how come leather not open ?

LIM CHYE HUAT

i recently bought 4 to 5 leather from reborn. the first few days all open(big), then recently only one open, the rest not for 4 to 5 days liao ! i use selly knead it to stick them to lr. lighting is 2 x 150w 10k 0n from 10 to 10.tank is 4ft 100 gallon. for softie is fast flowrate needed, i using one 38l/h 1060 ehiem to drive both return and resun chiller. or should i add another one dedicated to the chiller only.

spec is

temp 26 to 28 degreec mostly 27

ammonia 0

n02 0

no3 20

ph 8.2

kh 9-10

p04 rather high 1plus ppm

ca 500

sg 1.0325

another question at temp 27 need to maintain what level of specific gravity ? :(:unsure::erm:

what trace element to add and any liquid food to recommend ? brand price and where to buy many many thanks.

i recently bought 4 to 5 leather from reborn. the first few days all open(big), then recently only one open, the rest not for 4 to 5 days liao ! i use selly knead it to stick them to lr. lighting is 2 x 150w 10k 0n from 10 to 10.tank is 4ft 100 gallon. for softie is fast flowrate needed, i using one 38l/h 1060 ehiem to drive both return and resun chiller. or should i add another one dedicated to the chiller only.

spec is

ammonia 0

n02 0

no3 20

ph 8.2

kh 9-10

ca 500

sg 1.0325

another question at temp 27 need to maintain what level of specific gravity ? :(:unsure::erm:

what trace element to add and any liquid food to recommend ? brand price and where to buy many many thanks.

hmm lighting from 10 to 10 seem to be abit long.... 8-10hrs should be enough

switch lighting to 10 to 12.

do water change, change carbon and leather start to open again, but i notice the one 6 to 8 inches from mh change to darker brown color but still open ,funny leh ;) is it sunburn ? B)

does leather need strong flow ?

switch lighting to 10 to 12.

do water change, change carbon and leather start to open again, but i notice the one 6 to 8 inches from mh change to darker brown color but still open ,funny leh ;) is it sunburn ? B)

does leather need strong flow ?

10am to 12am?? 14hrs!!! thats way too long

leathers need considerably high current... onli then they will be more willing to open... sometimes when ur dissolved nutrients builds up, there will be like 1 or 2 days they dun feel like opening up...

n do not put them directly under ur MH... ;)

btw, add in more powerheads to create more currents for ur tank...

get a seperate pump for ur chiller, it may affect ur turnover rate :)

leathers need considerably high current... onli then they will be more willing to open... sometimes when ur dissolved nutrients builds up, there will be like 1 or 2 days they dun feel like opening up...

n do not put them directly under ur MH... ;)

btw, add in more powerheads to create more currents for ur tank...

get a seperate pump for ur chiller, it may affect ur turnover rate :)

saw reborn display tank they place a few large leather all the way at the top but they still open like mad.

i have 2 leather very near the top , my 2x150w 10k mh is abt 12 to 15 inc h from surface so i think ok cause both still open rather big now, only one turn brownish after did not open for 5 days.

was told by henry that is may be due to nutrient level too high , coral absorb already turn brown, but how come the other one still yellow leh?

will be getting a 2400l/h eheim to drive the cl650 chiller only is it okay?

saw reborn display tank they place a few large leather all the way at the top but they still open like mad.

i have 2 leather very near the top , my 2x150w 10k mh is abt 12 to 15 inc h from surface so i think ok cause both still open rather big now, only one turn brownish after did not open for 5 days.

was told by henry that is may be due to nutrient level too high , coral absorb already turn brown, but how come the other one still yellow leh?

will be getting a 2400l/h eheim to drive the cl650 chiller only is it okay?

leather is a soft coral so y the heck do u haf it so close to yr mh?

soft corals do not like strong lights...and yr lighting is 10hrs rite?....soft coral u can cut down to 8 or 7hrs a dae

the one turning brown is due to zooxanthellae bloom

remember zooxanthellae is also an algae...algae will bloom wen u haf high po4, high lights and high no3 (all of which u haf in yr tank)...zoozanthellae is brown so wen it blooms, the brown colour overwhelms the colour of the coral and so yr coral looks brown

remember henry sae yr coral turn brown could be due to high nutrients?...its no3 and po4 and yr lovely lights he's refering to

leather dun open also got another reason...my experience with mine is if coral food u never dose for quite sometime they will also not open up and for leather...MODERATE curent is enough...dun use current that will cause them to sway

regarding trace elements, if u wanna add...go buy aquapharm's marine health trace element....excellent stuff not jus used by me but reccommended by my frends too...not only do yr corals haf gd health yr coralline will grow like mad too

sorry my mistake should be 1.0235.

26 degree and 1.0235 ok ? i using coralife hydrometer

and nice cat you have .

regarding yr sg...as long as it lies in the recommended region of the hygro it doesn't really matter that yr water is at 27 while the meter is calibrated at 25

i recently bought 4 to 5 leather from reborn. the first few days all open(big), then recently only one open, the rest not for 4 to 5 days liao ! i use selly knead it to stick them to lr. lighting is 2 x 150w 10k 0n from 10 to 10.tank is 4ft 100 gallon. for softie is fast  flowrate needed, i using one 38l/h 1060 ehiem to drive both return and resun chiller. or should i add another one dedicated to the chiller only.

spec is

ammonia 0

n02 0

no3 20

ph 8.2

kh 9-10

ca 500

sg 1.0325

another question at temp 27 need to maintain what level of specific gravity  ? :(  :unsure:  :erm:

what trace element  to add and any liquid food to recommend ? brand price and where to buy many many thanks.

btw...one shot cheong 4-5 corals is really risky ah...u should buy one...make sure u r successful with it then add another then add another...u wouldn't like a scenario where u or ur tank isn't suited for it then all die together rite?

aniwae...if u need more info about yr corals u can visit

www.liveaquaria.com

www.livemarine.com

from yr thread i can roughly tell u didn't really read up on leather den cheong rite?

hahaha

:whistle