SRC Member Melvyn Tan Posted October 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2004 Hi, In the midst of getting a chiller, either getting an expensive one like daeil or artica or a more cost effective one like resun. Would appreciate comments - good and bad about this particular brand. Most likely getting CL 650 if going for resun. Cheers Quote My Beautiful ANGEL - Matsushima Nanako Equipment List for 4x2x2 Tank & 3x1.5x1.5 Sump Hagen 802 x 2, Tunze 6060, Arcadia T5 (54W x 8), Eheim 1260 (return) Eheim 1250 (Chiller), Aquabee 300 x 2 (Feed) H&S 150-F2001 (850l Skimmer), H&S A110-F2000 (400l Skimmer), H&S 110-F1000 (1000l Sulphur/Nitrate Filter), H&S 150-F2000IA (800l Calcium Reactor) Coralife 3X (UV Steriliser), I-Aquatic IF 312 (Fluidised Reactor), Kent Kalk Delivery, Resun CL650, Pinpoint ORP & PH Meters & Wireless Thermometer 4x2x2 Tank Thread Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted October 24, 2004 Share Posted October 24, 2004 not to say that the daeil or artica is good as i hv not use it b4. but IMHO, try to get a chiller with at least 1 to 2 years of local warranty support, e.g. artica, daeil, pac coo, etc. quote myself as an example, atman chiller kaput on me barely 4 mths into using it. cannot find anyone to blame, resulting in the purchase of another chiller and losses of many corals, not to mention the time and effort. demand for specifications of chiller if available, juz to make sure they r not bullshiting u on the cooling capacity, compressor rating, etc. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Melvyn Tan Posted October 24, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2004 Anymore contributions? Quote My Beautiful ANGEL - Matsushima Nanako Equipment List for 4x2x2 Tank & 3x1.5x1.5 Sump Hagen 802 x 2, Tunze 6060, Arcadia T5 (54W x 8), Eheim 1260 (return) Eheim 1250 (Chiller), Aquabee 300 x 2 (Feed) H&S 150-F2001 (850l Skimmer), H&S A110-F2000 (400l Skimmer), H&S 110-F1000 (1000l Sulphur/Nitrate Filter), H&S 150-F2000IA (800l Calcium Reactor) Coralife 3X (UV Steriliser), I-Aquatic IF 312 (Fluidised Reactor), Kent Kalk Delivery, Resun CL650, Pinpoint ORP & PH Meters & Wireless Thermometer 4x2x2 Tank Thread Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Bob Posted October 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2004 Had been using it for 2 years for 300 litre tank @ 26 deg without any problem. Only upset point is the noise & thermometer.It seem that is too sensitive after a while which causes to cut in & out often. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
amteo Posted October 24, 2004 Share Posted October 24, 2004 Hi, In the midst of getting a chiller, either getting an expensive one like daeil or artica or a more cost effective one like resun. Would appreciate comments - good and bad about this particular brand. Most likely getting CL 650 if going for resun. Cheers Was down at Boon Keng to see the Daeil chiller. I must say it is runs very quietly and there is a one year warranty for it. Finishing is not as good as a Teco, but slightly better than Resun. Might be a best compromise - cheap and good! However, have to add a couple of qualifiers: (1) I am not a long time user of any of these chillers and (2) there are many other brands that I have not look at yet. The thing that really caught my eye was the number of traded-in chillers behind his shop. Almost all of them were the 'cheap' branded one. That says something about it. Cheers Quote Waste no more time arguing what a good man should be, be one. Marcus Aurelius Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Ekia Posted October 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2004 Was down at Boon Keng to see the Daeil chiller. I must say it is runs very quietly and there is a one year warranty for it. Finishing is not as good as a Teco, but slightly better than Resun. Might be a best compromise - cheap and good! However, have to add a couple of qualifiers: (1) I am not a long time user of any of these chillers and (2) there are many other brands that I have not look at yet. The thing that really caught my eye was the number of traded-in chillers behind his shop. Almost all of them were the 'cheap' branded one. That says something about it. Cheers Daeil actually same as Artica... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member triggerfish Posted October 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2004 been using the resun 650 for about a year and other than the noise, performance wise is ok. switched to RR as i need something of less noise and more efficient. to conclude i think the resun is a budget chiller lah! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zorden Posted October 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2004 me looking into Daeil or Artica as i need something not so hot and noisy yet efficient to handle my tank Quote I am just an average FR (fish reefing) writer. If you like my FRs, please upz my points. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Eric Posted October 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2004 Hi, In the midst of getting a chiller, either getting an expensive one like daeil or artica or a more cost effective one like resun. Would appreciate comments - good and bad about this particular brand. Most likely getting CL 650 if going for resun. Cheers I using the atman cirv400 $500 with mod fox controller $150 for 8mths now, so far so good. Can cool down 400L to 26.5C with 500W MH, 100W T5 and 235W pumps and 36W PH in 1.5hrs. If MH use on interval timing, can cool down within 50mins. Running is quiet, thinking of buying another 1 for backup and also farther help in reducing the runtime since its quite cheap. Eric Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted October 24, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2004 IMHO, when comparing china brands to those from other countries like US/Europe... you have got to take the rating with a pinch of salt... 1/2hp Resun = 1/3hp Artica/daeil in terms of performance I believe.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted October 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2004 ever considered pacific coo??