Keeping Anemones Together

damsels

Hi bros,

Have a few questions about anemones.

1) Can they survive with T5 lighting? or is MH a must?

2) Will different anemones sting each other till death?

3) If yes, what about a few of the same anemones? Will they still sting each other?

Thanks! :)

will sting each other...

BTAs have weak or no nematocysts.. Think putting a few BTAs close together might not be a problem... but dun take my word for it... I'm not 100% sure

Why'd u wanna keep a few anemones together anyway? just get one big one lah

t5s can sustain these creatures but make sure your tank isn't too tall.. if the tank is rather tall, let ur anemone attach itself on higher ground.

I assume you're talking about BTA?

I guess the one of the problems with BTA is that when they grow so big that it obstructs the extension of neighboring tube worms/corals... denying them from their food. Not to mention that they move around a lot till some place they like...

I'd tried keeping a carpet anemone once... this guy is damn sticky. As it grew it came in contact with my xenias that they all dropped off over one month... Now botak liao.

I dun think MH is required for keeping anemones, though my personal preference will still be T5s... Anyway, they'll move into caves if the lighting is too strong or climb up/change colour when lighting is insufficient.

My previous BTAs like to stay together (even when I purposely separate them by hand), so i don't think they'll sting each other.

Have you seen Sealife's anemone tank (the 2ft one I think). IMO i think they did a great job in maintaining so many anemones in a single tank. The puzzling part is that the anemone seems to be rooted at the same spot most of the time. Cool!

i think as long as the anemones are not as agressive as carpet anemone, i think generally they are okay.

i have many bubble tip and other anemones in my 4 ft, and i only use PL lights, they are doing very well. they are afraid of strong lights. so t5 is good enuff.

carpet anemones will eat ur small fishes. so beware... but clown fish are okay ..