LSF in KL, HK and AU

Hey Guys,

Esp those of u from ard these regions. :D

Any Marine aquaria shops Thats good in KL HK and AU?

Wanna share their experiences and their address if possible?

Gonna take a break to see if i can find any 'GEMS' aboard... Here all the nice stuff u all buy liao... HAHA! :lol:

I can't comment on KL and AU. But the Goldfish St in Mongkok HK is a BL**DY Marine Paradise man. From Livestock to Equiment(Highend/Lowend) you name it they have it. More than 20 over marine related lfs over there. I nearly got the Etss downdraft skimmer which is not avalible over here the last i went there but gave up due eventually to the bulky size. Angels and Tangs over 6 inches or more are common sight over there. I rem entering one shop which has a 20 foot display tank. My eyes nearly pop out sia. Never seen such a big tank in my entire life.

SOunds nice.... will consider dropping there when i go Hk during christmas season.

How abt KL ? ;)

Hi Bro,

Buying corals from abroad.. you probably need to check with AVA...

I bought one green luminious 5 head frogspawn and a green luminious brain (cheaper, paid only S$50 for both) from KL and they ended in....

Sentosa Underwater world :cry:

Was told that I need a permit to bring in hard corals.... sigh... these two nice ones were confiscated and sent to sentosa.

With respect to AVA regulation, one can only bring in (as for individual used)

Fishes (non-endagered) - 30 fishes in not more that 3 litres of packing water

Marine Invert and softies - 5 kg total weight

Hard/CITES corals - 5 pieces, CITES permit required

still missing the two corals... sob sob :cry:

My 2 cents, no need to thank me though - just bring in ric for me when you go to florida :eyebrow:

Hi Bro,

Buying corals from abroad.. you probably need to check with AVA...

I bought one green luminious 5 head frogspawn and a green luminious brain (cheaper, paid only S$50 for both) from KL and they ended in....

Sentosa Underwater world :cry:

Was told that I need a permit to bring in hard corals.... sigh... these two nice ones were confiscated and sent to sentosa.

still missing the two corals... sob sob :cry:

My 2 cents, no need to thank me though - just bring in ric for me when you go to florida :eyebrow:

Great Info man!!! :thanks:

HAHA! IF i ever be there... I'll bring back all 5kg worth of rics (No rocks).

HAHAHA!!!! :lol::evil::evil:

BTW dandelion.

Where u buy yur corals from ah?

I hear some place in KL sell their LS on the streets in buckets ah? :nc:

BTW dandelion.

Where u buy yur corals from ah?

I hear some place in KL sell their LS on the streets in buckets ah? :nc:

I got mine at my hometown, a town 25 km from KL downtown (I was born in KL).

This sites has some info on LFS in KL http://www.myfish.info/ (website currently down :( )

some do sell fresh water fishes on the street in buckets :pinch: , but I have never come across with any marine LS on sales on the street. :angel:

As for LFS in Malaysia (comment based on the two LFS that I have visited), SPS is generally absence. LPS (I find them cheaper) and softies (not quite cheap, quoted RM50 for a green button rock :shock: ) are abound. One of the LFS I visited have very matured DSB in working.. can see bubbles all around the DSB. No MH though.. Natural sunlight (FREE :yeah:) directed straight from a translucent ceiling (wooden house here bro).

Not many high end equipment (mostly china made.. no eheim, salifert, AquaC, Beckett etc. spotted). I think sometime back a SRC member from KL posted a review on a PS he/she found in the MOST Extablished LFS in KL -- Macro PS :ph34r:

I see i see.... Thanks!!!! :D

Dunno can smuggle in the LPS or not... HAHAHA!!!!! :evil:

Maybe can find some wierd stuff like a red elegence or something... HAHAHA! :lol:

Hmmmmm :ph34r:

I see i see.... Thanks!!!! :D

Dunno can smuggle in the LPS or not... HAHAHA!!!!!  :evil:

Maybe can find some wierd stuff like a red elegence or something... HAHAHA!  :lol:

Hmmmmm  :ph34r:

Can try... in fact last time the immigration officer asked me what kind of corals that I was trying to bring in while he was on the phone with AVA personnel..

Stupid me I told him it's lps HARD coral :pinch: ... should have ommited the "HARD" description and who knows I might be lucky... well I paid the price for not doing proper research... :(

But if that officer happend to be a reefer then not a single chance at all... :fear:

If he also reefer then damn SWAY liao lor... ahaha!!!!

Some clarification as I live in KL, we do have eheims but not the high end type like beckett, aqua c, euro reef etc, dry goods also limited in choice as people over here are not willing to spend and those who are willing to spend cannot get quality stuff, so we have to come down to spore to buy.

