgate.....hmmmm...I doubt I will tear down my existing head set...... :unsure:

In fact my previous car comes with Rockford speaker.....very solid even without Amp.

Yo, Gabriel, must hear your system one of this day la.....you going to the Mega Meetup right?

By the way, guys.....thanks for sharing with me your sound system configuration......very informative for me..... :thanks:

I used to siao car hi-fi and home hi-fi also. For home hi-fi, I remember ever bought the power cord for all my equipment (e.g. pre and power amp, CD transport for $500 a piece). The MIT silver speaker cable also cost me a bomb. hehehe

Those where the days. Now a day home hi-fi also seldom turn on, and my wife only use my car hi-fi to listen to FM since I'm outstation most of the time.

Now I only siao marine only. :)

Cheers.