change new lighting

LIM CHYE HUAT

i have a 4 x 2(height) x 1.5 tank and i am thinking of swicthing from my 4 nos pl and 2 nos t8 lighting to only 2 nos 150w 14000k mh. 'if i use 2 no 14000k mh, do i need actinics, if yes how many nos. and what brand where to get ? how far from the water surface should i suspend my mh ?

can i run mh with fans only., i got a really powerful one ?

is blv 10000k bulb better or phoenix 14000k bulb ?

for start how many hours to leave the mh on, from what time to what time ?

any one ? :unsure:

no need actinic liao lah.. the bluish effect of the 14,000Kelvin will be enough... but if u want to view the tank under actinic alone also, then can put.. like me... I'd prefer the 14,000K as it is bluish.. unlike 10,000 a bit yellowish. personal preference... maybe u should go to some reefer's house to see the difference of the bulb's light

you can hang the MH as low as u want but you must makke sure the water doesn't spray on it too much.. I suspend mine abt 8 inches above the water surface..

If u run 300W of Mh with fans only be prepared to top up like crazy everyday..

and u better have a friggin huge fan...

I recommend 1 x 10K for PAR (growth) and 1 x 14K (for visual) for a good balance. You will not require any more actinics.

I switch my 10K 250W MH on the right 8hrs (1pm-9pm) for SPS and 10K 250W MH on the left 5hrs(6pm -11pm) for LPS, this allow me only 3hrs overlap and help me cut down the chiller run time alot.

Oh ya, becos I using 2 x 10K ,I supplement my 3ft tank with 12hrs (12pm-12am), 3 x 39W T5 blue tubes for visual.

Try to position ur MH at least 8" from the water surface not only to prevent water splash but also to reduce heat transfer to the water. This is my lesson learn, I have a 5" hood, now looking for a 8-10" hood to cut down on power consumption.

2 cents worth

Eric

I recommend 1 x 10K for PAR (growth) and 1 x 14K (for visual) for a good balance. You will not require any more actinics.

I switch my 10K 250W MH on the right 8hrs (1pm-9pm) for SPS and 10K 250W MH  on the left 5hrs(6pm -11pm) for LPS, this allow me only 3hrs overlap and help me cut down the chiller run time alot.

Oh ya, becos I using 2 x 10K ,I supplement my 3ft tank with 12hrs (12pm-12am), 3 x 39W T5 blue tubes for visual.

Try to position ur MH at least 8" from the water surface not only to prevent water splash but also to reduce heat transfer to the water. This is my lesson learn, I have a 5" hood, now looking for a 8-10" hood to cut down on power consumption.

2 cents worth

Eric

i suggest otherwise...his tank is 4ft long..it is probable that he will position the MH one on each side (left and right) this way, it will look blue on one side and white on the other...

i second to ryz...save on electrical bills and t5...

if u are thinkin of getting 10kk bulbs (which are cheaper), then get aquaz t5 actinic pro..54W per tube for a 4ft tank...

go straight for 14kk and solve all your problems...but your corals may not enjoy it...

another issue, wat are u going to keep? SPS or LPS or softies??150W might not be enough for SPS...

and try not to put light-demanding corals (clams) on your sandbed if u are using 150W, your tank is too tall...

try to position your lights as close as possible to the water surface, but not too close to get salt spray...

i used to have 2X150W for my 3ft tank..2 X profantic fans worked well for me..of cos, i had to work hard on water top ups as well...

i suggest otherwise...his tank is 4ft long..it is probable that he will position the MH one on each side (left and right) this way, it will look blue on one side and white on the other...

if u are thinkin of getting 10kk bulbs (which are cheaper), then get aquaz t5 actinic pro..54W per tube for a 4ft tank...

go straight for 14kk and solve all your problems...but your corals may not enjoy it...

another issue, wat are u going to keep? SPS or LPS or softies??150W might not be enough for SPS...

and try not to put light-demanding corals (clams) on your sandbed if u are using 150W, your tank is too tall...

try to position your lights as close as possible to the water surface, but not too close to get salt spray...

i used to have 2X150W for my 3ft tank..2 X profantic fans worked well for me..of cos, i had to work hard on water top ups as well...

Typrobin is right, didnt notice you are using a 4ft tank. Go straight for 14K on each side, if possible go for 2 x 250W so in future you no need to upgrade if you intend to keep sps or light demanding corals.

Get a good reflector (spider) to help you cover every surface area in your tank.

Eric

i already bought 2 x blv 10k 150w mh . is 12 to 15 inch from water surface ok. i keep star polyps, leather, mushroom and other softies. if i dont care about the visual can i make do with 2 x 10k mh only ? will growth be affected?

i compare the blv 10k and the phoenix 14k , the 10k bulb is much brighter to my eye so i go for it.

and where to get 2 x 54 w t5 set.how much for the t5 ?

after switch how many hours to on the mh ?

many thanks!!!

i already bought 2 x blv 10k 150w mh . is 12 to 15 inch from water surface ok. i keep star polyps, leather, mushroom and other softies. if i dont care about the visual can i make do with 2 x 10k mh only ? will growth be affected?

i compare the blv 10k and the phoenix 14k , the 10k bulb is much brighter to my eye so i go for it.

and where to get 2 x 54 w t5 set.how much for the t5 ?

after switch how many hours to on the mh ?

many thanks!!!

MH stays at 8hrs and actinic 10hrs - 12hrs.

If its just for visual, you can get the dymax 4ft T5. Cheap and good enough.

Eric