Threatening calls - What to do?

seamonkee

I received several threatening calls from a withheld number this morning... asking me to be careful when on the streets and will kill me that sort of stuff...

Thought initially he got the wrong number but he called again several times but remains silent for those subsequent calls.

I called Starhub (my telco) and asked them if they are able to track withheld numbers but they say it is beyond their control and there's nothing they can do... since withheld numbers do not reflect on the system of the receiver's telco...

I am waiting again tonight to see if he calls again or not and am considering reporting this to the police if he does call again.

Guys, what do you suggest I I do?

I can't recall I have made any enmity with anyone and even asked my wife (since we are recently married) if she knows of any guys who is resentful for her marrying me.... dun have leh...

sigh... :(

Oh dear...did you verify that they have got the right number?

At the same time, ask Starhub if yours is a recycled number?

Anyway, report to police. Big issue esp. you are newly-wedded. all the best to you...bro.

Hope it's just a prank or false alarm. :angel:

wisest choice will be to make a police report, i think the police will be able to track down the number even if it is a withheld number.

Follow.

Police not only able to know what # it's , and able to track where the phone located ( even for Mobile ).

So rest assure, Police will do the job.

Advise, record the conversation if it's possible.

i've also received prank calls recently. Although not as serious as what seamonkee experience, it is becoming very annoying. Call the police but they just say its a civilian case, can make a report if i wan to. Also ask me to call my lawyer and he will advise me on what to do!!! :o

Maybe i should just say i recieved threatening call also :evil:

No Number Appeared or Private Number don't pick up will solve shortterm problem :P

I hope so.... hope he dun have my address and that true enough, it is a mistaken call.

Anyway, I will wait again until tonight to see if he calls again... if so, then confirm I may be the intended target....

has happened to me once. some a-hole father called me to threaten me when his kid's car collided into my car.

what M1 adviced was to record down the times and date that the calls were made. do that for five times. and then submit it as evidence to the police station.

don't ask me why it is five and not some other magic number. but yah. should be applicable to all telcos.

make a police report. if the calls still come in, assess situation to see if you would require police surveillance. in most cases, the police would be able to obtain a court order to have the relevant telcos release the telephone no. and to make investigations.

most important of all, don't take this issue lightly. always ensure you have company when alone at night outside, and that includes your wife.

in fact, starhub is able to track the unlisted number actually (trust me). even if police check for u, they'll oso report this matter to starhub but hving a higher AUTHORITY :pirate: , starhub oso bo bian, but to check for u. prob u can check with starhub if there's any additional charges to get those unlisted numbers (they wun tell u but they'll send a warning letter to this prankster).

True as debug13 said.

General concensus, report to police and take notes of all the calls.

I hope it is only a call, it takes real guts to kill or harm someone. Fortunately not that many of these people around. I suspect someone is jealous of you or something as you only get the calls shortly after you return from your honeymoon.

sometime these starhub CSO dont even know what the hack they r talking.

who say they cant see receive call num so long it's a block num...

The PABX show everything... Deffinity or Nortel PABX or which every PABX show everything, the trunk, extension, group, caller id etcs..

in fact they can even trace which base station this A/H calls fm. :ph34r:

i suggest if u do not wish to make police report 1st, ask starhub for such tracing services. if the CSO shake head, bang table throw chairs n ask for MANAGER! :evil:

once they can confirm the person, it all depends if u wanna sue that A/H, BUT! lawyer fees involved....... :sick::cry:

sometime these starhub CSO dont even know what the hack they r talking.

who say they cant see receive call num so long it's a block num...

The PABX show everything... Deffinity or Nortel PABX or which every PABX show everything, the trunk, extension, group, caller id etcs..

Yeah lor.... I juz check with my friend who is a M1 technician and he says can be done...

Anyway, I have kept a log of the time/date he called... around 3 times today... so will monitor for tonight and tomorrow morning before I report to police.

Juz hope I can trace... because there is also a possibility that this idiot may have used the public phone...

Hope it is juz a prank....

wAh bRo so scarry ar? :blink: jusT report to police lor..if not u talk to him ask wad he wan?he dUn dare answer that means his scared.. :lol:

i too receive one too few daYS BACK THAN say better watfh out outside..haha..but nth le until now...still waiting to see will he touch mi :lol:

Singapore very safe one lah dun worry ! if not safe no invester will want to come ! have experienced worse stuffs whilst domicile in UK for awhile (also in europe) also in the police force in sg b4 so the stuffs in sg is really a piece of cake. If in M'sia then have to be careful...a few hundred bucks can get a hitman....

You should first call up Starhub and ask them to bar the number from calling you. Even though it's a withheld number, they will have their means to find out who the caller is. The telephone operator is just being lazy and refuse to help. Maybe you can call again and hope that another operator picks up your call.