newbie needs help!

jonathan543

I am willing to take up to 3-5 pairs of reidi if they are captive bred, depending on the nett price per piece.

Ace, thanks for the initiative and let's hope the order will really come true. It will be a big blessing for seahorse maniacs here :)

• Replies 54

Hi Real,

They posted me some photos of their pony about 10-14cm but I lost the pic when my hard disk crash :angry: I need to pay them a visit before i make any purchase, this is to ensure that the source is a reliable one. For this visit, I may add extra $4.5-$5 per horse if the pool order goes through as I need to cover my flight expense. I am not making any profit at all for this order as I feel that the market for seahorse is overprice by local retailer. I don't believe those local seahorse on sales are import by proper channel else, how come the quantity are so little? It doesn't justify the trouble and cost for apply CITIES. So I guess they are making about 5-15 time profit.

My intention right now is to reduce any speculation of prices by local retailer and proper education to the SH keeper that if you can't commit a SH only-tank, forget about buying SH.

I need a volunteer who can provide a large tank to acclimate the SH when it arrives. I have sources for live mysis. And priority is to get it feeding before release to its prospective owner or the best is to get it feeding on frozen before release. I will try to get frozen mysis and distribute it to the rest. This mysis is not the usual Hiraki type. When defost, it whole body of mysis stays intact.

That's why I have some reservation when I suggest this pool order. All proper conditions must be thought out before, because I am not a retailer(not profit driven) but a SH hobbyist. That's all.

ACE, the SH is WC or CB? is the farm in usa? :huh:

as long as the SH is healthy, i won't mind the colours :P will stick to 2 pairs..... pocket burn big hole doing some upgrading to my system! <_<

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

i have 2 3 ft tanks to spare if u guys dont mind...can hold the seahorses

erm.... think e max for 3ft is gonna be 10-20 SH, that's just e holding part, powerful skimmer and filteration is another.... :)

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

have a spare macro needlewheel...but if for filtration i only have 4 spare canisters currently....u want can use my aquamedic shorty for them first if u guys want cos my tank currently coping well with my macro...but if u guys feel not enough...then nevermind..just an offer ;);)

:whistle alrite that's quite powerful fiteration.... Carry on :lol:

haha...i also got 2 2fts...but hor...what i worry is that cos reidi is a big species...2ft unless is tall might not be tall enough for them....whats the height of your 2ft???

btw....i very interested in the live mysis...searching high and low...cannot find...so thought from learning from bro chris low...catch...haha

well.... it's just to hold and qurantnee the sh for a period of time.... height won't make any dif..... :)

Hi Decentkid,

Why would you want live shrimps when your horse are feeding well with frozen mysis. It a pain when you need extra tank to house your live shrimp. It doesn't survive well in captivity. Need cool water about 26 Deg C and food to maintain.

One of the spot is at Pasir Ris fishing pond. It was once open to Public for fishing. Now that owner change hand, you can ask if they allow you shrimping. Go up to the last few small ponds. Look closely down around the side bank.

I don't deny the thrill seeing my horses chasing after live shrimps.

:P prefer them to be smart enough to take frozens! jus thaw, enrich and feed! :lol:

fantastic! but dun think my tank can hold such a big species lei... how much would it take to built a 2x1x2ft tank? would it be sufficient? the bt aquarium shop once held several seahorses in a cramped 1ft tank.... yet the seahorses are breeding... ironic huh? for now i think my tank can oni take in 2pairs of smaller species sh... like barbouris... currently the sh tank's sharing a sump tank filled with ecosystem miracle mud planted with macro algae with my 2ft nano reef tank...

and it's so interesting to feed my alligator pipes with live shrimps.... stealth & fierce sia... lolx

Hi Acedopline,

If your source can accommodate a mixture of difference type such as Dwarf + Reidi + others, I would like to have 10 pairs of Dwarf. I am madly in love with Dwarf - easy to maintain, promiscuous and profilic...and,

All guys how about a gathering - Seahorse fanatic meeting - to discuss plans and resources for the breeding of next generation?