Only recently we have cyclopeeze and goldern pearls and T5 is only beginning to get hot but again not many LFS carries them, the problem being they dare not bring in new and expensive items as they are afraid that they cannot sell.

Only in Pasar Malam they sell fishes in containers, i.e freshwater fishes when loa han was popular but don't see them selling these days.

Singapore customs are very very strict since Sept 11, every single time I come to spore with my family, they will stop and inspect my booth and have a peep into my car, they are an experienced ot by asking the right questions and observing your reaction, don't pray pray!

I also visit your LFS and coral farms in Spore and can give you a good comparision, the best LFS in KL is Batu karang located in Subang Jaya, a lot of LFS buys from them. The shop is similar to in size to Pacific Marine (farm) in Pasir Ris and have slightly more corals, the amount of corals are similar to Irwana, but then again, the good and nice ones are also taken by the LFS on the day of arrival, so ther is nothing much to buy unless you go there on saturday mornings.

The prices for mushrooms varies from RM30-60, bubbles Rm60-120 depending on colour and size, red yumas only sold here recently by a particular LFS (Fishboy in Taman Midah) cost about RM150 per piece, only a few pieces each time, red scolymia cost about RM80-100, zoos cost about RM40 each rock. SPS are very limited, usually green or brown and occassional purple, definitely not the colours you see in scarab or danano's tanks. Each SPS cost RM100-150 each.

Fishes ar normally from Indonesia, only on rare occasions we get to buy red sea fishes although purple and yellow tangs are easily available, no barletts or sunburst anthias, no grammas, royal or black cap, quuen angel are rare and cost RM500 each, so there are a lot lot more variety of fishes in Spore than KL.

So bottom line, generally the only corals that are equally nice like those in Spore are elegance, bubbles, hammer, frogspawn, limited colours for zoos. For the rest of the other corals, you have better choice in Spore. As you can see the prices are not really cheaper and the variety is a lot less, so if you are curious, pay a visit to 88 Aquairum and batu karang and Fishboy. If you are in KL and want to visit, you can PM me and if I am available I can take you around.

How about Bangkok,

I got chance to visit Bangkok every month so here is what I have seem.

No appearance of Needle Wheel Skimmer ( They asked me what the hack is that ).

Eden PH 228 cost here 100+ S$.

Small clown fish is 3$S

What is T5, T4. Here all are MH :) Not nice casing forget about it, all industry version. 20K Bulbs what the heck is that, Thai use Blue bulb for bluish :)

LRs are sold by peice ( not by weight )

LSs are locally catched. And expensive compare to SG.

Sump, don't need sump, IOS will work ( geez no wonder all FOWLR ).

SPS ? Hmm becareful , if police catch your tank having SPS can bring you to court :( So no1 selling, no1 buying. Otherthan small circle.

Most of the equipments here are China made.

They are behind the time compare to Malaysia and Singapore. However they are catching up. 5' tank with solid wood cabinet cost only 400S$ ( May be we should get our tank here :P )

So now I feel being in SG is lot better to have reef tank

Some clarification as I live in KL, we do have eheims but not the high end type like beckett, aqua c, euro reef etc, dry goods also limited in choice as people over here are not willing to spend and those who are willing to spend cannot get quality stuff, so we have to come down to spore to buy.

Only recently we have cyclopeeze and goldern pearls and T5 is only beginning to get hot but again not many LFS carries them, the problem being they dare not bring in new and expensive items as they are afraid that they cannot sell.

Only in Pasar Malam they sell fishes in containers, i.e freshwater fishes when loa han was popular but don't see them selling these days.

Singapore customs are very very strict since Sept 11, every single time I come to spore with my family, they will stop and inspect my booth and have a peep into my car, they are an experienced ot by asking the right questions and observing your reaction, don't pray pray!

I also visit your LFS and coral farms in Spore and can give you a good comparision, the best LFS in KL is Batu karang located in Subang Jaya, a lot of LFS buys from them. The shop is similar to in size to Pacific Marine (farm) in Pasir Ris and have slightly more corals, the amount of corals are similar to Irwana, but then again, the good and nice ones are also taken by the LFS on the day of arrival, so ther is nothing much to buy unless you go there on saturday mornings.

The prices for mushrooms varies from RM30-60, bubbles Rm60-120 depending on colour and size, red yumas only sold here recently by a particular LFS (Fishboy in Taman Midah) cost about RM150 per piece, only a few pieces each time, red scolymia cost about RM80-100, zoos cost about RM40 each rock. SPS are very limited, usually green or brown and occassional purple, definitely not the colours you see in scarab or danano's tanks. Each SPS cost RM100-150 each.

Fishes ar normally from Indonesia, only on rare occasions we get to buy red sea fishes although purple and yellow tangs are easily available, no barletts or sunburst anthias, no grammas, royal or black cap, quuen angel are rare and cost RM500 each, so there are a lot lot more variety of fishes in Spore than KL.

