water level drops fast

hi guys.

i'm currently jus letting my new tank with its pump work without ls or lr. its basically empty and i jus let the water circulate.

i haf total of 100W of pumps working without chiller

wat shocked me is the rate of drop of water level in sump is very high.

could this be due to evaporation due to the high power consumption and thus high heat production from my water pumps?

pls advice

I loose about 5 gal of water per day :lol:

how fast is ur water drop???

est perday how many lit of water u need to top up??

drop bout 5mm a day in the sump

need to top up...hm....not much but its alot when compared to the same period of time during the circulation period of my 4footer

i can do without top up for 4footer for a week or so

i'm worried because if it isn't due to the heat from the pumps, then there could be a leak

yours using fan har?

nope

5 gall a day is alot man!

ahha

do u haf lots of heat generating or high power equipment?

5 gallon is a lot! its a full pail of water... anyway saw onn your thread that u got a new chiller.. should reduce the evaporation by a lot..

yeah used to drip like siao

Hope the chiller helps

check ard if there's any water leakage. juz afraid it'll affect the metal stand if u're using 1.anyway it doesnt do good for a wood cabinet. or u can stop cycling for a day n see if it still drops?

best to use a chiller thou.

my tank so far dun need to top up. using chiller w/o fans. i'm wondering why <_< . myabe the fishes pee a lot. :sick::pinch:

ya...i haf such splashing

the oveflow water which enters the sump contains air bubbles and the skimmer output also got air bubbles

when the air bubbles rise they burst and splash abit of water lor...the overhanging pipes and surrouding floor is damp

this effect can be tt significant in causing water loss??

alrite...i've done a check and there shold be no leakage because all silicon sealed places are dry and no cracks.

did find some glass panels wet though very likely to be salt spray.

thanks all guys who gaf the reasons for y there is a drop in level.

will repost here if there's a twist in the future and salt spray turns out not to be a suspect.

thanks all "thanx"

alrite...i've done a check and there shold be no leakage because all silicon sealed places are dry and no cracks.

did find some glass panels wet though very likely to be salt spray.

thanks all guys who gaf the reasons for y there is a drop in level.

will repost here if there's a twist in the future and salt spray turns out not to be a suspect.

thanks all "thanx"

i had a nano in my office that also have water level dropping like crazy.....I notice salt stain at the back of the tank but just couldn't find the leak....then i notice the return from the skimmer causing very very small droplet of water to splash out....you can even see the droplet unless you look very hard or place your hand near the water...

turn off the skimmer and the water level does not drop like crazy anymore....anyway, good luck in finding the cause of your water level dropping... :D