Sun corals

Travy

Bought two colony of sun corals. Been in my tank for almost 1 week.

They seemed rather reluctant to open fully leh... :huh:

Only half way at most.... The rest of my corals are doing fine.

Wonder what am i doing wrong? Anyone can help? :nc:

Hi Travy

Be patience......they will open......believe they need some time to adjust to your tank. By the way, they do not need strong lights....thus place it in a cave if you have....or somewhere that the lights aint so strong.

In any case, you need to target feed this beauty......I use to have....but my lazy bum kill it......but I have to say its a hardy coral.....lasted very long ....almost >6 month...from my 2 feet to my current....... :lol:

Woah....

okok will continue to try. I place them on the sand bed where they are slightly shaded. Hope they will be ok.... <_<

Woah....

okok will continue to try. I place them on the sand bed where they are slightly shaded. Hope they will be ok.... <_<

Also it need good water circulation.

Low to medium flow I would say.

Mine always open after the light is "OFF"

Me place it on the top part, easy feeding ma. ;)

Doing Okie under my 24W T5 lighting. :P

I put them on teh sand bed close to some rocks. On top? later too bright they fry ah... :P

Tried Prawn juice liao. They will open only halfway, then stop liao.

I didnt know they take sinking pellets!! Wow... lucky u man...

Can it be that they will take some time to adapt? Coz its been only ard 1 week. <_<

I guess the good thing is that although they dont extend out, they didnt retract till the 'cups' looks empty. Erm... if u know what i mean... :huh:

sun coral can open even under MH lights, but u gotta train them.. :)

Train them ah... Hmmm...

Wheres the whip when i need one... :evil:

Sun corals can be placed right under the light. In nature, they are not always found in the shade or upside down. They even grow upright on rocks. If you keep your water parameters good and have algae under control there is no harm placing them directly under lights. Corals that are not autotrophic tend to have less resistance to prevent algae growing on them. Which is why in captivity most people place them in the shade as most people have problem with at least some kind of algae.

Sun corals need a moderate flow of water to stimulate them to open too.

Sun corals can be placed right under the light. In nature, they are not always found in the shade or upside down. They even grow upright on rocks. If you keep your water parameters good and have algae under control there is no harm placing them directly under lights. Corals that are not autotrophic tend to have less resistance to prevent algae growing on them. Which is why in captivity most people place them in the shade as most people have problem with at least some kind of algae.

Sun corals need a moderate flow of water to stimulate them to open too.

Hmmm mine does open half way... Can se the mouth and the body of the polyps but the arms are not extending leh.... <_<

Gonna try using prawn head juice.... heee... heard it might work. :P

Hmmm mine does open half way... Can se the mouth and the body of the polyps but the arms are not extending leh.... <_<

Gonna try using prawn head juice.... heee... heard it might work. :P

Another alternative will be cyclopeeze.. just put a bit into the water column and they will open up... i target feed them once in a few days as well.

roughly how much a piece?

Different places different prices lah.

I bought mine from I-aquaria at pasir ris. 8 bucks a piece after bargain.. hee ;)