So bottom line, generally the only corals that are equally nice like those in Spore are elegance, bubbles, hammer, frogspawn, limited colours for zoos. For the rest of the other corals, you have better choice in Spore. As you can see the prices are not really cheaper and the variety is a lot less, so if you are curious, pay a visit to 88 Aquairum and batu karang and Fishboy. If you are in KL and want to visit, you can PM me and if I am available I can take you around.

That's a valuable piece of information. Bro perhaps I can join you LFShing at KL whenever I got back to my hometown :lol:

But yet again.. if found nice piece of lps or sps also cannot buy.. :( ... lfshing will only make me feel bad then... :cry2:

Hey! Thanks for the details minsmarine and marineman! :D

In fact i drop by KL over the weekend,

' sorry marine man.. only read yur post after i came back... WOuld have called u when i was there!!! <_< '

I went to this Marine LSF in KL central. (the address and shop name i forgot but i'll post it later when i get home)

Nice LPS very few SPS though. And i must add most of the equipment and additives cost more then that in Sg, According to the Shop owner, they got their stock from a Sg supplier, great of him to even tell me that its prob cheaper to get them in SG :P

On LPS, saw few nice specimen of moons and open brains. Great color intensity and in very good condition. Too bad i cant carry it out leh... the uncle says can pass the customs without CITIES... HAiz.... And even saw a luminous pink YUMA!!!! man!!!!

Prices are quite good too, abt RM 50 bucks for the moons and brains. Next time i go i contact u guys.. haha then can go ard... see see but cant buy. <_<

Hey! Thanks for the details minsmarine and marineman! :D

In fact i drop by KL over the weekend,

' sorry marine man.. only read yur post after i came back... WOuld have called u when i was there!!! <_< '

I went to this Marine LSF in KL central. (the address and shop name i forgot but i'll post it later when i get home)

Nice LPS very few SPS though. And i must add most of the equipment and additives cost more then that in Sg, According to the Shop owner, they got their stock from a Sg supplier, great of him to even tell me that its prob cheaper to get them in SG :P

On LPS, saw few nice specimen of moons and open brains. Great color intensity and in very good condition. Too bad i cant carry it out leh... the uncle says can pass the customs without CITIES... HAiz.... And even saw a luminous pink YUMA!!!! man!!!!

Prices are quite good too, abt RM 50 bucks for the moons and brains. Next time i go i contact u guys.. haha then can go ard... see see but cant buy. <_<

i thought its ok to bring softies pass custom

Not sure leh, the shop uncle doesnt advice me to do that. :erm:

Infor I posted on page 1:

So bro do post the LFS add later. Next time I go back to KL will go there and buy ric - yuma & florida :yeah: ... will bargain and tell the owner that it's cheaper in Singapore :P .. or else sooner or later the price in KL will also sky rocket :ph34r:

How about Bangkok,

I got chance to visit Bangkok every month so here is what I have seem.

No appearance of Needle Wheel Skimmer ( They asked me what the hack is that ).

Eden PH 228 cost here 100+ S$.

Small clown fish is 3$S

What is T5, T4. Here all are MH :) Not nice casing forget about it, all industry version. 20K Bulbs what the heck is that, Thai use Blue bulb for bluish :)

LRs are sold by peice ( not by weight )

LSs are locally catched. And expensive compare to SG.

Sump, don't need sump, IOS will work ( geez no wonder all FOWLR ).

SPS ? Hmm becareful , if police catch your tank having SPS can bring you to court :( So no1 selling, no1 buying. Otherthan small circle.

Most of the equipments here are China made.

They are behind the time compare to Malaysia and Singapore. However they are catching up. 5' tank with solid wood cabinet cost only 400S$ ( May be we should get our tank here :P )

So now I feel being in SG is lot better to have reef tank

Bro, which part of Bangkok you visit for Marine fish?

Heard Chatuchat Weekend Market is good.

Me going there this Nov. Can reccomend?

Infor I posted on page 1:

So bro do post the LFS add later. Next time I go back to KL will go there and buy ric - yuma & florida :yeah: ... will bargain and tell the owner that it's cheaper in Singapore :P .. or else sooner or later the price in KL will also sky rocket :ph34r:

GOT IT! The address!

Btw i did tell him abt teh 5kg sofies leh... even told him that i am taking a flight back later that evening. he said wont survive wor...

Anyway...

East Aqua studio

192, Jalan Mahkota, Taman Maluri, Cheras 5510 Kuala Lumpur.

Tel: 03-92837571

Email: eaqua@pd.jaring.my

P/s: Remember to tell me hor... maybe can tompang u some mushies and rics... :lol::lol:

Me not sure abt BKK leh... Lets wait for some others lao chiao to reply. ;)