algae dominate

Lin

Gosh.. :erm: notice red slime algae covering my live rock, believe itz due to poor flow..if theres a need to remove them.. shld i take out and scrub them under freshwater or ONLY used old saltwater to clean? what is ur golden advice ne? :thanks:

maybe u can take note of ur PO4 and NO3 level too . high concentration will cause cyano too . increase flowrate .

:o so i do not have to scrub them off 1st? *lost*

dunno how u can scrape it off ... but IMO u can siphon out the top level of the sandbed , wash it , then put it back lor .

if u wanna get immediate reason , u can get cyano- removal medication found in most LFS . however i did not use that product b4 , cant comment much too . wait for senior reefer. dunno why my snail seem to eat up the cyano ya haha :lol:

no more of such nonsense liao .

hmm.. those on the the LR neh? they are easy to remove thou, juz duno if i shld dip and scrub those LR in freshwater or used saltwater neh? pls advice wor.. :P

someone did advice mi to dip those liverock in old saltwater and scrape it off using a toothbrush hee.

i dun think to scrub it off using freshwater is gd as some of the bacteria for bio filtration will die then sometime it might keep off a ammonia spike . i will advice not to try that lah . unless ur tank is quite big and u are like taking a small percentage of ur rock to scrub.

apparently some cleaing crews (eg , snail and hermit crab) does eat cyano if i am not wrong .

thks bro for the golden advice.. :P u noe wat, i had decided and try to clean off cyano frm my LR by taking out to brush and ran it over after by tap water.. the next thing u saw in the water is a bristleworm.. OMG, hair stand~ Yucks... hope it doent effect anything in the tank? :unsure:

you WHAT?! you ran your liverock over with tapwater?

by doing that, you don't only kill the cyanobacteria, you kill all the beneficial bacteria!

please say you only did it to one liverock. and it was the smallest, least dense of them all.

why do you think all the advice given was to reduce photoperiod/feeding or change water etc, instead of scrubbing with freshwater. (=

:unsure: Gosh.. erm.. well...coz i fink that tank is getting worst and outta hand.. juz decided to take only tt to clean it.. will observe that in future.. erm.. fish and coral are fine..=x hope it wont happen again.. :P gee.. thks thks..

Using tapwater to clean your LR will not only kill beneficial bacteria but also cause some die-offs which gives ammonia spike when you put it back into your tank.Also the LR will leach back phosphates from the tapwater into your system.Pls use saltwater from your water change to clean LR in future.

Hi

I hv tried a lot of matter using cleaning pack, change 20% of water, cut down feeling but it did not work. So I try Juzzmarine method by off the light for 2-3 days and cyano is almost gone.

Try this cheapest method and you will :lol:

:unsure: erm... what do u mean by Juzzmarine method neh? usually i dun leave my lights for a long hrs wor.. but cyano still comes back? i did my 20% water change weekly too.. now it came back oso, had increase the water circulation too.. my cleaning crew not working neh.. duno wat they doing sia.. hmm..

wat i usually do is i actually mix my salt immediately and then use it for water change..is it a reason to tt? or i ned to remove sth in the water 1st? my tank evaporate fast too, i always top up immediately with tap water, can it be the cause wor? save me ba~~~ :blink:

:unsure: erm... what do u mean by Juzzmarine method neh? usually i dun leave my lights for a long hrs wor.. but cyano still comes back? i did my 20% water change weekly too.. now it came back oso, had increase the water circulation too.. my cleaning crew not working neh.. duno wat they doing sia.. hmm..

wat i usually do is i actually mix my salt immediately and then use it for water change..is it a reason to tt? or i ned to remove sth in the water 1st? my tank evaporate fast too, i always top up immediately with tap water, can it be the cause wor? save me ba~~~ :blink:

I suggest changing of water using only salt mixed with DI/RO water. If you do not have a DI/RO unit, then its better you purchase seawater from LFS. Else you will forever be adding new phosphate/nitrate and other impurities from the tapwater into your tank and the cyano problem will continue.........

Scape, stir and siphon the LR and sandbed off the detritus and cyano during water change. If your circulation & water turnover rate is good, the cloudiness will settle within 10mins time. If not, you might wan to look farther into your circulation problem.

Decreasing photoperiod, feeding & growing macroalgae, using phosphate remover will help too.

Eric

By switching off the light wouldn't it cause all light loving sps to up lorry also?

Anyone ever try this & their sps still around to tell its stories? Because I also got problem...already increased circulation ...using 2 Tunze & 1 Seio plus Rowaphos thru FR.

hmmmm .... if there is a storm with dark clowds no sun for few days over a reef .... will the SPS in the sea all up the lorry?

Stairway to Heaven

that was reckless... betta pray there isnt any massive die-offs from that LR....

btw, red slime is quite common in new tanks.... just siphon them out during water changes shld be enuff temporarily... no matter wat method u use, they will come back again if u r still having alot of dissolved nutrients.... by running under tap water, u might make things more complicated.... any massive die-offs will introduce more ammonia into ur tank n if not handled well, may trigger another cycling period....

wat u need to do in the long run is to increase ur water circulation so that dissolve nutrients will not accumulate in a particular area in the tank.... it may be a gd idea to place a powerhead that blows on the surface of ur sandbed....

btw, u wont see the effects immediate... u hav to be patient, u may have to wait like mths until ur water parameters stablises (provided u dun overfeed or overstock n u use carbon n phosphate removing medium) b4 u wont see so much cyano again....

:unsure: so meanwhile i shld still do my 20% water change? and let them settle dwn? will it get worst neh? but hor, those cyano always appear on my LR, not on my sand wor... will it get thicker anot ah? :blink:

i also have this problem b4, reduce ur photo period, it sure help. Reduce feeding, 20% water changes may not be enough if nitrate is super high. 50% may be essential(i may be wrong). U can always buy distilled water from super markets for ur water changes. If the cyano is on ur LR now, it will slowly spread onto ur sandbed. Get phosphate removal media,eg. ROWAphos, it will help. Hope this help.

:unsure: erm, always wana try distilled water frm supermarket to control that too.. always not sure safe anot, scali mati then i mati oso too :P .. since u had said distilled can be used, i suppose itz safe? Does u guys really got a RO system to purify ur water? Buying carton of distilled water really serious wor~ ok, will try and see how it works, will try to observe other test too.. :angel: