Recommendation on CO2 tank and Solenoid?

RAV-65

intending to add a calcium reactor to my tank, have decided to get a 5L co2 tank, can someone advise wat kind of solenoids to use? there seems to be so many types in the market....

Pls provide me with any kind of advise u might have, really wan to make an educated purchase! Kekeke...

Thanxs! :thanks:

intending to add a calcium reactor to my tank, have decided to get a 5L co2 tank, can someone advise wat kind of solenoids to use? there seems to be so many types in the market....

Pls provide me with any kind of advise u might have, really wan to make an educated purchase! Kekeke...

Thanxs! :thanks:

Check out the freshwater forums.

They have readily available 2nd hand CO2 w/ regulator for sale :lol:

thre are 2 types: steel or aluminium type (more $$$)

IMO, there may not need to be a solenoid unless you plan to use it with a PH monitor controller. ;) Or as a failsafe device when there is a blackout, to off the CO2.

For regulators go for those with a 2 stage reduction and a needle valve for precision control: Denneral or Dupla $$$$$

armalph1.jpg

Petmart, Nature and a few others do provide a complete set for sale.

Suggest you look here for 2nd hand units: Aquaticquotient

Bioplast looks like a good regulator ..esp if a more precise bubble count is required.

The taiwan made ones are pretty ok.. only issue will be the consistency of bubble count esp when you want it register on the lower count.

Wah me very confuse liao... so many types... One question, if I intend to get a good and reliable within a reasonable price range,( no budget constraints, juz dun wan something not good enough or something too ex... ) wat should I got for?? Would be good if I can monitor the pH with maybe an attachment of the pH monitor from American Marine... :)

I think the American Marine prob is fixed to the CR, so it concerns on the CR itself.

Good brands all listed as above, just stay away from UP and most singe stage regulators w/o needle valve

The more $$ are Dupla and Dennerale :lol:

IMO: check our bioplast, pasir ris farms or Nature (freshwater shop).

If you go for a complete set might save you quite a bit :pinch:

the pH controller acts more like a safety net to prevent excess CO2 from getting into the system. e.g. power failure, inaccurate tuning of regulator, etc.

Excessive CO2 can lead to A.R.M turning into powder due to the low pH (lower than 6.5), excessive Ca, etc......... eventually may lead to tank crashing.

for the most accurate of measurements, the probe is recommended to be attached to the CR. but many CR dun come with this function. i am using korallin and it does not hv a lobang for me to plug in the pH probe. so the next best thing is to get myself a small container, put the pH probe into it and let the effluent of the CR flows into it b4 overflowing out into the sump.

this way, u measure the pH of the effluent and is rather accurate 2. :)

Excessive CO2 can lead to A.R.M turning into powder due to the low pH (lower than 6.5), excessive Ca, etc......... eventually may lead to tank crashing.

Erm.. how to excessive CO2 when yr regulator already set to eg 2b/sec? :huh:

The only time I see is when the CO2 canister is finishing that the pressure is too low for the regulator to control and there will be a CO2 dump into the CR <_<

Or when there is a blackout and yr CO2 is still pumping CO2 into the CR.. may have a air lock when power comes back

Anyway, here's a pic i found of the bioplast w/ solenoid

image02.jpe

The only time I see is when the CO2 canister is finishing that the pressure is too low for the regulator to control and there will be a CO2 dump into the CR <_<

Or when there is a blackout and yr CO2 is still pumping CO2 into the CR.. may have a air lock when power comes back

:huh: no one knows for sure how many b/s one will set, all these depends on individual aquarium requirements.

i did not mentioned that there will be excessive CO2 when the needle valve is set to 2b/sec did i? :erm: what if someone was to set to 3b/sec? wld'nt that lead to excessive CO2 without a solenoid to cut off the influx of CO2? (assuming the tank is small and lightly stock. as i hv put it previously, improper tuning.)

:peace: juz me 2 cents.

the pH controller acts more like a safety net to prevent excess CO2 from getting into the system. e.g. power failure, inaccurate tuning of regulator, etc.

for the most accurate of measurements, the probe is recommended to be attached to the CR. but many CR dun come with this function. i am using korallin and it does not hv a lobang for me to plug in the pH probe. so the next best thing is to get myself a small container, put the pH probe into it and let the effluent of the CR flows into it b4 overflowing out into the sump.

this way, u measure the pH of the effluent and is rather accurate 2. :)

Lightningstrike,

The korallin does have a upgrade unit with a ph probe attachment. ;) think you jus need to purchase the cover with the new stuff built in... :peace:

The main purpose of utilising ph probe's on CR's is to faciliate easier tuning.

