take note of dissolving salt wen changing water

shoelevy

i tink some of u mite noe that i got a case of ich a few months ago and i traced the source of it to floating salt crystals that burn the fishes wen i changed water weekly.

i am obliged to write this thread again because recently, a fren of mind who is unaware of the burning effects of floating salt crystals got the ich again after changing water and NOT dissolving the salts properly resulting in his fishes getting burned and would like to remind newbies with properly dissolving yr salt before pouring the new water in. DO NOT allow salt crystals to float or else they will burn yr fishes.

i noe some haf been changing water with some salt crystals floating and yet did not get the ich. wat i haf to sae in response to these people is the salt crystals were very few to cause significant stress....these people haf done a gd job dissolving the majority of the salt

so pls...do not be lazy, do not take chances and dissolve yr salts properly

Huh? I've never seen floating salt crystals but thanks for the tip anyways...

Oh another tip, use a small powerhead to help mix the salt... I used to use a chopstick and a pail... I tell u... painful man... after that I found a spare powerhead, haven't touched the chopstick since..

Once my salt crystals got in contact with my hammerhead. shrivel up badly... wanted to dispose of it. however decided to wait it out and now its slowly regenerating back to its proper form.

i'm sure its due to the burning sensation

the burning sensation can be experience by sticking yr hand into a packet of salt that u buy from lfs

its so strong that within 5secs, u'll feel the kick!

Huh? I've never seen floating salt crystals but thanks for the tip anyways...

Oh another tip, use a small powerhead to help mix the salt... I used to use a chopstick and a pail... I tell u... painful man... after that I found a spare powerhead, haven't touched the chopstick since..

u mean it hurts from the salt burns?

i tink some of u mite noe that i got a case of ich a few months ago and i traced the source of it to floating salt crystals that burn the fishes wen i changed water weekly.

i am obliged to write this thread again because recently, a fren of mind who is unaware of the burning effects of floating salt crystals got the ich again after changing water and NOT dissolving the salts properly resulting in his fishes getting burned and would like to remind newbies with properly dissolving yr salt before pouring the new water in. DO NOT allow salt crystals to float or else they will burn yr fishes.

i noe some haf been changing water with some salt crystals floating and yet did not get the ich. wat i haf to sae in response to these people is the salt crystals were very few to cause significant stress....these people haf done a gd job dissolving the majority of the salt

so pls...do not be lazy, do not take chances and dissolve yr salts properly

bro i think u are funny?

never have i heard of such "burning sensation"

maybe should get some more advance reefers to guide u on the proper salt mix procedures...........

imo

i think it has nothing to do wif those undesolved salt crystal.........

stress may causes by the salinity shock and ph shocks........

where on earth could kena such crystal shock one........... :blink:

I always sweep all the salt crystals formed on my tank brace into the tank. the salt crystals fall on my corals etc no problem.

But I think changing water is totally different. When u change a substantial amount of ur tank water, say 30%, u must ensure the salt is fully dissolved and all reactions have stopped before adding to main tank. If u pour the newly mixed water in straightaway, the exorthermic reactions that takes place will shock the corals.

Try mixing one pail full of salt water. add the salt needed at one go. feel the salt and water. you will feel that the water is v warm and even hot. this is due to exorthermic reactions taking place.

It is probably the stress that induced ich outbreak. these salt crystals cannot logically directly effect an ich outbreak.

I always sweep all the salt crystals formed on my tank brace into the tank. the salt crystals fall on my corals etc no problem.

But I think changing water is totally different. When u change a substantial amount of ur tank water, say 30%, u must ensure the salt is fully dissolved and all reactions have stopped before adding to main tank. If u pour the newly mixed water in straightaway, the exorthermic reactions that takes place will shock the corals.

Try mixing one pail full of salt water. add the salt needed at one go. feel the salt and water. you will feel that the water is v warm and even hot. this is due to exorthermic reactions taking place.

