SRC Member FelixSu Posted December 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 21, 2004 has anyone kept this before? how long has it been surviving or ... how long it lasted? have to specially feed? thanks for the input in advance. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member pegasus1010 Posted December 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 21, 2004 it mostly feed on pods. require an established tank & constant supply of pods. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted December 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 21, 2004 your tank MUST be mature and have lots of pods..they dun feed on anything else... Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lin Posted December 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 21, 2004 they can be trained to feed on mysis veri had to train leh.. i got 1 abt 2yrs ago.. then not eating anything(it eats when parents feed with tubiflex, i scold them like hell, then they stop feeding and it went to heaven).. and last mth i got one.. then outta nowhere, it MIA.. fink lack of pods.. agree with pegasus1010.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member limbssg Posted December 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 21, 2004 I think he means his parents feed the mandarins with tubiflex worms. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lin Posted December 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 21, 2004 I think he means his parents feed the mandarins with tubiflex worms. woh.. u got it! i tot i typo.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lin Posted December 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 21, 2004 ok...i misinterpreted...anyway...she is a her..not he thks for changing my gender back... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member pegasus1010 Posted December 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 21, 2004 thought u scold the mandarin's parent..so funny the way u put it.. anyway, felix if u wanna try, suggest u have a refugium & wait at least 6 mths to 1 yr then try keeping dis fish. refugium with liverock & caulpera or chaeto will increase the pods growth, or so I gathered from reading up here. alternatively is to buy from reefer who had managed to wean it to feeding on shrimps. recent discussion here: http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...view=getnewpost Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member moxa Posted December 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 22, 2004 try flooding the tank with tiny size live brine shrimp. cheers Moxa Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted December 22, 2004 Share Posted December 22, 2004 To keep greeen mandarin you gonna have a very established tank... Surprisingly most mandarin in SL eat frozen brine/ mysis shrimp.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member livebait Posted December 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 22, 2004 your tank MUST be mature and have lots of pods..they dun feed on anything else... bro,the spotted still alive & kicking .....seems like grow 1mm liao Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member FelixSu Posted December 22, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 22, 2004 thanks peeps for the kind info. meaning mysis have to target feed.? wouldn't this fella go hiding in rocks? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted December 22, 2004 Share Posted December 22, 2004 It is difficult to taget feed them in the display tank. What some bros have tried is to wean them to eating mysis in a small tank before transferring to the display. But if you look at the natural behaviour of the Mandarin, you will find that they are constantly hunting for pods. As such, I will prefer to add them to a matured that that have a healthy supply of pods. The fastest way to do this it to keep you tank fishless for a couple of months, by then you will notice tons of pods swimming or hanging around your tank - this is the perfect moment to add the mandarin. But make sure you only add one per tank! Also try not to get those that are more than 1 inch in size cuz they eat lesser and are also less finicky. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AhLoon Posted December 22, 2004 Share Posted December 22, 2004 Surprisingly, my green mandarin have been with me for 8 months now (see avatar)... and I even have a sixline wrasse. Lucky for me the pods supply had been constant (i don't know how) as I hardly see my mandarin feed on any kind of fish food that I'd given them... An interesting observation for mine is that it kind of like the sera plankton pill... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted December 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 22, 2004 Ah Loon, Where to buy them? How much? Solid or liquid form? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted December 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 22, 2004 dun think live BS will work...if u notice, mandarin are not fast swimmers...dun think they will be able to fight with other fishes for BS... Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SBS_Transit Posted December 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 22, 2004 Is there any kind of food u can add in ? like bottled pods(never heard) ? Quote SBS_Transit Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
damienkee Posted December 22, 2004 Share Posted December 22, 2004 but i think them r hard to train......on eating fish food.... pod suppy finish up.... and their life oso end up! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jyilailong Posted December 22, 2004 Share Posted December 22, 2004 I kept mine for quite somtime (about 3 month) and survive well. It feed on frozen blood worm, brine shrimp & prawn meat. Don't see any difficulty to keep it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kareen Posted December 22, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted December 22, 2004 If u want to keep mandrain, the success rate is higher when: 1) lots of pods 2) low bioload of fish tank 3) keep with slow eater fish and not with greedy fish like tangs 4) daily feeding them with frozen mysis shrimp If ur tank has the above condition, should not have much problem. Quote Greeting Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique) Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member steven Posted February 15, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 15, 2005 what is pod ? any pics ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sapient Posted February 15, 2005 Share Posted February 15, 2005 Infact I like the mandarin very much but no luck as well .... personally I think it is quite difficult have a lot of pods in the tank to feed a mandarin ... if that is the case ... in most tank I dont think it is even feasible to have a mandarin in our aquarium in the first place. Currently there is a thread talking about keeping mandarin in the RC... there are also picture of the owner handfeeding the mandarin BS while the other fishes watches - pretty amusing. The other trick the owner use was placing the food in a small bottle such that only the mandarin could access the food where bigger fish cannot easily access them. I think if we could train the mandarin first in a separate tank using BS .. and then transfer them to the main tank once they got accustomed to the food .. then applying the bottle method - the chances of survival will be much higher. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
veliferium Posted February 16, 2005 Share Posted February 16, 2005 Take a look at this!!!!!!!!!!!!!MAndarin on pellets Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted February 16, 2005 Share Posted February 16, 2005 Ever heard of anthias on pellets? Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted February 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted February 16, 2005 my anthias eat pellets too. Both dispers and lyretails. I'm down to the last purple queen however. Will not get anymore purple queen after this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...