Jus simply set the intended pH value and leaving the controller to deactivate the solenoid once the ph of the reactor chamber is reached.

As long as the pH is set, all you have to do is to administer the effluent drip rate to maintain reef's calcium needs.

Lightningstrike,

The korallin does have a upgrade unit with a ph probe attachment. ;) think you jus need to purchase the cover with the new stuff built in... :peace:

The main purpose of utilising ph probe's on CR's is to faciliate easier tuning.

Jus simply set the intended pH value and leaving the controller to deactivate the solenoid once the ph of the reactor chamber is reached.

As long as the pH is set, all you have to do is to administer the effluent drip rate to maintain reef's calcium needs.

hi joe, where is this upgrade unit available locally?? do u know the cost?? i believe as u said, is juz the cover with an additional pH probe attachment. any URL where i can read up on this?? :yeah:

Check out the korallin webpage.

I remember seeing the new upgrades there. :peace:

u may wan visit 114, bukit merah view, #01-584,

horizon aquarium, owner name is rocky, tel 62709655. You can call him 1st to find out the price n detail. He is selling quite cheap compare to market price.

CO2 system for planted tank

Volume: 3.5L

Regulator: Manual or Soleniod (Vista Brand)

Check Valve

Bubble Counter

Diffuser

Whole package of this amounted to:

Manual regulator package: $135.00

Soleniod regulator package: $190.00

Hmm... is the Bioplast good enough? Or should I get this Swagelok thingy instead?

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=25124

BTW, how much is the bioplast?

This Swagelok thingy is only a needle valve. U'll still need a regulator and a solenoid if you want a automatic control of CO2.

Unless you know what you'll need, I suggest to get a complete set first. a few years down the road then get the specialised parts ;)

This Swagelok thingy is only a needle valve. U'll still need a regulator and a solenoid if you want a automatic control of CO2.

Unless you know what you'll need, I suggest to get a complete set first. a few years down the road then get the specialised parts ;)

Thanxs bro, me totally new with this co2 thingy, guess got to research more!! Anyway, is the Swagelok thingy really that good?

IMHO, i juz find a dual gauge regulator with a good needle valve is a must. other than that, the solenoid is juz a good to 2 hv. it can be quite fustrating tuning the bubble count if u dun hv a good needle valve.

:) juz me 2 cents.

IMHO, i juz find a dual gauge regulator with a good needle valve is a must. other than that, the solenoid is juz a good to 2 hv. it can be quite fustrating tuning the bubble count if u dun hv a good needle valve.

:) juz me 2 cents.

Bro, so u tink it's a good buy? need ur advise here... :):thanks:

u may wan visit 114, bukit merah view, #01-584,

horizon aquarium, owner name is rocky, tel 62709655. You can call him 1st to find out the price n detail. He is selling quite cheap compare to market price.

CO2 system for planted tank

Volume: 3.5L

Regulator: Manual or Soleniod (Vista Brand)

Check Valve

Bubble Counter

Diffuser

Whole package of this amounted to:

Manual regulator package: $135.00

Soleniod regulator package: $190.00

is this package good price ? was given to me buy a LFS but from a planted tank

or have to get other stuff to add on ??

Bro, so u tink it's a good buy? need ur advise here... :):thanks:

what is a good buy??? :blink: the swagelok thingy??? errmm....... i hv no experience with it, so no comment. :P but like what the others hv said, maybe u wld like to consider going for a complete set first rather than use specialised parts. ;)

Hmmm... thought of getting a good set of solenoid instead of upgrading in the future, end up wasing more $$$... :(

Bro... sometimes the output of the CR jam and that will cause the pH in the CR chamber to crash and end up the ARM will turn into powder.

Or sometimes pple use low quality stuffs and the CO2 bubbles unsteady then sometimes too much CO2 gets injected also.

At the end of the day better use high quality stuffs, sometimes money cannot save one :P