Anyone Modded a Weipro into a needlewheel?

ervine

Hi guys,

I took down my old DIY skimmer coz it started to give me problems... went out to buy a 2nd hand Weipro 2014 and took out the venturi, replaced it with my DIYed needlewheel.... as a result the bubble density at the lower half of the chamber looks pretty darn good...

Problem is... the bubbles are getting sucked back into the output of the skimmer before they even get a chance to break at the surface... so the bubble density at the top of the chamber looks pretty thin...

Wish I had a pic to show but my cam is in my hostel room..

Anyways, any ideas how to mod if further to prevent bubbles from being sucked out of the skimmer?

Thanks!

Ervine

Will try to show a pic of mine tomorrow when i get my camera back..

By the way, I didn't mod the pump impeller into a needle wheel, I just used the original one..

If you want can check out my old threads on modding the impeller of a maxijet here http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...hl=maxijet&st=0

The problem with this is that the damn weipro's design is flawed... if they had inverted the output tube to something like a deltec it would be absolutely perfect!

Here come the pics!

Okay here's how I did the venturi for the pump.. similar to http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...hl=maxijet&st=0 this which is for a maxijet..

It's pointing down to make sure that the air goes in, last time it was pointing up and some bubbles escaped... (paiseh sump covered in coraline, cannot see the pump)

post-9-1102512619.jpg

Modding it quite straight forward lah, no brainer one.. just rip out the venturi, stuff a tube to replace it, tube goes to "needlewheel" pump...

Problem is it's DAMN hard to stuff the tube over the given elbow.. DAMN hard.. I think I tried for 1/2 an hour man..

Bro, how about extending the internal exit tube with a PVC pipe for something?? dun have to stick or anything, juz find the pipe slightly bigger than the internal exit chamber and slot over it...

Juz my $0.02... it's as good as my lousy DIY skills can get... but juz thought it might work and wanna contribute... :)

lastly, the whole setup...

notice the amount of air tube i use...

i think i solve the problem by putting the pump nearer to the water surface.. in this case .. more bubbles and then u can tune the output lower the reach a higher level in the skimmer .. then can solve the problem liao ... try it ..

dunno will be the same as ur or not .

post-9-1102565805.jpg