Canon powershot A95

huskiesg

I am thinking of getting the Canon Powershot A95. Might be heading down to Sitex to look look see see.

Budget wise, still below my amount which is 600.

Anybody using this camera now and any comments on it? Good/Bad, all are welcome. :)

With regards

Kevin

Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson

bro,

hv u check out the online reviews? :)

www.dpreview.com

www.dcresources.com

Yup, went to clubsnap and dppreview to do some research. Function wise, very much there for me. The only complains are the look and they pointed out that the camera has a flimsy CompactFlash compartment door. Don't know how bad is it.

The other camera I am looking at is the Sony DSC-W1. Also good reviews. But hope to get more comments from actual users so can make a better judgement :)

:thanks: for the websites. Coming back soon hor :lol:

thats the da cam my dad is getting... one shop in SLS selling ard 550 :yeah:

hmmm camera got good grip... dad read some gd reviews abt it on the net..

definately better than ixus i suppose

will try to find that review site :peace:

BG, I was using a Canon Ixus cam before it was stolen :angry: No complains. Also looking at the Canon powershot S1 IS. ;) But only 3.2 MP.

Are you going down to Sitex to take a look at the camera range there? Maybe we can compare notes when you are done. But best to wait till the last day of the fair before purchasing anything. Because judging by past shows, you can get the best offers and prices then.

Try this Canon A95 review on dppreview

Yup, went to clubsnap and dppreview to do some research. Function wise, very much there for me. The only complains are the look and they pointed out that the camera has a flimsy CompactFlash compartment door. Don't know how bad is it.

The other camera I am looking at is the Sony DSC-W1. Also good reviews. But hope to get more comments from actual users so can make a better judgement :)

:thanks: for the websites. Coming back soon hor :lol:

:off: can't wait bro.

actually, i recommend u to go www.dcresources.com and take a virtual tour b4 u decide. it is by far one of the best online photography sites i hv come across. but i m very nerd with cameras one hor. :P dun even own a DC. :pinch: am looking at the panasonic FX-7 or the Nikon Coolpix 8800 now. both comes with Vibration Reduction, which is what Canon is lacking in wif the exception of the S1 IS. but still waiting for the final reviews for the 8800 to be out. loads of difference btw the 2 DCs i hv mentioned, in terms of price and functions. <_<

can check for me if the nikon 8800 out in spore oredi? retailing at how much?

Having a look there now :) BTW, saw bwilly on clubsnap :lol: He has switch alliance. :off:

I, too, am a camera goon. But hoping to get a good enough camera to launch my interest in photography. So trying to get one that is within my budget and yet offers a variety of functions. Asking for alot? :lol: How are the prices for Digi cams in japan?

Saw this review of Nikon 8800 on dppreview

can't wait bro.

actually, i recommend u to go www.dcresources.com and take a virtual tour b4 u decide. it is by far one of the best online photography sites i hv come across. but i m very nerd with cameras one.  dun even own a DC.  am looking at the panasonic FX-7 or the Nikon Coolpix 8800 now. but still waiting for the final reviews for the 8800 to be out. loads of difference btw the 2 DCs i hv mentioned, in terms of price and functions.

Having a look there now  :) BTW, saw bwilly on clubsnap  :lol: He has switch alliance.  :off:

I, too, am a camera goon. But hoping to get a good enough camera to launch my interest in photography. So trying to get one that is within my budget and yet offers a variety of functions. Asking for alot?  :lol: How are the prices for Digi cams in japan?

Saw this review of Nikon 8800 on dppreview

hv oredi looked thru it a dozen times, but still, the review is based on a test model and not a production model. prices in japan not much diff from spore. <_<

price of C8800 is S$1788??? :blink: siong ar!!! way over budget liao........ with that kind of prices might as well get the D70. :( but get D70 oso no use, newbie like me cannot put a DSLR into good use. :pinch:

A DSLR is still out of the league for me, budget and technology wise. But it sure look pro when you are holding it. Noticed how the Motorshow models are posing for the people holding cameras with bazooka lens :lol: But if getting a D70, believed Weileong might be able to give some comments on it. ;) Accessories for DSLR are not cheap too.. :o

hv oredi looked thru it a dozen times, but still, the review is based on a test model and not a production model. prices in japan not much diff from spore.

price of C8800 is S$1788???  siong ar!!! way over budget liao........ with that kind of prices might as well get the D70.  but get D70 oso no use, newbie like me cannot put a DSLR into good use. 

the c8800 would be the best P&S nikon non-DSLR camera to offer...but given that the next jump to the DSLR D70 is just abit away....

my personal choice would be the D70....it's quite easy to use a DSLR even if you do not know much about photography. There is always a FULL-AUTO mode on the DSLR also and you get the flexibility of the full range of photographic capabilities of a DSLR when u have gained enough shooting experience and skills.

of coz you may find yourself with the headache or pleasant pain of looking for nice nice lenses to fit the DSLR. but despair not, the D70 kit lens that comes together with the camera does a very good job with everyday shooting. look at weileong's D70 pictures, taken with the kit lens. enough to convince me to dump my sony f828 for DSLR.

enough said, if you feel that you do not want to lug a heavy DSLR around despite what it can offer, go for a P&S camera :)

the c8800 would be the best P&S nikon non-DSLR camera to offer...but given that the next jump to the DSLR D70 is just abit away....

my personal choice would be the D70....it's quite easy to use a DSLR even if you do not know much about photography. There is always a FULL-AUTO mode on the DSLR also and you get the flexibility of the full range of photographic capabilities of a DSLR when u have gained enough shooting experience and skills.

of coz you may find yourself with the headache or pleasant pain of looking for nice nice lenses to fit the DSLR. but despair not, the D70 kit lens that comes together with the camera does a very good job with everyday shooting. look at weileong's D70 pictures, taken with the kit lens. enough to convince me to dump my sony f828 for DSLR.

enough said, if you feel that you do not want to lug a heavy DSLR around despite what it can offer, go for a P&S camera :)

:thanks: wise words from a photography enthuasiast. :bow: