SRC Member typrobin Posted October 19, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 19, 2004 hi all, i noticed that whenever cyclopeeze is used, foaming from the skimmer drops dramatically...cyclopeeze is known to be very very nutritious for fishes and some corals as well, but it contains too much oil and will affect skimmer's performance... i've seen such disruptions in H&S, AquaC, Euro reef, beckett, dual beckett skimmers..and it is quite terrible, usually the foaming will drop almost immediately, and takes sometime to be rebuild.. AquaC having the worst turnaround time, and beckett recovers pretty fast... it might take even hours before the foam builds up, my worst encounter was 5hrs (my own RobSKim Mini 120/500)...i like to feed my fishes very often, almost very 4-5hrs...if i continue using cyclopeeze, then my skimmer will not be skimming anything at all... anyone else face the same problem as well? wat's your pick?? pls vote and comment as well...thanks... Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member marcvelous Posted October 19, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 19, 2004 Bro, Thought you went skimmer-less for around 4 months right? If your tank can survive so long without skimmer, then surely a few hours is nothing! Hah hah Since you worried, then don't feed cyclopeeze all the time loh. Even you also don't like to eat same thing all the time leh. Alternate with other food so that your skimmer down-time due to feeding cyclopeeze is lowered. That, plus the time you are sleeping and out of the house, should be at least 19 hours of skimming per day (24 - 5 hours' turn-around for your Rob-Skim). I think 19hours as compared to 0 hours is a fantastic improvement! Hah hah... just me two cents. P/S: How about the thing we PMed? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Ekia Posted October 19, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 19, 2004 Weird... i feed cyclopeeze everyday and I don't encounter this problem at all... skimming consistently everyday Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted October 20, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2004 Weird... i feed cyclopeeze everyday and I don't encounter this problem at all... skimming consistently everyday take a closer look...when u feed, the foaming will drop for a while... Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vinoth Posted October 20, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2004 Feed 1 or 2 times a day. Rest of the time feed pellets, flakes, brine, mysis etc. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted October 20, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2004 Feed 1 or 2 times a day. Rest of the time feed pellets, flakes, brine, mysis etc. bro, u are running a RoBEck Mega...i cannot afford that...its too much for my mother to handle...hahahaha... Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mohamed Posted October 20, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2004 Bro, I think, I'm facing the same problem. I dose DT regularly and noticed the drop of performance in PS. Now using AZ-NO3 to counter the problem. Dun know whether it will work. Contemplating into buying a needlewheel. Currently, using Weipro 2014. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member corrado Posted October 20, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2004 hi Bro, Don't give up durians because of sore throats. Just down plenty of water after your feast. Your rest time + faith should suffice. Strepsil who? Who is killing the party? You or the skimmer? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted October 20, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2004 Bro,I think, I'm facing the same problem. I dose DT regularly and noticed the drop of performance in PS. Now using AZ-NO3 to counter the problem. Dun know whether it will work. Contemplating into buying a needlewheel. Currently, using Weipro 2014. are u saying that u are dosing az no3 to create more foam or to counter your nitrate problem? Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted October 20, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2004 hi Bro, Don't give up durians because of sore throats. Just down plenty of water after your feast. Your rest time + faith should suffice. Strepsil who? Who is killing the party? You or the skimmer? bro, can speak english?? too chim...dun really understand... anyway, i chose not to feed cyclopeeze...my skimmer is not a mighty one..so i rather not risk my corals..i can opt to feed other stuffs like pang cai, nori, formula 1 and formula 2...but i cannot choose to upgrade my skimmer... i dun have nitrate problem so far, but if skimming continues to be affected, then i believe my nitrate will shoot up in no time... Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted October 20, 2004 Share Posted October 20, 2004 Bro,I think, I'm facing the same problem. I dose DT regularly and noticed the drop of performance in PS. Now using AZ-NO3 to counter the problem. Dun know whether it will work. Contemplating into buying a needlewheel. Currently, using Weipro 2014. Bro, if u r really keen to have a better success rate in reefing, you should get at least a needle-wheel skimmer, i tink there's one on sale at the pasar malam by Bro Jefnbl, definitely a very solid skimmer! Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mohamed Posted October 21, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 21, 2004 Bro, if u r really keen to have a better success rate in reefing, you should get at least a needle-wheel skimmer, i tink there's one on sale at the pasar malam by Bro Jefnbl, definitely a very solid skimmer! Tks, Bro. but will that solve the nitrate problem permanently. I am currently doing water changes regulalrly and recently added polyfilters. The nitrate levels seem not to budge. Perhaps a better skimmer will improve the conditions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member typrobin Posted October 21, 2004 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 21, 2004 Tks, Bro. but will that solve the nitrate problem permanently. I am currently doing water changes regulalrly and recently added polyfilters. The nitrate levels seem not to budge. Perhaps a better skimmer will improve the conditions. another alternative is to use a denitrator (very ex)... i do my water change every week (20%)...which is very troublesome...but no choice, i dun have state of the art equips and i feed a lot... nitrate problems have many reasons...one of it which is often overlooked is the water movement in tanks..if there's little water movements, then there will be a lot of detris getting stuck on the sand bed and will worsen the issue... of cos the most important one is still the skimmer...my RObSKim 120/500 is working very hard and working very well as well...thick thick kopi-o, and i have to wash it every 4-5days.. Quote MY OLD 3ft!! My Latest Plan!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
silver_tang Posted October 30, 2004 Share Posted October 30, 2004 Hi bros, where can i buy cyclopeeze ah? Does c328, sealife, ML or reborn carry this? How much ah? I having a FOWLR tank no coral and using a redsea prizm skimmer...will affect my skimming anot....pls advice Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member DragonGoby Posted October 30, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 30, 2004 ML sells frozen, freeze-dried and flake Cyclop-eeze. Not sure bout the rest. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hypervtec Posted October 30, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 30, 2004 Hi bros, where can i buy cyclopeeze ah? Does c328, sealife, ML or reborn carry this? How much ah? I having a FOWLR tank no coral and using a redsea prizm skimmer...will affect my skimming anot....pls advice try EAP, now got 30% store wide sales. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
silver_tang Posted October 30, 2004 Share Posted October 30, 2004 try EAP, now got 30% store wide sales. Where is EAP? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hypervtec Posted October 31, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted October 31, 2004 check under E Aquarists' Place forum. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted November 1, 2004 Share Posted November 1, 2004 ah...Robin. feed it once a day. or every other day. or once a week as a treat. (= Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member searching4dan Posted December 11, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted December 11, 2006 tyr soaking ur cycnopleeze in water 1st.. myb overnite or in the fridge.. most of them will settle down in the bottom of a container.. then target feed wateva u want slowly lor.. tts wat i do la! u can get frozen cycnopleeze too selling @ most LFS.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sherman Posted July 20, 2008 Share Posted July 20, 2008 Quite different experience. When I dose cyclopeeze the foaming is so great that the collection cup is quickly fillup. Now I adjust to dry skimming problem arrest Quote 6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08) 4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09) 5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm) 2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm) 5*2.5*2(LED only) Eheim return 1 * pump 1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil 2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40, 1X6085 Tunze wm, 1 CURVE 7 Skimmer 1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3 Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium 1 Full spectrum E27 led light 1 CR control by bubble count Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016 Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft [/quote] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...