CABINET COLLAPSING pls help

wa_lanz

Atl*ntis is well known for their crap services... they only know how to blow smoke in ur face and charge exorbitant prices.

I know of some frens who got a system by them too and seriously the system they help you set up is all rubbish. My fren's fishes dropped like flies over a few months... they cover up for everything by giving aesthetic value but everything else is a death trap... you pay so much but get next to nothing :angry:

sad to say i also kena suckered by that idiot from Atl****s. complete waste of money. now i am scrapping the useless tank he provided and making a brand new one with sump and everything. many thanks to the numerous bros in SRC who helped otherwise i will have a fish-graveyard in my house. For example, he gave me a bunch of "starter fish" to put inside as soon as tank set up. At that time I knew nothing about cycling the tank. He said "fish sure die at the start, must put more see which survive". Guess what, out of 18 fish, 4 survived. FOUR!!! for the first week i was scooping out dead fish EVERYDAY. Made me darn angry :angry:

After several months of biding my time and talking to a lot of people and reading reading reading about marine fish, I now know I have a piece of crap in my house and have to re-do the system basically from ground-up. Don't go by IMM much nowadays but if I see him again I will give him a piece of my mind :angry:

Be teachable always, nobody has a monopoly on wisdom. But learn to distinguish "fact" from "opinion".

• Replies 67

So... its those fellows ... <_<

the first thing i walk into their shop, " Hi wat are u looking for? set up ur fish tank already.. ? wat do u keep .. install ur MH already? .. got chiller or not? need cabinet..?

looking ard the shop ... nothing .. but cheap angels and damsels ..

look at the "coral tub"... only leather and zoos.. ugly ones somemore.

finally saw a golden angel... " oh!! we are the only one in s'pore to have this fish ... its only $55 ... best price for u .. (Bullshit)

one fellow ask again..." so wat coral u keep .. " i replied: " LPS only.."

he quickly turn to ask his friend .. (whisper) Wat is LPS?

then he say again:" Oh! since u have corals then u must install a chiller. its a must!"

i replied: " dun need .. i have a small small fan... enuff for my 4ft."

he trys again:" then wat light u use? why not use MH..??

i replied:" i use PL lights, MH will boils my water"

he added: "then u Must use chiller lor"!

i replied:" then u would have met ur objective rite..?"

And i just walk out while he continues to bullshit....

(IMO, PL is as good if u have a shallow tank. my is only 1.5ft high. Fan is as good if the location of the tank is not hot. my is outside the house in a well shaded corner with lots of ventilation. Temperature in the noon without fan is bout 29. with fan 27)

those fellow just wanna grip some quick bucks. and they know nuts bout reefing...

strangely, they dun feel embrassed when they are bullshitting and ppls just shot they down ... (maybe brains aren't quick enuff to realised that ppls are "swaning" them.)

well since we got bros here that suffer under their torment, we should warn ppls bout them .. and help those in despair... :angel:

the first thing i walk into their shop, " Hi wat are u looking for? set up ur fish tank already.. ? wat do u keep .. install ur MH already? .. got chiller or not? need cabinet..?

finally saw a golden angel... " oh!! we are the only one in s'pore to have this fish ... its only $55 ... best price for u .. (Bullshit)

then he say again:" Oh! since u have corals then u must install a chiller. its a must!"

(IMO, PL is as good if u have a shallow tank. my is only 1.5ft high. Fan is as good if the location of the tank is not hot. my is outside the house in a well shaded corner with lots of ventilation. Temperature in the noon without fan is bout 29. with fan 27)

those fellow just wanna grip some quick bucks. and they know nuts bout reefing...

strangely, they dun feel embrassed when they are bullshitting and ppls just shot they down ... (maybe brains aren't quick enuff to realised that ppls are "swaning" them.)

well since we got bros here that suffer under their torment, we should warn ppls bout them .. and help those in despair... :angel:

Bro Rockfish,

That is exactly the same questiones they asked whenever anyone walks in. ;)

bro you using fan for your lps at 27 to 29 d c, can tell me what lps you keep ?

my flower pot, hammer didint last very long at this temp, i also using fan. only star polyps, leather can tahan but also look like not very happy . any secret to share?

