My Tank (3x2x2.5)

untouchables

bro. very nice tank you have there. Saw a gobiodon in one of your SPS , potential destroyer of polyps.

thanks for the info. i thought they were sps safe and got one yellow and one black. turned out the black one killed 2 sps liao but lately has been behaving and not killing anymore ever since i started trying to spear it with my home made 3 point spear!

juz got home this afternoon after a 4d/3n hols in malaysia. worst nightmare came true... my tank crashed :cry2:

did a day by day account with my bro in law who was oveseeing my tank. seems like something caused my fishes to die and he could only pick up a few dead ones, not knowing i had big blue tang, purple tangs, etc that died in the rocks. water turned bad slowly and even the acro crabs and lobster died. sps started to rtn...

final count of the dead...

2 x purple tang

1 x achilles tang

2 x six line

1 x sea urchin

1 x lobster

2 x cleaner shrimp

2 x blood shrimp

all acro crabs

survivors are 2 x true percula, 1 yellow goby, 1 anemone

all acros rtn (around 10 colonies of various sizes, 5 small frags), left a few smaller frags. all the nice ones are gone.........

:cry2::cry2::cry2::cry2::cry2:

luckily my brain, hammer, torch and ric floridas made it... oh well, juz changed 50% of water and gonna let it run for 1 month before i start stocking again. meantime, gonna start investigation on what caused the fishes death.

again...things always turn bad when we are not around.

A great pity...hope you'll come back even stronger!!!

If you need any help to temp hold anything for you...just let me know ;)

RAV-65, still undecided on a new scape cos the frags off the colonies are still being given cpr. decided not to do anything drastic at this moment but will reconsider later this week.

DeepBlue, thanks for the offer. luckily a 50% water change seems to do the tank inhabitants some good. give u a call if i need to house my rics, after all, some did come from ur tank originally.

andysho, seems like if keep marine tank, cannot go anywhere liao :( murphy strikes when least expected.

to avoid such problems, i decided on a no fish tank. if there shall be fishes, it will be my current true percula pair, the 2 gobies (darn, was hoping they dont make it!) and selected fish for specific purposes like sand shifter, etc. no more display fishes like tangs, etc. too risky, imho.

any suggestion on a scape? i need to have high rocks cos im on t5 so a sloping scape will mean sps on the very top... that would limit the pieces i can have in my tank.

Sounds bad bro, the last time i had a disaster is when a colourful nudi got stuck in my tunze :sick: , all my fishes breath heavily, even damsels, and they were dying one after another, lost all of them, luckily i was around to pick them out so it doesn't foul the water, my corals were ok, guess you would want to look in that area......liked your atitude, dont give up.... :peace:

bro Jimng, not never give up, juz havent :lol: dunno how many of these i can take but i hope it is my first and last crash! actually my old tank did crash once but that was with some mushies and loads of fishes. not much $ lost in that so im not counting...

i juz rescaped my tank last nite. supposed to take out some lr so that it does not look like a mountain in a tank but ended up putting more rocks cos i wanted more space for sps and they need to be high up due to my tank depth and use of t5. oh well... at least im happy with this new scape and the 2 tunze are not sitting in the front part of the tank anymore. now waiting for tank to cycle and do some water change this week. hopefully can start stocking on sps again but this time, im gonna be real choosy on size and quality due to limited tank space.

my condolences bro....i know you spent a lot of time and effort on your tank....over the weekend my chiller mati....but to lazy to switch to the new chiller, ended up with half my colonies dead...:cry2: so i know how you feel.....

at least for you its not your fault....but mine was because i was lazy....:P

again...things always turn bad when we are not around.

A great pity...hope you'll come back even stronger!!!

esp go reservist coem back sure got problem one ~~~

So did you find out what caused the damage?

oh dear, i going for reservist soon...

:off: DB .. NOW wat am i suppose to do ...??!!!?? MONDAY 5days STAYIN leh ...

Bro untouchables ... glad to see u already on the way BACK! .. all the best ..

Now I need more luck though ...

mydog.gif

nic....Really need help...I'll drop by to take a look and check out the stuffs for you lor..... ;)

Anyway....starting to stock tank again can be exciting.... :lol:

Whoo, I didn't know that your tank crash. Such nice SPS gones :( Sad case, but no doubt you would be able to bring back all those nice nice one.

Do let me know if you need any help, like holding your LS or what ever.

Whoo, I didn't know that your tank crash. Such nice SPS gones :( Sad case, but no doubt you would be able to bring back all those nice nice one.

Do let me know if you need any help, like holding your LS or what ever.

bro minsmarine, thanks for the offer. i got my tank back in order but combating gha right now. apart from that, no issues and the remaining sps are doing ok, including 2 new pieces i got from iwarna the other day.

stocking up on cleaners right now. added 5 snails from reborn, 6 snails from another lfs, 1 algae blenny, 1 dunno wat name blenny from aquamarin, 1 watchman goby and 1 six line. that should do for my ls. no more fishes, only sps and lps left to restock.