Hi Acedopline,

If your source can accommodate a mixture of difference type such as Dwarf + Reidi + others, I would like to have 10 pairs of Dwarf. I am madly in love with Dwarf - easy to maintain, promiscuous and profilic...and,

All guys how about a gathering - Seahorse fanatic meeting - to discuss plans and resources for the breeding of next generation?

not a bad idea! can mit at pasir ris farms lor..... can shop and discuss! :lol:

me feeding with freshwater shrimps that can be easily bought at fish shops..... i never know a creature with a tube for its mouth can be so fierce when feeding!

it'll swim in a upside down manner in a creeping pace when it sighted its prey.... with both its eyes fully intended on the shrimp... then when it had reached near enough, it'll stop breathing & slowly arch its head back before *snap*! gotcha! the sound of the mouth snapping on the shrimp was quite audible wor... facinating.... heex... would love to see a sh feed like that!

Ours with FW shrimps but enriched it with cyclop-eeze prior feeding. Weekend special with SW shrimps. An inch longer after 6 months.

Pasir Ris should be a good place with SW shrimp. UDMC chalets sea side. Larvae Shrimp usually found both sides of a swampy estuary at ebbing or near to low tides. Use a foot by foot fine net should do the jobs and prepare to get wet.

An old friend of mine is considering shrimping and pack for sale. May be 100 shrimps in a pack. How does it sound fellow enthusiast?

:rolleyes:

Another good place to catch small baby shrimps is at Sembawang park sea side. I usually go there with my familly and catch them, till today. Once free, we will drive here, better that Pasiris. SH love them.

FYI, It depends on the timing and water conditions. If the water good, not oily and dark.....you can catch a lot as you can see these babies swimming in thousands near the sea side rocks.

Go decentkid go go go.... shrimping. A big bucket, big net and a little air pump. Don't catch more than enough. They will died easily when temp rises. Normally put about 120 lasting about 3 days for 4 SH.

Mid tide is the best. Approximately 6 hours between high and low.

Good luck.

Ours with FW shrimps but enriched it with cyclop-eeze prior feeding. Weekend special with SW shrimps. An inch longer after 6 months.

Pasir Ris should be a good place with SW shrimp. UDMC chalets sea side. Larvae Shrimp usually found both sides of a swampy estuary at ebbing or near to low tides. Use a foot by foot fine net should do the jobs and prepare to get wet.

An old friend of mine is considering shrimping and pack for sale. May be 100 shrimps in a pack. How does it sound fellow enthusiast?

:rolleyes:

have ar? lolx i'm sure was interested... tried west coast today... eee sucks... nothing at all man... the coastal line, the big longkang... nothing at all! omg :cry2:

me staying in the west... other than west coast there's no shoreline liao... or anybody can suggest?

me juz bought a pair of tigertails... for $50sia... feel kanna tok liao... but bo bianz... but they dun seemed to be feeding lei... tried frozen mysis & live brineshrimps... not abit interested... but when i tried live fw shrimps, they attacked the shrimps... but gave up soon after they can't managed to suck in the shrimps... i already choose the smallest ones but still too big for them... now munching on pods & other tiny bugs in the tanks... any idea guys? before they starved to death! :cry2:

WHAT!!! $50 FOR A PAIR OF TIGER TAILS!?!?!?

your tiger tails made of gold arh...the price now around $15 or $18 leh... <_<

anyway....west coast got nothing lar....shld not even call it a coast... :lol::lol:

i also stay west....once i start my sh tank again will call u...then we go shrimping

btw....bro chris low....

if i catch extra and keep in my sump can?

cos chiller so temp fulctuation not really that big

actually it was $30per pcs wor... then i said i used to get tigertails at a place in yishin for $8nia... then he paisay & quote me $25per pc... okies lor... they seemed happi & active... with the male showing shades of yellow on his tummy & almost the whole underside of his tail... sianz... can pls tell me how to get the sh to feed?

try keeping them in bare bottom tank with slight water movement enough to get the Frozens floating for a while..... they will after a while think this floating frozns "live"

from my exp... it will work some how.... ;)

Hi Janathan543, to your rescue!

Bukit Gombak - Xiao QuiLin park. Quary pond side. Use a small net, scoop toward the muddy bankside. Guarante small FW shrimps ranging from 10mm to 15mm size. Your new seahorses should love it. Do reserve some for me. Keep me posted of yor new seahorse condition.

Decentkid, No problem but please limit to just enough for couple of days. It will loadup your bio-system if dead.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New year to All, not forgetting our seahorses....