SRC Member tansh Posted November 3, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted November 3, 2004 Hi,would like to know whats the lifespan for biohome? Any kind reefer who use above mention pls advice,thks. Quote My decomm 4ft FOWLR Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AhLoon Posted November 3, 2004 Share Posted November 3, 2004 hmm? I thought biohome is just a biological filter media? Is there an expiry date tagged to it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
optimus prime Posted November 3, 2004 Share Posted November 3, 2004 refering to it clogged. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tansh Posted November 3, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 3, 2004 refering to it clogged. Sorry bro dont get u,what refer to it clogged Quote My decomm 4ft FOWLR Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
optimus prime Posted November 4, 2004 Share Posted November 4, 2004 hehehe i was trying to analyse your question. lifespan meaning how long should you change them? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tansh Posted November 4, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 4, 2004 hehehe i was trying to analyse your question. lifespan meaning how long should you change them? Ok,now understand liew I know normal CR need to chg once a yr but how about biohome? Quote My decomm 4ft FOWLR Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nim75sg Posted November 4, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted November 4, 2004 Never changed mine for 2 years liao and still as good ie BioHome didn't disintegrate nor do I add any additional pellets. Are the pellets still working after all these years? Yes, definitely as the Ammonia & Nitrite are at zero levels reading and this are the BioHome Red (with nutrients) type. Quote People Will Forget What You Said. People Will Forget What You Did. But People Will Never Forget, How You Make Them Feel. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
optimus prime Posted November 4, 2004 Share Posted November 4, 2004 bro nim75, you said it all. biohome one of the best i used. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted November 4, 2004 Share Posted November 4, 2004 My nitrates measure zero without dsb and my skimmer only on for half a day. Not sure if it is due to biohome? Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
silver_tang Posted November 4, 2004 Share Posted November 4, 2004 Bros. I aslo wan to add biohome to my tank leh. Wat brand of biohome u all using ah? Where is a good place to buy? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted November 4, 2004 Share Posted November 4, 2004 Bros. I aslo wan to add biohome to my tank leh. Wat brand of biohome u all using ah? Where is a good place to buy? i thought bio-home itself is a brand?? petmart always seem to hv them. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
optimus prime Posted November 4, 2004 Share Posted November 4, 2004 Bros. I aslo wan to add biohome to my tank leh. Wat brand of biohome u all using ah? Where is a good place to buy? hahaha biohome is the brand lah bro Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tansh Posted November 4, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 4, 2004 One more Q to ask,I hv been using biohome for my previous 3ft setup for 6mth but took out for cleaning and soak them in fresh tap water and intend to use it for my 2nd new tank setup for cycling,will this affect the biohome? Quote My decomm 4ft FOWLR Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
silver_tang Posted November 4, 2004 Share Posted November 4, 2004 hahaha biohome is the brand lah bro ok..thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tansh Posted November 4, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 4, 2004 Bros. I aslo wan to add biohome to my tank leh. Wat brand of biohome u all using ah? Where is a good place to buy? Bro,u can get it from petmart but very$$$,i got mine for $100 for 2 pkt.U can do a search at the website for more info. Quote My decomm 4ft FOWLR Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
optimus prime Posted November 4, 2004 Share Posted November 4, 2004 One more Q to ask,I hv been using biohome for my previous 3ft setup for 6mth but took out for cleaning and soak them in fresh tap water and intend to use it for my 2nd new tank setup for cycling,will this affect the biohome? soak in fresh water BB die liow. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tansh Posted November 4, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 4, 2004 soak in fresh water BB die liow. Thats the reason why i want to soak them in fresh water so that I can restart the cycle in my new tank.Btw my 3ft tank setup sold 1mth ago liew so no choice hv to let them die. Quote My decomm 4ft FOWLR Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dleecool Posted November 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted November 8, 2004 Hi Bros, May I know wat is the amount per packet of Biohome? I got mine at 300g per packet box, (yellow packaging) is it the correct Biohome? I looks like scale rods inside, rite? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted November 8, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted November 8, 2004 WHy soak in freshwater and kill the bacteria?! U should let the bacteria remain so that your new tank is seeded with the beneficial bacteria... it'll drastically reduce the cycling time... Biohome is just like LiveRocks, just a porous material for bacterial colonisation.. no expiry date one... just dun clog the pores.. or it might become less efficient Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tansh Posted November 9, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 9, 2004 WHy soak in freshwater and kill the bacteria?! U should let the bacteria remain so that your new tank is seeded with the beneficial bacteria... it'll drastically reduce the cycling time...Biohome is just like LiveRocks, just a porous material for bacterial colonisation.. no expiry date one... just dun clog the pores.. or it might become less efficient Thks for the advice,due to my new tank delay no choice hv to kill them.Untill now my new tank almost sit at my home for 1mth liew due to lots of changer like changing to custom made cabinate and piping. Quote My decomm 4ft FOWLR Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tansh Posted November 9, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 9, 2004 Hi Bros, May I know wat is the amount per packet of Biohome? I got mine at 300g per packet box, (yellow packaging) is it the correct Biohome? I looks like scale rods inside, rite? Not sure best if u can post a pic than i can advice u Quote My decomm 4ft FOWLR Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted November 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted November 9, 2004 It looks like longush cylindrical pellets... COmes in Grey and REd colour.. The red colour one has added nutrients and vitamins or something to promote bacterial colonisation... It should say BioHome on the box Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tigger Posted November 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted November 9, 2004 I have been using Bio homme too. But I find this product useless. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dleecool Posted November 9, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted November 9, 2004 Not sure best if u can post a pic than i can advice u Hi, I threw away the box liao. But the box is yellow in color with I think a picture of clownfish! Stated Biohome in front!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted November 10, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted November 10, 2004 why u say useless? How do u ascertain the effectiveness anyway? I've heard many good things abt Biohome and have quite good experience with it myself.. rather potent I feel. A small bag can support enough bacteria to support the bioload of many fishes... Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...