It is probably the stress that induced ich outbreak. these salt crystals cannot logically directly effect an ich outbreak.

although u are chim to me, but i am agree wif u............

stress only come in due to unproper mixing preparation of saltwater

salt crystal burns fish???

weird ?

anybody got any idea on this issue? :rolleyes:

bro i think u are funny?

never have i heard of such "burning sensation"

maybe should get some more advance reefers to guide u on the proper salt mix procedures...........

imo

i think it has nothing to do wif those undesolved salt crystal.........

stress may causes by the salinity shock and ph shocks........

where on earth could kena such crystal shock one........... :blink:

my advice is based upon my experience, my friend's and the explanation given by 2 reputable lfs

maybe i didn't make myself clear in the first post.

the stress comes wen the salt crystals come in contact with the fishes and burns them...i dun mean the burns cause the ich...i mean the burns stress the fishes making them weak and susceptible to ich

get my pt hermit?....do i still sound farnee to u?

maybe if u still haf doubts, u can call some lfs or better still, try changing water without properly dissolving the salts then see how yr corals and fishes will react

:yeah::yeah::yeah:

IMO,

U r kind of misleading as well ... adding of fresh mixed saltwater watsoever ... do it in the sump lah .. let return pump do the progressive mixing with main tank water.. where further dissolve of the undissolve possible oso ..

yet rte.............

we should add in the mixed saltwater into sump rather than into the main tank mah....................

I'd 4 midium size tangs in small 3' tank b4. Ich kanna only one time and it's last for only 2 days. It's over with nothing loss.

This is how I mix salt.

In small tub, pour small amount of water, than pour needed salt foe 20 or 30L pill. Mix with using hand given by my mother. Yea , the water goes warm cause I kept salt in the store where has high temp.

After fully disolve in 1-2 min, I pour in to the pill for final mix. In next 10 mins, the mix water is in the sump.

Never seen crystal b4 in my life. May be different salt. Mime is TM.

IMO,

U r kind of misleading as well ... adding of fresh mixed saltwater watsoever ... do it in the sump lah .. let return pump do the progressive mixing with main tank water.. where further dissolve of the undissolve possible oso ..

misleading or not...pt is dun let salt srystals touch fish

and not all people haf sumps.....me n my frend add water directly into tank cos we're using canisters....... <_<

Never mix salt for my water change before. So no comment on the salt crystal causing burns to LS.

I agree with nicky30092002 that if you have sump, it's better to pour the freshly mixed salt water into the sump rather than directly to the main tank. Thus avoiding Ph or Kh in-balance for that short period of time. I believe most of the reefers out there with sump would have done the same. My tank is a screw up AXXXXX design so I have to pour all my mixture into the small 1/2' return reservoir so that the return pump can blow out the mixture into the main tank.

By the way, what salt are you using. Just bought a packet of CoralLife salt and I did some salt mix just now and it dissolve quite easily.

and not all people haf sumps.....me n my frend add water directly into tank cos we're using canisters....... <_<

I run canister b4 I got my sump.

Changed water a few time, but I didnt get crystal lay.

May be u can share with us how u mix the water.

i'm begining to sense alot of hostilities in this thread

many sae i'm unclear and misleading and i apologise

lemme once again make myself clear...the salt crystals come about due to improper dissolving on the hobbyists part...its got nothing to do with the salt but rather has everything to do with hobbyist being lazy and never stir properly

as to how u add the water into the tank it is not the crux of the issue here...the pt i am trying to bring forth is do not allow floating undissolved salt crystals to come in contact with fish or coral wen changing water...how u add water to tank or how to stir the salt in pail is besides the pt

everyone clear?

This guy is trying to say, if u dun hv sump, mix ur salt properly before U pour into ur main tank ... else according to him it will BURN ur fish/coral .. dun believe u can chuck ur hand into the salt tub & experience the burning sensation .. or KICK he called it ...

nothing further. :thanks:

mydog.gif

lemme once again make myself clear...the salt crystals come about due to improper dissolving on the hobbyists part...its got nothing to do with the salt but rather has everything to do with hobbyist being lazy and never stir properly

as to how u add the water into the tank it is not the crux of the issue here...the pt i am trying to bring forth is do not allow floating undissolved salt crystals to come in contact with fish or coral wen changing water...how u add water to tank or how to stir the salt in pail is besides the pt

everyone clear?

Gotcha.

Just a simple question. What brand of salt are you using?

This guy is trying to say, if u dun hv sump, mix ur salt properly before U pour into ur main tank ... else according to him it will BURN ur fish/coral .. dun believe u can chuck ur hand into the salt tub & experience the burning sensation .. or KICK he called it ...

nothing further. :thanks:

very gd summary

love ya!

tanks

everyone clear?

hostilities in this thread??? ppl trying to tell u adding to main tank is not advisable ..

asking u wat salt U use .. and why undissolve crystal floats? where got hostile???

mydog.gif