Resun Chiller

Melvyn Tan

if noise isnt an issue that i think you guys can try to get resun. :D

Heard my friend resun...sound like old aircon compressor...

For me..i think i am getting other quieter chiller once my cabinet is ready...as i am someone who cannot tahan NOISE... :pirate:

and i want STABILITY..RELIABILITY..

so some $$ spend is also worth IMHO...

** heard from a friend of mine who has been using TECO for 5 years yet no problem**

i think its better to spend...$$$ in long run

teco is over rated... from experience. good for planted. for marine, over spec it by 4-5 times, min! but dun pay that kind of money lah...

if u wan quiet and cheap, get daeil (not sure about reliability cos not many reefers have used it for long) and use the savings to get better skimmer like beckett.

if u get resun (i rate it as cheap and good), u get more savings... dual beckett!

hi,

i'm using a resun cl450 for my 3 feet tank, and its the new version. i feel the noise is quite bearable, as i have mine out in the open in the living room and it doesn't bother my family at all. Most of the stock out there are the new batch ones so prob just ask to confirm will do. and i think servicing wise although there is no warrenty for this product, there are shops out there which offer servicing. its quite a good buy considering its price.

I've old batch of resun CL450 running 24hrs a day for almost 2 year leow.so far no servicing yet but working perfect. i think resun is a budgeted chiller with reasonable working performance.. :evil:

Sometime buying electricial product also depend on luck, nobody can garantee the branded product wouldn't breakdown that why manufacturer warranty come in incase of such problem... ;)

For me, i think Resun still reliable and also budgeted..

I'll still choose Resun if i'm going to upgrade my tank in future... :lol:

IMHO,

Getting a cheaper chiller is one thing, aside from the noise level, a more efficient chiller is important to me.

Regardless of chiller brand, if the chiller kick in/out too often, the running cost will be high. You might be saving on capital cost, but paying lots of electricity bill running it. Do look out for the power comsumption for the chiller of your choice.

just my opinion...

CHEERS!

Rocks

Have used the Resun CL650 for my 1m juwel tank for slightly more than a week. Not too sure is the new or old batch, but it got the magnetic hold-on front filter panel. The shop said they took from 2 different suppliers. With warranty one, $60 more. So, I took the cheaper option.

Can hear some noise when it kicks in. Exact sound like switching the Aircon fan to the max. Other sound will be the same as the fridge's relay and compressor kicks in. U would really have to listen hard to notice it during the day. All sound still low than the water flow sound.

My room temp is between 32 to 33 (with light all in). Now set at 27 degree, using a Ehiem 1200l/h pump, flow very slightly reduced to achieve and maintain exactly 27.5 in tank. Chiller kicks in when it measure 29 itself, but in tank temp hardly raise higher than 0.1. Off time 20min, On time 3min.

Observed,

Flow increase, tank cold down time faster, chiller ON time longer

Flow reduce, tank cold down time longer, chiller ON time shorter

Scare it spoil faster, initial bringing down from 33, I in fact do it at about 2 degree step per hour. Set it at 31, then 30 and gradually to 27. So the chiller dun work for a long long time to try and bring straight from 33 to 27. I only let it on for about 3 to 5min during the run in. Hope this would preserve the compressor further.

Rating. Cheap n Good.

Here's the chiller parking next to my tank.

post-17-1101135072.jpg

Items left...

Ehliem Wet & Dry 2223

Prizm protein skimmer

Coralife UV

Resun 650 chiller

Giving up hobby, due to family commitment.