joeyttk Posted December 31, 2004 Share Posted December 31, 2004 Hi, I had this giant mega size squamose for 8-9 months now. It is about 12" and seems pretty happy. I just wonder what else can I do to make it grow faster. My CA is around 600, my Magnesium is 1230, PH is 8.0. I will be adjusting them according PH, Mag then CA over next 4 days. Just wonder if there is anything else I can do ? Does it need strontium ? thanks joey. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member chinmo Posted December 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2004 think ur tank spec gd for clams liao... don have to do anything else to the water oredi.... what lighting u using for the clams? any growth rings since the day u got it? Quote I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member boxfish Posted December 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2004 CA 600! good.... last time I hit 500 thought got problem, now can't even cross 400 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted December 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2004 1 feet liao. I think almost maximum size liao lah. haha Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted December 31, 2004 Share Posted December 31, 2004 1 feet liao. I think almost maximum size liao lah. haha nope squamosa can grow much larger...... but i think also have to depend on tank size Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tineng Posted December 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2004 lights lor....also maybe you want to measure your KH in case there are some sort of imbalance.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted December 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 31, 2004 go check some websites. most say they grow to a maximum of 1 feet = 12inches. some say 16inches max. much larger is how big? I reckon it's reaching it's maximum size. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joeyttk Posted December 31, 2004 Author Share Posted December 31, 2004 Hi, My tank width is only 1.5ft. So I am putting it on rocks and slanting a bit. The CA600 is an accident. Actually, my Magnesium was too low and I am trying to get by CA to behave while improving my KH. As advise by some bro in SRC, I am currently advising my PH then my Magnesium and then follow by KH/CA My lights are 2x150w, thinking of adding 2xT5 to brighten things up. Read on website that they like 6k-10k lights. currently, I have 2x14k Ya, there are quite a few "grow" rings but maybe I will move it to face the window to have additional lights. thanks for your advise, anyone spot any clams in LFS, do let me know... thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted January 1, 2005 Share Posted January 1, 2005 Saw a mini cute one at Aquamarin... only about 1.5" size... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joeyttk Posted January 2, 2005 Author Share Posted January 2, 2005 thanks, small clams are pretty hard to keep. I truly hope to find some bigger nicer maximas Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...