Just some information on plywood. Not all plywood are lousy, some are very

expensive and are even use to build interior of ships. So when you are buying a

cabinet, it will be best that you ask what type of plywood they will give you. As for

cabinet stand, it will be best that it is make of chenggai or kapoh. Plywood is just

to wrap around the stand to make it into a cabinet.

took some pics already but no cable to transfer.. maybe tom..

had a talk with my dad.. he also have plans to tear down the tank and redo.

also thinking of a bigger tank.. maybe around 6x2x2.

prob is that he wants a drawing of how to run the piping and stuff..

any kind bro here is able to spare some time to help me design a good tank setup as i don wanna end up with another crappy tank again?

and if can, anybody can offer to babysit my corals for the duration that i need to setup and cycle my tank.

any help or suggestions would be very very much appreciated. :bow::bow:

i can offer my tank for coral-sitting...but self delivery and self collect...no guarantee also...hahahah...

as for pipings and stuffs...it better tat u take a look at our reefer's setup...maybe u can pop by some of the reefers who has a 6ft tank..so that it will be easier to imitate...

if u are free u can pop by our sponsors and they will be most willing to help...trust that our sponsors are responsible enough to go thru the whole setting up with u...

for recommendations, u can PM me...

hi bro... sad to hear that yr cabinet is collapsing... and that seem to be pretty fast .. only 2 weeks ago when i saw yr tank... well.. my suggestion for yr case is to tear down the cabinet... you could still use back yr tank... just do some add on and have ample space for chiller and sump tank... but problem is you have yr tv cabinet which will hinder yr way if you intend to do a 6 x 2 x 2.. and if my memory didn't fail me.. yr tv console is pretty near yr fish tank cabinet... unless you have the intention of changing yr tank location.... well if you need any help you can call me any time.... unless u lost my nos.. :D:D

I got bored reading this thread about half way so i am not sure if anyone has actually suggested this. But get a professional tank specialist to have a look at the situation ASAP. Trust me..... mopping up a few hundred litres of water is not fun! Also If you have not applied for permit for the large tank, it could cause problems if you flood your downstairs neighbour or cause any structural damage from your collapse.

There are a few specialists in Singapore that should be able to help you. Ask around. They might be able to reinforce your existing set up or suggest some other way.

On what Kenji80 has mentioned, he is right, there is in the industry "marine ply" which is used in marine construction. It is strong but very expensive, i seriously doubt if yours is made from that stuff. I won't be suprised if it wasn't even solid ply, but hollow ply (cheapest of the cheap).

I know it's too late for some, but for others wishing to purchase or custom make, make sure you all do your homework. Make sure you have ALL the specifications in your order form or quotation.

Regards to all.

I walked in one day into the shop (last year while I was running my 3ftr) & overheard the salesgirl told a customer:

Customer: Then, how U change water?

SG : No need one.....just top up evoparted water...

I approach them & explain the significance of changing water...then the girl blur.

Even my wife whose not into aquarium hobby told them otherwise.

But seriously lah brudder...foget about Ur equipment & concentrate on re-infocing, at least, what left of `the thing that may damn you to hell forever'

sorry still cant get the data transfer cable. tomorrow carpenter will come see wat can be done.just now keep hearing the cabinet EEK eek eek.. like collapsing anytime soon... :sick::sick:

but i have more or less decided to go for a new setup liaoz as then i can have proper space for equipments. final decision lies with my dad though.... main thing hindering him is the amount of work to be done.... gotta tear down the whole thing and reconstruct and the big mess... costs still no idea as still haven get any quotation yet...

assuming that plan proceeds... I also dunno how and where to start.

dunno where to put my corals(Quite a no. of them).. fishes can sell off no prob...

haiz... all these wouldnt have happened if i had done my homework in the first place.... :pinch::pinch::(:(:erm::erm::cry::cry:

Suggest you either reduce immediately the load on your tank AND put up support beams to prevent a catastrophic collapse. It is certainly no joke to wait for something like this to happen!