Resun Chiller

Melvyn Tan

In the midst of getting a chiller, either getting an expensive one like daeil or artica or a more cost effective one like resun.

Would appreciate comments - good and bad about this particular brand. Most likely getting CL 650 if going for resun.

not to say that the daeil or artica is good as i hv not use it b4. but IMHO, try to get a chiller with at least 1 to 2 years of local warranty support, e.g. artica, daeil, pac coo, etc. quote myself as an example, atman chiller kaput on me barely 4 mths into using it. cannot find anyone to blame, resulting in the purchase of another chiller and losses of many corals, not to mention the time and effort.

demand for specifications of chiller if available, juz to make sure they r not bullshiting u on the cooling capacity, compressor rating, etc.

Anymore contributions?

In the midst of getting a chiller, either getting an expensive one like daeil or artica or a more cost effective one like resun.

Would appreciate comments - good and bad about this particular brand.  Most likely getting CL 650 if going for resun.

Was down at Boon Keng to see the Daeil chiller. I must say it is runs very quietly and there is a one year warranty for it. Finishing is not as good as a Teco, but slightly better than Resun. Might be a best compromise - cheap and good! However, have to add a couple of qualifiers: (1) I am not a long time user of any of these chillers and (2) there are many other brands that I have not look at yet.

The thing that really caught my eye was the number of traded-in chillers behind his shop. Almost all of them were the 'cheap' branded one. That says something about it.

Waste no more time arguing what a good man should be, be one.

Marcus Aurelius

Was down at Boon Keng to see the Daeil chiller. I must say it is runs very quietly and there is a one year warranty for it. Finishing is not as good as a Teco, but slightly better than Resun. Might be a best compromise - cheap and good! However, have to add a couple of qualifiers: (1) I am not a long time user of any of these chillers and (2) there are many other brands that I have not look at yet.

The thing that really caught my eye was the number of traded-in chillers behind his shop. Almost all of them were the 'cheap' branded one. That says something about it.

Daeil actually same as Artica...

Would appreciate comments - good and bad about this particular brand. Most likely getting CL 650 if going for resun.

I using the atman cirv400 $500 with mod fox controller $150 for 8mths now, so far so good. Can cool down 400L to 26.5C with 500W MH, 100W T5 and 235W pumps and 36W PH in 1.5hrs. If MH use on interval timing, can cool down within 50mins.

Running is quiet, thinking of buying another 1 for backup and also farther help in reducing the runtime since its quite cheap.

Eric

OK lah....my old resun runs like a jet taking off since day 1... I used to pay near 600 for it when there were very limited chillers in the market then.

I use resun cl450.... there is some motor running noise when it is chilling the tank. I think the noise is bearable when I am sitting in living room(my tank is in balcony) I go for resun 'cos it is <$500 while other brand mostly cost >$1000. As for reliability, I don't know 'cos mine is still relatively new (less than a yr) but I did regular maintence (ie keep the airway clear of dust) for a better efficency.

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

Gee really thank everyone for your contributions ! :bow: appreciate it very much...

Never thought of P Coo cos its quite big and expensive?

Daeil is not really that cheap (but good) 1/4 hp about S$1200.

Understand that resun can do its job...but its the noise that will affect my FC i think...

But the thing about resun is that for S$380 CL650 can buy 3 given the price of daeil. So 1 year change 1 can last you 3 years ? Plus if resun have continuous improvements in its chillers...then the 2nd one (in year 2) might be very much better and can last longer...

How long does a chiller last (like daeil, 4 yrs 5 yrs? or lesser?) any daeil users care to contribute?

Thanks

Mai tu liao ! still confused :pinch:

almost all in the market now shld be the new batch wat... hav used my cl650 for 6 mths liao... veri effective for my 3X1.5 + 2X1.5....

onli setback is a rattling sound when the compressor kicks in.... dun noe which part is lose..... wonder anyone also experienced that?

if noise isnt an issue that i think you guys can try to get resun. :D

Heard my friend resun...sound like old aircon compressor...

For me..i think i am getting other quieter chiller once my cabinet is ready...as i am someone who cannot tahan NOISE... :pirate:

and i want STABILITY..RELIABILITY..

so some $$ spend is also worth IMHO...

** heard from a friend of mine who has been using TECO for 5 years yet no problem**

i think its better to spend...$$$ in long run