wat do u feed clams with?

shoelevy

Clams less than 3-4 inch need to be fed with phytoplankton regulary, when they grow larger than 4-5inch, does not need often feeding..... they rely more on light. ;)

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

those r not mouths ;)

n they r not supposed to be veri big... if they r veri big, it may mean unhealthy or wat we call gapping...

u need strong lights for clams, preferably T5s n above... best with MH...

no target feeding is required... clams r filter feeders just that small ones rely more on phyto (as explained by chinmo)... n big ones more on lightings... but i wld say both shld come tog...

i presume u r dosing phyto at a regular basis, so just provide ur clam with sufficient lightings loh ;)

if u hav the appropriate equipments n wanna try out, try those $20+ crocea first, IME they r easier to handle...

i dun trust stuff on the net

i prefer gurus from this forum

seriously, if they dun eat large food then y do they haf such BIG mouths?

btw, is direct feeding a neccessary habit to practise or simple dosing or coral food is enough?

:lol: i also learn from e "net" leh...... the BIG hole is the "inlet" the clam pump water into themself..... catching and filtering micro floating food, the SMALL hole is the outlet, water strip of micro floating food goes out here. ;)

i'm keeping squamosas mainly.... under 150 watt mh, they grow fast inder 6500k temp. Croceas and maxis need intense lighting! 250watt mh the best! if not 150watt mh also can... but the distance between the mh and clams be as close as possible.... about 1ft :huh:

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

:lol: i also learn from e "net" leh...... the BIG hole is the "inlet" the clam pump water into themself..... catching and filtering micro floating food, the SMALL hole is the outlet, water strip of micro floating food goes out here. ;)

i'm keeping squamosas mainly.... under 150 watt mh, they grow fast inder 6500k temp. Croceas and maxis need intense lighting! 250watt mh the best! if not 150watt mh also can... but the distance between the mh and clams be as close as possible.... about 1ft :huh:

u r serious about the 1ft thing?

then i tink my fren will haf trouble keeping

i'm actually using aquapharm 5in1 coral food

its gd enough for my softies and sponge but issit gd enough for the clam?

"nanno" or "Thallasiosira Weissflogii" strain as advice by woonming is still the prefered ones... ;)

btw, i've surfed the net for pictures of the clam but i jus can't seem to see the diff between crocea, maxi and squamosa....anione care to teach me how to differentiate pls?

Here's some pic of squamosas..... they are moslty not that colourful as compare with maxis and croeceas ;)

post-53-1103350934.jpg

this nanno thing is a kind of phyto?

wat brands offer it?

u can get the "aquaz" brand, "classic blend" it's a concentrted nanno paste which when u want to feed u just take abit of the paste and mix with water, then pour into tank.... simple and pricewaise very affordable! :yeah:

here's a close up of 2 more colourful squamosa i found..... :P

post-53-1103351210.jpg

u can get the "aquaz" brand, "classic blend" it's a concentrted nanno paste which when u want to feed u just take abit of the paste and mix with water, then pour into tank.... simple and pricewaise very affordable! :yeah:

do corals take this nanno food?

i'm thinking if i feed this nanno food do i still need to feed coral food for my corals?

hey...went down to a few shops and saw some clams most of them attached to a rock.

i dun want the rocks cos they look ugly and i wanna put my clams on the sand

so quest is can i pull the clam from the rock cos i tried and it seems to be stcuk on real gd

those r not mouths ;)

n they r not supposed to be veri big... if they r veri big, it may mean unhealthy or wat we call gapping...

u need strong lights for clams, preferably T5s n above... best with MH...

no target feeding is required... clams r filter feeders just that small ones rely more on phyto (as explained by chinmo)... n big ones more on lightings... but i wld say both shld come tog...

i presume u r dosing phyto at a regular basis, so just provide ur clam with sufficient lightings loh ;)

if u hav the appropriate equipments n wanna try out, try those $20+ crocea first, IME they r easier to handle...

wat kind of poor water conditions can cause the gapping of the mouth?

lack of wat or excess of wat causes this gapping?

wah a lot of questions ah...

firstly DO NOT pull a clam from it's rock! If you want it to rest on your sand bed just bury the rock in the sand lah... if you pull the clam away from the rock it will most likely damage if not kill the clam. It's like uprooting a tree..

Gapping mouths a lot of reasons lah... could be just the clam sick, could be water conditions, could be anything... no particular lack of something or whatever...

Golden pearls (the smallest ones) are meant as a replacement to live phyto, but IMHO it's not a perfect replacement... but then live phyto quite hard to keep for long... for clams.. not sure leh... hard to tell if they know the differnece between GPs and live phyto or even if they take the GPs...

i foudn this website and it saes clams love food from 5-30microns so i was tihnking GP has that size food u see

ya

haha...sorry for lots of questions cos i wanna keep them and last time i burnt finger cos never read up buy stuff and die

anwiae...the website is this... http://www.reefs.org/library/talklog/r_gent_020898.html

its damn solid

btw, u sae bury in sand...well thats ok but wat if i wanna place it on my lr...then wat?

haha