DIY retrofit t5 (4ft)

Anthony

• Sponsor
wow... nice and sleek look but..

acherly i dun understand y diyers adopt this design. simpler to diy yes, but it definitely doesnt allow u to pack more tubes into ur tank... :)

of cos, i am speaking from a SPS point of view... :)

hi creetins,

true but not everyone going for sps n need more tubes mah.....i gonna a 4 tubes fixture. in the design now n coming out pretty soon.

hi creetins,

true but not everyone going for sps n need more tubes mah.....i gonna a 4 tubes fixture. in the design now n coming out pretty soon.

of cos of cos....... :paiseh:

SPS keepers are fanatics i guess :lol:

T5s are great stuff, hope to see more of your creations ya...... :lol:

Get Paid To Read Emails. Free To Join Now!

http://www.emailcashpro.com/?r=okdk11

where is the reflector

In the store room haaahaa

Just to add salt here.

It's better that we use mirror to have more light reflected ? Kinda thinking for my next project to use mirror so I could reflect where I want to. I mean one whole big peice of glass lar not small cut.

the disadvantage of this design is:

a. cannot add too many t5 due to space wasted on the beam/holder

b. no protection against salt spray. with t5, u need to place very low and will end up lots of salt spray. quite tedious to wipe. ur reflector will be the first to complain.

apart from that, nice design. looks like pro built, not diy.

cheers!

• Sponsor

i also built the same design......so does ati n aqualight. the purpose of using waterproof and caps is that u can actually wash or spray the unit for maintainance. its not meant to get so close to the water which what we intend to be so kiasu.

as for the commercial units, i do have wings so that is should be resting on the hood. from that, it will be @ 6-7inches above water so that it will avoid salt creeps.

the design is ok......yes, u cant fit alot of tubes with that kinda of design. but not everyone will need plenty of tubes.