can some one tell me..

can anyone tell me... is it ok to on my lighting after 6 pm until 2 am

in the morning....

just started to upgrade from 20 gallons (fish only tank ) to 125 gallons (3x2x2.5) with slump just for assorted corals .

tank - 3x2x2.5 - 12 cm thickness (chengal wood with laminated water proofing )

slump-3x2x2 - 8 cm thickness

atman 150w mh-14000k + 18w x2

atman chiller cs-400 cirv-0.5 hp

atman main pump - 5500 l/hour

atman pump 1 - for chiller - 1200 l/hour

atman pump 2 - skimmer - 1200 l/hour

30 kg live rocks and approx- 125 gallon of fresh seawater.

10 bottles of seachems addictive .etc calcium,iodide....

and numerous tests kit.....

all for $2200 ... is it worth....... brought all at pasir ris. can give some suggestion for improvement...... thk in advance. :thanks:

just started to upgrade from 20 gallons (fish only tank ) to 125 gallons (3x2x2.5) with slump just for assorted corals .

==> WOW... a HUGE jump :blink:

tank - 3x2x2.5 - 12 cm thickness (chengal wood with laminated water proofing )

slump-3x2x2 - 8 cm thickness

atman 150w mh-14000k + 18w x2

=====> I doubt your lighting of 1 X 150W is enough... Unless your SPS is just beneath the bulb... ;) For a 3ft, you'll need 2 X 250 at least for proper coverage and intensity.

atman chiller cs-400 cirv-0.5 hp

=====> No matter what chiller you use, as long as the temp is stable. A SPS tank MUST have stable perimeters :ph34r:

atman main pump - 5500 l/hour

atman pump 1 - for chiller - 1200 l/hour

atman pump 2 - skimmer - 1200 l/hour

=====> need more circulation... a tunze or 2 set on random motion will do the job just nicely

30 kg live rocks and approx- 125 gallon of fresh seawater.

=====> Need more LR... alot more LR

=====> never state using DSB or BB???

10 bottles of seachems addictive .etc calcium,iodide....

and numerous tests kit.....

=====> test the perimeter BEFORE dosing.... ;)

all for $2200 ... is it worth....... brought all at pasir ris. can give some suggestion for

=======> Weather worth it or not makes little difference, since you already bough the stuff. ;) So just put tt behind and see area that need to improve :P

my 2cents :paiseh:

Every single cents is worth it if u can sustain and make ur sps color and grow. Else, juz a waste of money ;)

Welcome to the forum.

My advice: why not spend time to read up?

Afterall the forum has quite a bit of info if you are interested...that's what I did before trying out SPS a while back......

Check this out:

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=1629

can anyone tell me... is it ok to on my lighting after 6 pm until 2 am

in the morning....

wat time do you all start your lighting time and light out until what time.

i plan to start at 6 to 2 in the morning... sound weird hor.. but no choice le.. wan to see the light on when i come back home. ;)

My light on @ 5PM and off at midnight, don't forget coral doesn't know how to look at the clock. So your worry nothging :)D

I am planning to switch on my light from 8 pm till 7 pm in the morning. Personally, I think it is good for me otherwise I can't really see those guys when i am home.

But not really sure how these guy feels since they have inbuilt bio-clock - i think some of the species are pretty intelligent they can calculate the date of a full moon - that's when spawning occur probably .. maybe celebrating mooncake festival or something ....

But currently my tank in the balcony area so if I turn my mH on in the night - my balcony would be lounge for all the lizards and nocturnal creatures in the nights. So I am thinking of redoing my setup to house the tank in the hall and the sump in the balcony area before i switch to such a plan.

1x150W defi not enuff for SPS

i have a same sized tank as you..

i think best if at least 250W or 2x150W

i am using 2x150W...and only dare to put SPS right on top..

i find that 2200 a little steep lah..

my tank 12mm thick, with chenggai stand and MH ard 1k only...

but i got all from various sources...

Personally, & I can't substantiate with any research findings here... it is not a good idea to have your lighting on from PM to AM... SPS are primitive animals and they do have a sense of night and day, this has nothing to do with whether they can read the clock.

It is not so much the bother of having your lights on at night but rather the reverse... to be able to provide them a complete night environment... something you can't do during daylight. I find and believe that corals flourish and thrive at night and yes also grow during the night, like human beings, um kids I mean grow at night.... Speaking after seeing some fast growing SPSes in my tank, I think they definitely grow at night but colour up in the day. The SPSes polyps open well and big in the night, almost all, even the ones that never open during the day. Its is almost as if they can't wait for the lights to go off.

Lots of other tank life also need a night life... from fishes to worms to whatever.

May I suggest that you leave your lights on during the day say about 11 am and turn off at about 8 or 9 pm still giving you some ability to see the tank when you get home and them some good zero light.

Go with your current 1* 150w first and place your SPSes higher up, montis are easy lower and nice too. As you progress with experience, you could always upgrade.

for a single 250W, it doesn't give a good coverage...at most it will cover 2ft of your tank...i'm using a single 250W with spider reflector and the side of my tank is rather dark...

i would rather that u choose other brands of pumps instead of atman...reasons being

1) they are not reliable

2) their flowrate is usually overrated

3) they suck hell lotsa electricity

4) cannot be runned externally

5) very hot

i used to think that atman sounds cool but after using 106 for my return for about 1mth, i kept it in the storeroom and nvr touch it again...i bit the bullet at got myself an eheim 2nd hand...

your tank is pretty tall, so i really suggest getting a 250W...150W won't be able to sustain hard corals that u might wanna put on the sand bed...since u have not bought any lights yet, y not use t5?? heard very very good reviews on them..but dun stinge, get as many tubes as your tank need...squeeze them to get the most out of them...

try not to dose those additives blindly...do your parameter checks 1st before dosing anything...my last tank crash was due to this...i simply dose as stated on the instruction without testing..

Personally, & I can't substantiate with any research findings here... it is not a good idea to have your lighting on from PM to AM... SPS are primitive animals and they do have a sense of night and day, this has nothing to do with whether they can read the clock.

It is not so much the bother of having your lights on at night but rather the reverse... to be able to provide them a complete night environment... something you can't do during daylight. I find and believe that corals flourish and thrive at night and yes also grow during the night, like human beings, um kids I mean grow at night.... Speaking after seeing some fast growing SPSes in my tank, I think they definitely grow at night but colour up in the day. The SPSes polyps open well and big in the night, almost all, even the ones that never open during the day. Its is almost as if they can't wait for the lights to go off.

Lots of other tank life also need a night life... from fishes to worms to whatever.

May I suggest that you leave your lights on during the day say about 11 am and turn off at about 8 or 9 pm still giving you some ability to see the tank when you get home and them some good zero light.

Go with your current 1* 150w first and place your SPSes higher up, montis are easy lower and nice too. As you progress with experience, you could always upgrade.

i can't agree with you any better ... looks like it doesn't sound right ;)

Some suggestions..i feel that you should change your return pump as some reefers mention. The flowrate is sufficient for your tank but the pump is not as reliable as Eheim pumps. i'm not saying that atman is lousy. Its just that a return pump is a very critical piece of equipment. Imagine you just spent thousands of dollars on a reef tank. You realise one day after work that your whole tank crashed because your return pump fail. Doesn't it sound logical that one should invest a little bit more just to protect your livestock? I believe that why many reefers spend a whooping 500 buck for a iwaki pump.

150w are not enough for SPS. Most tanks i have seen with 150w Mh only manage to colour some part if not none of the SPS. One Mh, like some reefers mentioned, have dark areas at the side. Which may or may not be good depending on your tank inhibitants. eg. mushrooms no need as much light. Some deeper sea fishes prefer to have subdue lightings too.

Better if can upgrade to a 400w or 2x250wMh. T5 is also a very good option. You will need to read up more to decide for yourself what is best for your system.

Just my 2 cents...

but what if ur sps came from the other side of the world where night time here in singapore is day time from the environment it came from? ;););)

would be great if you could share the sources of your research