Tank's water parameters:

All tested by tetra test kits,

Ammonia : 0

Nitrite : 0

Nitrate : 50mg/l <_<

PO4: not tested yet, will update

PH: 8.1

Sigh.. no fish or feeding nitrate still on high side.. using AZ-NO3 now to reduce.. hope can help. Heard some ppl say tetra nitrate test kit need to divide by 4.. can anyone explain further.. thnks..

going real slow now.. in the mean time.. trying to complete my hood when i get my reflectors from aquaz.. den proceed with my 6x24w T5s..

Any comments or help welcomed. :peace:

nice :P so what kinda reef is it going to be? sps? softies? mixed? :rolleyes::D

haha.. bro.. ur 2footer is the "God" in this forum leh! :paiseh: ya.. probably mixed.. hope to get nitrate down first.. will try out some SPS frags when time is right.. ;)

:blink: you kidding me :erm:

hey thats a great cam... wana replace my spoilt dc with that :lol: hw the macro needlewheel coming along? any micro bubble problem? ;) heard alot of complains abt the micro bubbles <_<

:blink: you kidding me :erm:

hey thats a great cam... wana replace my spoilt dc with that :lol: hw the macro needlewheel coming along? any micro bubble problem? ;) heard alot of complains abt the micro bubbles <_<

problem with needlewheel? nope, dun find it noisy too.. cos i think the placement of the pump play a important part, it have to be 10mm below the surface, so as to better control the flowrate into the skimmer, as well as the noiser maker 'air intake tube' to be less noisy. It's the 2nd day i run it, skimming already for me.. great skimmer of a great price.. yeah.. the cam.. i'm loving it! :lol: fall for it at the first look.. LCD can change color when shake.. but not recommanded.. scare spoil.. lol..

That remids me of my old 2 footer

Keep it up bro...

Love the rock scape!!! :lol:

See if you can hide the M820 for a more natural look... B)

and if possible squeeze 8 X24W T5s w/ reflectors for SPS :P

But watch the temp... 2ft temp fluctuate faster and a wider range <_<

My suggestions: save the AZ-NO3, let the tank go through the Nitrate cycle the usual way.

If you wana add something, start suign Rowa to get rid of PO4 from the start, will save you quite a bit of trouble in the future when you start feeding

Save the $$ for frags / equipment later on, you've got time on yr side.

Do NOT rush :pinch:

My 2cents :paiseh:

Love the rock scape!!! :lol:

See if you can hide the M820 for a more natural look... B)

and if possible squeeze 8 X24W T5s w/ reflectors for SPS :P

But watch the temp... 2ft temp fluctuate faster and a wider range <_<

My suggestions: save the AZ-NO3, let the tank go through the Nitrate cycle the usual way.

If you wana add something, start suign Rowa to get rid of PO4 from the start, will save you quite a bit of trouble in the future when you start feeding

Save the $$ for frags / equipment later on, you've got time on yr side.

Do NOT rush :pinch:

My 2cents :paiseh:

I started using rowa from my cycling liao.. so.. juz need to get a testkit to noe.. as for nitrate.. i scare it will stay high leh.. den wadever i keep will go up lorry.. as for the seio.. i like it expose.. cos i think it's part of a human made reef.. so dun wan to hide it also.. yeah man.. going real slow now.. no hurry! ;)

As you say, you only restarted 2wks ago.

A nitrogen cycle will take abt 1mth to complete, and thereafter still have to do checks just in case.

Let the NO2/NO3 peak and then drop. After a mth or 2 when you finish adding yr LR / scaping, then start stocking. Only then use yr AZ-NO3. can save quite a bit $$$

IMO only. :paiseh:

As you say, you only restarted 2wks ago.

A nitrogen cycle will take abt 1mth to complete, and thereafter still have to do checks just in case.

Let the NO2/NO3 peak and then drop. After a mth or 2 when you finish adding yr LR / scaping, then start stocking. Only then use yr AZ-NO3. can save quite a bit $$$

IMO only. :paiseh:

appreciated. will keep this thread updated.. :peace:

my diy sump with FR, macro needle wheel skimmer..

hey dude your sump to me seems to have a metal edge securing all round the tank. If its metal confirm going to rust! so best is to change. DONT wait till you have a gorgeous reef then tell us "SHIT! my sump is rusting!" then that time very hard to promise you that there will be no casulties while changing your sump!

Just my 2 cents worth... ;)

aluminium border = aesthetic purposes... cover up silicon

aluminium=dun rust

aluminium v inert as outer layer of AlO3 coats it

Even if there is rust it doesn't call for major concern.

Extra iron supplement in tank? FeO no detrimental effects on reef tank might even be beneficial as it sporadically releases iron supplements to the water(very minimal as FeO rather inert)

however if iron structure supports tank and iron is rusting then integrity of the stand might be compromised..

but in his case, his is aluminium borders.. fairly easy to discern from the picture

oops I meant Al2O3... It galvanises the aluminium and renders the structure un reactive so it will not leech aluminium compounds into the water.

and technically Aluminium dun rust.. Rust is FeO. only metals with Iron content rust. the aluminium alloy is bordered on the outside of the sump tank so it doesn't come into direct contact with the water. even if it does, it doesn't matter as Al2O3 is inert.

Al2O3 is a protective layer that protects the aluminium metal. It forms when the metal comes into contact with air as Aluminium metal is v reactive.

Al2O3 gives the metal a Matte finish. pure Aluminium metal has a metallic glossy finishing like chromium or silver u buy from jewellers.

oops I meant Al2O3... It galvanises the aluminium and renders the structure un reactive so it will not leech aluminium compounds into the water.

and technically Aluminium dun rust.. Rust is FeO. only metals with Iron content rust. the aluminium alloy is bordered on the outside of the sump tank so it doesn't come into direct contact with the water. even if it does, it doesn't matter as Al2O3 is inert.

Al2O3 is a protective layer that protects the aluminium metal. It forms when the metal comes into contact with air as Aluminium metal is v reactive.

Al2O3 gives the metal a Matte finish. pure Aluminium metal has a metallic glossy finishing like chromium or silver u buy from jewellers.

chem paper nt over yet meh :blink::P

astroboi.... dispars in 2ft? :erm: