finding a good skimmer

ok here it is, I have been hunting around for a good skimmer for my 5ft setup (approx 172gal) with 3ft sump.

I wanted to take it slowly but my tank contractor tells me he needs to tailor the sump to fit in my skimmer, so I better give him the dimension soon.

I initially wanted a euroreef ES-8 but Parad***Reef say they got no stock, the next delivery will be in Jan/Feb next year.

Then I thought of using H&S 150-F2001 though I got mix reviews.

Now my tank contractor tells me he can get Aquamedic TurboFlotor 1000 multi for about $680.

sigh...i hate it when i am being rushed.

anyone knows where i can get euroreef?still my preference..

yah u r right.... from my knowledge.. only P....R is selling... if u really want euro-reef.. try getting it from overseas website lor.. might be more expensive overall.. otherwise u can usew turboflotor.. its not bad

Invest in Riodan's Quattro, you won't regret :evil: :evil:

That's the problem with our marine industry here in singapore. The market and demand is too small. Which LFS here actually got the capital and ability to actually keep and order stock huge amount of high end skimmer like H&S, Euroreef or better still deltec. But cannot blame them cause the demand is seriously quite low as compare to those to budget skimmer like weipro and macro. If you to do a poll of budget vs high end skimmer in this forum. I am sure the ratio will be auite unproportional. I am sure no one who just step into this hobby will want to pay $700 or more for a bloody stupid slastic cylinder which blow bubble.

Well if money is not a problem go for the twin beckett that is sitting at bio ocean. Though i am not too sure if it's resevered by anyone. If you are really so keen about Euroreef and wants to order from U.S i would rather you order the the ASM skimmer, There are a clone of the euroreef but only half the price. Just too bad the LFS here don't carry it.

So sorry forgot to tell you, forget about the aquamedic Turboflotor 1000, i have see it in action before, nothing fantastic for a skimmer at that price. I would rather top up a bit more and get the AquaC EV 180 or the 240.

That's the problem with our marine industry here in singapore. The market and demand is too small. Which LFS here actually got the capital and ability to actually keep and order stock huge amount of high end skimmer like H&S, Euroreef or better still deltec. But cannot blame them cause the demand is seriously quite low as compare to those to budget skimmer like weipro and macro. If you to do a poll of budget vs high end skimmer in this forum. I am sure the ratio will be auite unproportional. I am sure no one who just step into this hobby will want to pay $700 or more for a bloody stupid slastic cylinder which blow bubble.

Well if money is not a problem go for the twin beckett that is sitting at bio ocean. Though i am not too sure if it's resevered by anyone. If you are really so keen about Euroreef and wants to order from U.S i would rather you order the the ASM skimmer, There are a clone of the euroreef but only half the price. Just too bad the LFS here don't carry it.

here is the link to ASM skimmers...

http://www.globeaqua.com/asm.html

H&S are the original design,

people in europe just got tired of waiting for the germans to

ship them over so they cloned it and called it Euroreef.

locally, the only shop i know sells Euro is ###### R***,

and ah sam sells the H&S, plus

i know some reefers parallel import from HK.

IMHO, they're the same, i run 2 H$S skimmers so

i can see their effectiveness while keeping costs low. ;)

turboflotor is effective, i've seen the skimmate,

its good!!! but not sure if its worth the $$$,

some people are selling their H&S F-2001,

you might wanna consider ;)

IME, i hv seen both multiflotor SL and EuroReef ES-6 worked b4 and am owning an H&S myself. all i can say is all 3 skimmers r rather effective considering the low running cost. both H&S and euroreef r rather popular in RC; not to mention the becketts (Barr, MRC, Aerofoamer, etc.)

get a skimmer which u can afford, what u wanna keep plays an impt part. running cost of skimmer is another influencing factor.

thanks for the info guys..

I tried the ASM link but they dun ship to singapore. Click around but got a "Sorry destination not valid".

Indeed, it seems my choice is pretty limited due to a lack of stocks. H&S seems to be the first choice due to stock availablity.

Perhaps I will swing over to Bio Ocean to take a look at the twin beckett(if its still there).

Any one knows who carry Deltec APF600? how much?

Gaga, you are right, the marine industry here is small. All the more we have to look after each other.

And yes, apart from cost, I must know the wattage of the pumps. I pay for the bills... sigh... gone were the days where my dad pays all the bills huh.

So sorry forgot to tell you, forget about the aquamedic Turboflotor 1000, i have see it in action before, nothing fantastic for a skimmer at that price. I would rather top up a bit more and get the AquaC EV 180 or the 240.

are u talking about turboflotor 1000 or turboflotor multi sl? they are very different... i'm using the multi sl version.. quite impressive.. abt 1 inch of black skimmate every 3 days... but of course cannot be compared to beckett lah..

The only place that i have ever seen a deltec skimmer in action is coral farm. You can enquire about the price if they are selling. But be warn that those skimmer's price are super outrageous. Can nearly buy two H&S skimmer for the same tank rating.

Btw did you try other website to see if they also sell asm and ship to singapore?

Darkstar,

go get a beckett. You have a pretty large reef and the beckett is sized nicely for you. The Euros are a great deal, but the company is pretty inefficient takes a loooong tme to ship. If given a choice, i will pick these two. not saying the HS is lousy, but the needlewheel is expensive. Paradise gives a one to one exchange with any faulty needles, plus a few dollars to cover the airfreight. Good support from them.

Other than the higher electricity, the beckett has limited wear tear and moving/ breakable parts.

Hope this helps

And yes, apart from cost, I must know the wattage of the pumps. I pay for the bills... sigh... gone were the days where my dad pays all the bills huh.

Needlewheel pumps normally consume around 30+w.. and beckett needs 100+w to run.. just an info to u

thanks for the info guys..

I tried the ASM link but they dun ship to singapore. Click around but got a "Sorry destination not valid".

Indeed, it seems my choice is pretty limited due to a lack of stocks. H&S seems to be the first choice due to stock availablity.

Perhaps I will swing over to Bio Ocean to take a look at the twin beckett(if its still there).

Any one knows who carry Deltec APF600? how much?

Gaga, you are right, the marine industry here is small. All the more we have to look after each other.

hey darkstar, I saw G3 (ASM) at Ocean Planet, u can check it out.