Breeding seahorse.

Chris Low

erm... u gathering orders to get reidi? or checking who has raise fries to adults? :huh:

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

Hoping someone could share their experience with us in raising then to adulthood, and any die hard fan for seahorses.

oh i c, a misunderstood i made, well the longest is 1mth for reidi and 1mth plus for barbs....

hey chris, u did quite a gd job to get them to 7 weeks, care to share ur method of raising them? :)

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

ME!!!

ME!!!!

but unfortuantely....mine lasted only 2 weeks

hey, for first attemp, 2 weeks oredi very gd lor! guess alot of pple out there not able to get them pass 1st week. ;)

oh i c, a misunderstood i made, well the longest is 1mth for reidi and 1mth plus for barbs....

hey chris, u did quite a gd job to get them to 7 weeks, care to share ur method of raising them? :)

Hi Chinmo, Give me another months before I reveal my secret. I am expecting another patch up in 2 weeks time. It will be considered successful only after they start feeding on frozen enriched food. I will keep you posted since you are the only one interested. Are u keen in raising them?

Hi chris, all the best to your SH batches.

I was a die-hard fan of SH too. Just that been very busy for time being. In fact, now overseas and managed to get a internet connection for a quickie to check this section. :lol:

Pls keep me posted if you intent to let go some SH. I have a specimen tank built for them but now only gobies after letting go all my reidis some months back. Making a comeback soon.

I was a die-hard fan of SH too. Just that been very busy for time being. In fact, now overseas and managed to get a internet connection for a quickie to check this section. :lol:

Pls keep me posted if you intent to let go some SH. I have a specimen tank built for them but now only gobies after letting go all my reidis some months back. Making a comeback soon.

Good News that this Forum is back to life, another enthusiast. Will surely keep you guy posted.

hey chris....who say only chinmo interested... <_<<_<

i also leh....my sh fries lasted 2 weeks....and when they grow up...and if u intend to sell...do let me know too...and also share your method leh....i might want to try out...

This Forum is revived, Will keep you posted about 2nd patch. If your Seahorse spawn again, drop me a line. We can advice.

I will be all ears for it.....

I used to have a SH/pipefish nano tank but never get so far to breed them. I only successfully wean them into taking frozen mysis shrimps.....

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

Hi Chinmo, Give me another months before I reveal my secret. I am expecting another patch up in 2 weeks time. It will be considered successful only after they start feeding on frozen enriched food. I will keep you posted since you are the only one interested. Are u keen in raising them?

okie, we keep each other updated, think we the one active in this forum with reidi specis only. :lol: mine preggy too! lost the whole batch on mon 29th of november, was going off for my reservist, then the male pop! :( when i came back on tuesday, all fries gone liao! :( but found a pool of eggs on floor since the male is smaller than e female, guess there be still some eggs in the pouch! :yeah:, i'm still going with the fishbowl method, the kreiser tank method not bad also, but no more room for more tanks at the moment. :lol: check out my passed thread on raising sh, shld be considered as a SEAHORSE FANATIC! :lol:

Bro nickel, must make a come back hor.... don't give up. ;)

okie, we keep each other updated, think we the one active in this forum with reidi specis only. :lol: mine preggy too! lost the whole batch on mon 29th of november, was going off for my reservist, then the male pop! :( when i came back on tuesday, all fries gone liao! :( but found a pool of eggs on floor since the male is smaller than e female, guess there be still some eggs in the pouch! :yeah:, i'm still going with the fishbowl method, the kreiser tank method not bad also, but no more room for more tanks at the moment. :lol: check out my passed thread on raising sh, shld be considered as a SEAHORSE FANATIC! :lol:

keep us( Chris & Ong) informed if they spawn again. We can advice. All the best!

Thanks bro, will inform u when the batch pop! :lol:

:P not forgetting pipefish lovers too.... although most of us do not have much experience with pipes, they are basically almost the same as seahorse. ;)

me too! i wanna breed sea horse... but first... where can i get live mysis shrimp? anyone sees them can pls inform me?

Live mysis? Those from what I heard are actually baby shrimp. Not exactly mysis. Look at their red antennas and you know what I'm talking about. Seen people catching these at pasir ris mangroves during low tide. Maybe you can try? Heard these are only seasonal though. :(

Wah! long time did not log in and gd to see the SH forum alive again. My longest SH fly last 4 mth and through should be successful liao but...... :cry2: After that batch, all not over 2 weeks mark. Believe is the food. Now, give up breeding liao. So Chris, do keep us update and share with us you success method.

Hello Ong,

What went wrong after 4th month, and what were they feeding on. If baby out again, are you lettng nature take it course. I suggest you donate them. There are fanatic out there craving for it.

Cheer!

:evil: my fish bowl waiting for new recruits leh! :lol: if any one has fries and not able to take care, can sell/pass to me! :)

Hello all seahorse fanatics :D

240+ fries this brood dated 4th Jan, may all forces be with me :bow:

If 30% successful, willing to sell off some to any enthusiasts willing to take over after 2 months old.

Minimum requirement:

a. 2 feet tank bare bottom tank that must link to your existing sump.

b. Willing to hatch BBS and enrich it with HUFA and Spirolina.

c. Have sufficient amphipods in the sump.

d. Sea monkeys - must be enriched, should be available for feeding after 3rd month.

c. and .....

Wish me lucks.... :bow: