Garlic Additives

Archilles19

We always see in this forum that garlic additves is recommended for any LS that have ich, whitespot, etc.

It always set me thinking......can we make our own garlic additive.

If the manufacturer claims that it was derived from natural garlic essence then why not be buy some garlic, use a blender or other means of mashing it up then later squeeze the juice out by using a piece of cloth. Woulnd't it be the same...of course set a side the fact that the bottled ones comes with Vitamin C also.

It its the same then why can't we do it. Some of us even make our own fish food even though none want to share the so called secret ingredients.....

SO WHAT SAY YOU REEFERS....... :yeah:

i used to blend garlic juice myself using raw market garlic. 100% pure garlic juice. but at the end of the day, it was juz 2 much work in addition to the already busy regular husbandry maintenance....... in the end, i chose to buy a bottle of seachem garlic guard.

I have been feeding fresh garlic for a few months too.

Like what bro lightningstrike said it is too much trouble and some of the fish doesnt like the garlic taste.

Seachem Garlic guard has flavour enhancer which makes the garlic more tasty.

:lol: funny......on the packaging it stated that extraxt from pur garlic & we can't do it.....maybe just a few drop of the juice lah, not the minched up garlic pulp.

Maybe try a few drop in the food......& maybe use fresh foos supplement or frozen ones..but just a few drops....must try lah

:lol: funny......on the packaging it stated that extraxt from pur garlic & we can't do it.....maybe just a few drop of the juice lah, not the minched up garlic pulp.

Maybe try a few drop in the food......& maybe use fresh foos supplement or frozen ones..but just a few drops....must try lah

if u dun mind the hassle, by all means go try.

it's totally feasible... I've done it... I have a fruit juice maker left in the store room... I use that to make garlic juice... it's rather difficult to obtain the juice if u dun have a juice maker... maybe u blend then filter the mush out... too laborious I'd say... but rather cheap... if u have a fruit juice maker then quite easy.... err I have abt 1/2 bottle full off garlic juice I made 2 months ago... Never use already... abt 350ml of it? Anybody wants?

It its the same then why can't we do it. Some of us even make our own fish food even though none want to share the so called secret ingredients.....

Correction...I make the food periodically and I has shared the recipe a number of times in the forum. B)

So it should be at least some of us share the recipe of the food we make... :rolleyes::)

Correction...I make the food periodically and I has shared the recipe a number of times in the forum. B)

So it should be at least some of us share the recipe of the food we make... :rolleyes::)

:whistle I say...... not mean to offend anybody lah...just making a statement. If youre not the one then U shoulgnt feel guilty for what Ive said...apology :paiseh:

But there's a saying in Malay......If youre not the one who ate the chilli then why youre the one who felt the burn......... :lol::lol:

Anyway....whats the recipe.? Can share.?

Nah...maybe I sensitive to the words mah...you make it sound as if we are a bunch of selfish reefers. so was trying to correct the statement...here's their contributions... :)

1) Bawater's contribution

2) AlfaRomeo's contribution

And I have ever made extra which I gave to fellow reefers... :P

fish food for sampling

Anyway, I have also posted a few times in different thread. See all this is done by making a search...You could have easily made a search and viola... :yeah:

Here's my humble recipe again...as far as my short term memory can remember... :P

RECIPE FOR A NUTRITIOUS DIET(But take care...standby a good skimmer... :P)

Shrimp

Squid

Oyster

Silver Fish

Fish Roe

Nori seaweed - soak in garlic extreme for a few hours first.

Cyclopeze

Garlic Juice

Pellet Fish Food (I used many different types)

Multi Vitamin

Fish Oil - EPA/DHA

KM Zoecon

KM Marine C (the disease preventive potion)... :P

I am making another batch again for some fellow reefers come month-end. You can even come along to see if you wan to...I dun even worry abt pple learning from me...afterall...it is all abt sharing...but you must stand the mess... :P:lol:

So you see...we do have fellow reefers who have contributed here and there...

:bow: Again sorry to all who was offende by the remark.

Thanks to Fluberrina for sharing but its not beacuse I dont wanna search but no time.....working then at night must take care of kids since wife go for classes.

Now I have a bit more time at night to check out the forum & spent time for the hobby since I just completed my diploma lah....

again...........sooooooooorrrryyyyyyyyyyyyyy...... :bow::bow:

PS: maybe because Im always surrounded by people who like to show of their aquatic skills but in actual fact they're nothing compared to what I know & what I have .........like you people :P

wah .......major saka sia