Plans for a new Tank

seamonkee

Now that my house reno is over.... I am commencing my tank project so here goes the new thread!

Meeting Lim Han Teck this afternoon.... he's gonna give me a quote and provide me with some advice on the setup...

Looking at 5'x2'x2'... or 6'x2'x2'.... not going for high height cause I have a back problem and having to reach deep to get to the bottom is not such a feasible idea... I like tanks that are long and narrow....

Thinking of FOWLR or with some mushies to minimise maintenance...

So far, I have already bought my skimmer (EV-240) and my FR (from Joe) which includes a carbon chamber unit...

Need advice on lighting.... thinking of T5 (not going for chiller) or Flourescent (10k for whiteness) + actinic....

Do give me some advice... I want the least maintenance as possible. In another words...

Less water change and stuff..... was told to go for higher volume (6' length maybe) so more stability and less maintenance... is this so?

Thanks....

mircale mud??? heard its one of the most maintenence free system around ....the refug will also provide food for your fish so as your tank matures, you might not be even needed to feed your fishes....:)

yea....height volume means more stability....but if you ever need water change...a bit siong....

I agree with Deepblue. Go for a fish only setup. This will allow size (very impressive) with minimized mantenance cost. You can opt for Fl or t5s, a few tubes will do (1X daylight 1 X actinic) without chiller costs.

Go for a low bioload: high live rock ration, with lots of water circulation, and you are all set. Can get second hand some more- people selling their non control tunzes and live rock. Looking good :)

wah..... dilemma man.... esp with the height.... The last time I had a 2x1.5x1.5.... somemore got 5" DSB then.... already I feel a bit strained having to stretch to the bottom....

Bro, I have to consider my back problem lah.... really not worth it if I aggravate it for the sake of my hobby.... how far will one go for a hobby... not worth the risk...

so most probably 2' height only... :)

Yeah, will probably go for longer length to compensate for the lost in "impressive" appearance.. hehe... :)

Will discuss with the tankmaker... maybe 6x2x2.... anyway, he can't make it today... so meeting me tomorrow....

That wil be like an excellent FOWLR setup dude :)

Any idea if there are 6' long FL or T5s? I dun think there are in the market?

Or can I just settle with some 4' T5s but hanging from the ceiling?

One more question.... where my tank is.... above it is false ceiling... so is there any way to mount the lights? esp if it is the ceiling hanging type....

• Sponsor

hi bro,

as for me.....even if i go for fowlr, i will go for 2x150watts....always luv the ripplying effect of the MH.

if not, u can diy ur own.....staggered the 4' t5s lor...maybe 4x54watts...

that will be good enough if u worry about heat problems

In view of the silicon scare and stuff....

I am now considering acrylic... though I am aware of the high possibility of scratches and all, I believe with extra care, it shouldn't be a problem...

Besides, my tank will most probably be one view only (in another words, it doesn't bother me if coralline algae booms on the side and back)....

and I am going only for FOWLR.... less movement and arrangement of corals and stuff....

What do you guys reckon?

You have to be careful with acrylic tank especially you have a back problem because they are consider high maintenance tank as coralline aglae will easily grow on the acrylic and time and effort taken to remove them can be a pain. Even to remove the stratches with the right sandpaper can be a pain. Recently, there is someone in reef central complained the time taken to clean his small acrylic tank 50 gallon < is more than the time taken to clean a 200 gallon tank.

i agree with some of the reefer using MH for FOWLR tank ... but maybe 70Watt 20K bulb (not sure whether they have such) becasue 20K will have the least diatom and also you have the caustic networks (rippling effect)... T5 and FL is not impressive ... and with actinic lighting makes your tank looks cloudy when compared to MH 20K lighting.

I believe this category on FOWLR emphasized alot on Size of tank and aquascaping, not to mention the lightings. It would be interesting to see more species tank in future.

The tankmaker came by and have already given me a quote...

The tank size is 5(L) x 2(W) x 2.5 (H)...

Glass thickness is 12mm.... is it thick enough or should I ask for 15mm?