PSLE results today

roidan

Anyone with young relatives who received their results today?

my little cousin received hers today....

Chinese A

English B

Maths B

Science C

Aggregate: 191

she is choosing between normal academic and express.......any opinions or views between the 2 systems?

poor kid...very hardworking gal....she expected the region of 220-230....to date the worst performer of her generation :(

From my experience, if she can cope with express then go for it but entering normal academic in the first year is also not bad if she can't cope. I've a friend who jumped from normal acad to express in sec 2

Just worried that if she can't cope with express, then foundation not good, years down the road will have even bigger problems. In the end still her decision :lol:

i was also thinking the 5 years route would be a little too slow....

but i heard from another cousin that if she does badly after the first year in Express, she will be brought back to the Normal stream....

anyway, how many subjects must she take at Express level or Normal level...i am really out of touch with the syllabus..

i still remember taking 9 subjects at 0-level :sick:

yux yux yux

If I'm not wrong 7

I'm taking pure now and got 8

IMO if she is weak in science, take combined instead of pure.

Combined science easier to score A1

PUI PUI PUI....O levels really a terror hor.....

so many papers ...i had classmates who took chinese 1st lang and end up 10 papers *faint*

wah..decentkid...we similar subject combi except one

1. english

2. chinese 2nd lang

3. pure physics

4. pure chemistry

5. pure biology

6. e maths

7. a maths

8. history

9. physical geography..

I thought social/geog/history is considered as 1 subject under combined humans?

thats why i say maybe syllabus changed? really dunno man...

i hated e. lit, so i took geography and history.

anyway i am rather worried for my cousin...very hardworking gal, doesn't deserve to be in this situation...her parents are very disappointed.

she is from temasek pri. ...was hoping to go temasek sec at the minimum least. but end up temasek sec express is 230 upwards....

so now have to consider the likes of bedok town, bedok view, pingyi, changkat changi.....some choices she herself worried about because of the perceived image of gangsterism in some of the schools

If she join the express stream... she will be less 'accessible' to gangsterism... mostly in the normal stream... sad but true..

not true lei....... prestigious schools with all express and gifted programmes oso hv ah bengs and ah lians one hor. :ph34r:

true..

i know a few *pai kias* in the GEP program.....but probably their list of atrocities are the smoking in uniform kinda stuff....dun think they dabbled into stealing or robbing

but hor..now probably they are your housemen or future family doctors hor ..

the smart pai kias who turned good :lol:

If she join the express stream... she will be less 'accessible' to gangsterism... mostly in the normal stream... sad but true..

i don agree wit dis too...

to me when i was in sec school there are so called 'gangsters' in both normal and express stream. the only difference is dat the express ones don get caught too often.. ;) so it was made to look dat the bad ones are frm normal academic/technnical streams!

IMO bedok view is nt a bad sch to be in... cos i was frm there!! :lol::lol:

i've been thru it before.. as in having a choice.. choosing express... getting demoted and all that..

in her case, she'll get into the lowest agg exp class... which is usually the ones with the 'barely made it to express stream' pupils... in my opinion, not worthy to get her into that class... there is alot of influence.. bad influence

if she gets into the 2nd lowest agg class, then it's kinda safe... normally schools accept 188 min to go to exp right? dunno if it's changed or not..

in the lowest agg express class... every1 is very slacked.. so she'll tend to follow and she'll also be very slacked and her results might not be very worthwhile at the end of 4 years..

for me, i was in the lowest agg class, lacklusture results and i was demoted to academic in sec 4.. and it was good coz i got demoted into the best normal acad class! so every1 there was studying and i also studied la like them..

if i had continued in exp, i think i would have flunked my O's!

BUT..

if she is not easily influenced, and if she is very very motivated, then she can do express... :)

i dun come through singapore schooling system (except uni) but here is my observation and comment < nothing to do right now so kapo a bit :D

going to normal means mixing with peers since 191 borderline, based on the few other kids i know previously. she will not improve much. ask urself, how many normal stream students do better than express stream students? fact of the matter is that competition benefits the student and principals (although i believe they will deny it) will make sure their express gets the best teachers, facilities, support, etc. nothing different from where i came from except we do the same number of years, and the difference is in the difficulty of subjects, ie pure science, a and c maths is for good students, weaker students do combined science, e maths, accounts, economic, history, etc.

with some guidance and tuition, im sure she will be able to cope in express and will do better as compared to being in normal. lets face it... 4 or 5 years to study, do u really think it makes a difference during O exams? NO! it is not the duration, it is the conditioning and environment, which the express students get more.

so go for express!

luckily for me, i got 8 subjects for O levels (actually it is called SPM) as compared to some of u guys with 9 or 10! but my result is a flush :P but not royal flush :(

PUI PUI PUI....O levels really a terror hor.....

so many papers ...i had classmates who took chinese 1st lang and end up 10 papers *faint*

wah..decentkid...we similar subject combi except one

1. english

2. chinese 2nd lang

3. pure physics

4. pure chemistry

5. pure biology

6. e maths

7. a maths

8. history

9. physical geography..

i did 11 subs :blink: ...

why be the worst among the best, when u can be the best among the worst?

dun laugh okay!! its the truth!!

i was from a so call "gangster" school. but now i finish uni with Honours and already working as an engineer.

i think in a good school .. but in the last few classes .. u tense to be low morale.

if u are in the top class in a okay or lousy school .. u feels better and work better .. becos u believe in urself ..

well, it can also work the other way too rockfish :)

i guess it boils down to the individual...

in a good school .. but in the last few classes .. if can change from feeling down to spur yourself on, you may actually reach your potential amidst all the stiff competition amongst other top students in the nation.

if u are in the top class in a okay or lousy school ..one may feel better and keep getting the first place in class or even school...but this peceived superiority may end up in complacency, thinking that, i am the best in the class or even my school already.

and end up after the nationwide O levels, the best in the okay or lousy school may actually fair worse than the worst in the best or better schools...

hmmm....from all these discussion, i guess alot really depends on the individual too.

well, the kids still got up to monday before submitting their decision.