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member untouchables Posted October 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2004 the new batch of resun, runs quietly... but after a few months, the fan will sound a bit and the cut off will be quite loud. mine is open (ie not in cabinet) so i can hear the sound slightly. however, in terms of performance, really cheap for its performance capability. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted October 25, 2004 Share Posted October 25, 2004 OK lah....my old resun runs like a jet taking off since day 1... I used to pay near 600 for it when there were very limited chillers in the market then. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kareen Posted October 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2004 I use resun cl450.... there is some motor running noise when it is chilling the tank. I think the noise is bearable when I am sitting in living room(my tank is in balcony) I go for resun 'cos it is <$500 while other brand mostly cost >$1000. As for reliability, I don't know 'cos mine is still relatively new (less than a yr) but I did regular maintence (ie keep the airway clear of dust) for a better efficency. Quote Greeting Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique) Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Marineman Posted October 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2004 Bottom line, cheap and quite reliable, performance is satisfactory, only set back is NOISE, if you can bear with it then go and buy one if not then pay more fore other brands, hope this will help you decide. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Melvyn Tan Posted October 25, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2004 Gee really thank everyone for your contributions ! appreciate it very much... Never thought of P Coo cos its quite big and expensive? Daeil is not really that cheap (but good) 1/4 hp about S$1200. Understand that resun can do its job...but its the noise that will affect my FC i think... But the thing about resun is that for S$380 CL650 can buy 3 given the price of daeil. So 1 year change 1 can last you 3 years ? Plus if resun have continuous improvements in its chillers...then the 2nd one (in year 2) might be very much better and can last longer... How long does a chiller last (like daeil, 4 yrs 5 yrs? or lesser?) any daeil users care to contribute? Thanks Quote My Beautiful ANGEL - Matsushima Nanako Equipment List for 4x2x2 Tank & 3x1.5x1.5 Sump Hagen 802 x 2, Tunze 6060, Arcadia T5 (54W x 8), Eheim 1260 (return) Eheim 1250 (Chiller), Aquabee 300 x 2 (Feed) H&S 150-F2001 (850l Skimmer), H&S A110-F2000 (400l Skimmer), H&S 110-F1000 (1000l Sulphur/Nitrate Filter), H&S 150-F2000IA (800l Calcium Reactor) Coralife 3X (UV Steriliser), I-Aquatic IF 312 (Fluidised Reactor), Kent Kalk Delivery, Resun CL650, Pinpoint ORP & PH Meters & Wireless Thermometer 4x2x2 Tank Thread Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Tigger Posted October 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2004 mai tu liao. get resun. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sunny03 Posted October 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2004 i also wan but the noise cant bear with it any quieter chiller or not ?? Quote Selling big game fishing equipment. Stella 20k / 17k .. made in Japan jigging blue rose / kabuzu popping rod... pm for prices Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ryz Posted October 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2004 MAny of my frens using resun have good reviews abt it... The new batch is rather silent and durable... quite reliable brand from what I hear. Quote Live and Let Live Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member DragonGoby Posted October 25, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2004 I'm using the new batch of resun cl650, quite satisfied with it. Noise wasn't too bad, and if I'm not wrong some places that sell it have a local warranty too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Melvyn Tan Posted October 26, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 26, 2004 Mai tu liao ! still confused Quote My Beautiful ANGEL - Matsushima Nanako Equipment List for 4x2x2 Tank & 3x1.5x1.5 Sump Hagen 802 x 2, Tunze 6060, Arcadia T5 (54W x 8), Eheim 1260 (return) Eheim 1250 (Chiller), Aquabee 300 x 2 (Feed) H&S 150-F2001 (850l Skimmer), H&S A110-F2000 (400l Skimmer), H&S 110-F1000 (1000l Sulphur/Nitrate Filter), H&S 150-F2000IA (800l Calcium Reactor) Coralife 3X (UV Steriliser), I-Aquatic IF 312 (Fluidised Reactor), Kent Kalk Delivery, Resun CL650, Pinpoint ORP & PH Meters & Wireless Thermometer 4x2x2 Tank Thread Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Rocky99 Posted October 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 31, 2004 how to know it's new batch or old batch? i'm interested in one oso.... cos of price Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member sirius Posted October 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 31, 2004 Hi dragon gobby, where did you got your new btch of resun? and at how much? thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Clownfish Posted October 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 31, 2004 almost all in the market now shld be the new batch wat... hav used my cl650 for 6 mths liao... veri effective for my 3X1.5 + 2X1.5.... onli setback is a rattling sound when the compressor kicks in.... dun noe which part is lose..... wonder anyone also experienced that? Quote My Personal Blog My Wedding Website Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zorden Posted October 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 31, 2004 if noise isnt an issue that i think you guys can try to get resun. Heard my friend resun...sound like old aircon compressor... For me..i think i am getting other quieter chiller once my cabinet is ready...as i am someone who cannot tahan NOISE... and i want STABILITY..RELIABILITY.. so some $$ spend is also worth IMHO... ** heard from a friend of mine who has been using TECO for 5 years yet no problem** i think its better to spend...$$$ in long run Quote I am just an average FR (fish reefing) writer. If you like my FRs, please upz my points. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...