Achilles Tang Posted September 21, 2002 Share Posted September 21, 2002 Hey Hon, What's up with your new reef tank project? You got the keys to your new place already right? Are you gonna do a fish room also? Tell tell tell! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member spiff Posted September 21, 2002 SRC Member Share Posted September 21, 2002 LOL! ya hon when when????i cant wait to go swimming! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hon Posted September 21, 2002 SRC Member Share Posted September 21, 2002 No keys yet lah...thats why so quiet now...ha.h.a. I wait until neck long long liao, can't wait to start my reef project manz... Anyone can help me push HDB a little??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted September 23, 2002 Author Share Posted September 23, 2002 Just tell them your wife is pregnant and you need to move in RIGHTAWAY!!! Hey Hon... how many 1" true union ball valves do you have? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hon Posted September 25, 2002 SRC Member Share Posted September 25, 2002 Getting keys soon lah..31st Oct 2002. But still have 1.5 mths of hse reno first leh. I got 4 x 32mm true union valve now..why leh ??? wanna stung from me ar?? <_< Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted September 25, 2002 Author Share Posted September 25, 2002 Aiyah... you hit the nail on the head... actually.. the shop I went to has ran out of 1" true union ball valves... stock coming at of the month.. sianz... have to wait another 5 days... this project kenna delay damn jialat! Hey Hon, you still my lobang for the starphire and tank maker or not? Can recommend you to get good price lah! Wah! I let go so much Singlish here! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hon Posted September 26, 2002 SRC Member Share Posted September 26, 2002 What a painful 5 days wait... Keep the contract of yours okie. I might wanna get them to build mine in future. But do they have stainless steel stand fabrication as well? Don't like to go all spore to get individual item. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted September 26, 2002 Author Share Posted September 26, 2002 I believe so... They even helped me get marine-grade plywood... should be no prob as they are in the construction biz. My consultancy fees quite reasonable for you.. heh heh!.... just bring the beer and chicks... oops... make sure the wife is not reading this! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member spiff Posted September 26, 2002 SRC Member Share Posted September 26, 2002 hi achilles, does ur contractor make cabinets too? i was thinking of white cabinet, but i dun c them ard will do my tank, but mid of next year....... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Phang Posted September 26, 2002 SRC Member Share Posted September 26, 2002 Hi Achilles, You have pricing for Starpire glass of 5 by 2.5 ft....???? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Phang Posted February 24, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2003 Achilles Tang said: Hey Hon, What's up with your new reef tank project? You got the keys to your new place already right? Are you gonna do a fish room also? Tell tell tell! Hon, been very quiet....... any updates for us??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hon Posted February 24, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2003 Nothin much to update since my house renovation have not complete. Wall painting and wood vanishing give off some very choking flame, I guess they are real poisonous. It's putting me off from starting the tank until those work have finish, which will probably after Feb liao lor. I attach a few pic of my raw tank anyway...hope to satify you for now...h.a.h.ah. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hon Posted February 24, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2003 I simple and wrong design sump tank Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hon Posted February 24, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2003 And the wrongly built metal stand..... The stand is so weak, even a gust of wind will send the tank swaying left and right on the stand ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dinosaur Posted February 24, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2003 Hon said: And the wrongly built metal stand..... The stand is so weak, even a gust of wind will send the tank swaying left and right on the stand ... Sorry, but I feel very insecure looking at this stands Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted February 24, 2003 Author Share Posted February 24, 2003 I thought you got the stand replaced with a stronger one?? And who designed the sump? Yourself right? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dodo Posted February 24, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2003 me too...my wife will faint if she sees tis type of stand Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hon Posted February 24, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2003 Got the new stand after 2 weeks of waiting and still, the outside dimension is different from the previous weak stand. As my contractor have start building the cabinet for it, they have to discard them and rebuild it again. And I have to pay for it again <_< Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
robe Posted February 24, 2003 Share Posted February 24, 2003 Hi Hon Better upgrade to a bigger frame stand as that can collapse if sideward force is applied like bumping into it accidentally. That one can be modified by putting welded web struts in between the horizontal frame and vertical support colums to reinforce it. ===================== " -- " -- " -- " -- " -- "-- " Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hon Posted February 24, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2003 Its been replaced..... Phang wanna know the step-by-step stuff mah...so i post all the pic I have lor...ha.h.a.h Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hon Posted February 24, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2003 A pic of the bulkhead for the overflow chamber with silicon applied. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hon Posted February 24, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2003 A pic of my iwaki at the sump area. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hon Posted February 24, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2003 And the last pic for now. The full tank shot with cabinet built around the tank. Also managed to make a rock rack. Filled the overflow chamber with water to test for leakage, if any, on the bulkhead joint. Lucky no leak ar!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted February 24, 2003 Author Share Posted February 24, 2003 Hi Hon, The replacement SS stand looks strong! The previous one definitely wrongly built! What a stupid contractor. Anyway, your completed stand, tank, sump & wooden frames look great! Now open up the top and show us how your lights are done! AT ps - your white door looks so much like mine! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hon Posted February 24, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2003 The lightings have not been fixed yet. The light in the tank now is a FL tube use for viewing my house before the lighting is fixed. Attach a pic to show what light it was...h.ah..ah Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...