• Replies 196

Awaiting patiently ! yo Roidan.....very late noon liao...going to early evening

oh yeah..sala about the price....the 20k one is the turboflotor 20 000..my recent aquainted pal told me..hehe

ok..here goes....

test firing pics.......projected fire across the island...end up fire across the straits of malacca :lol: .....need to do some adjustments in the coming weeks :lol:

did not fire long....will do a comprehensive report when it is finally deployed at my place... ;)

seriously one is very dense with bubbles already...but of coz 2 is better....lol....

but well...surprisingly mx100 is rather quiet to my ear (maybe coz it's outdoors)....i did not run it very long to see how warm it feels in long term operating scenario...but the wind cooling the pump from the pump fan is very strong....almost like number 3 fan setting on most cars ...

it was a hot afternoon...but somehow when i placed my hand to feel the wind blowing across the pump...it felt like cool wind....

I am impressed. A converted iwaki user.....time to replumb my system with the mx100 from weileong. :)

Anyway, this is my advice for beckett users....

once you have decided on this *school* of skimming....there is not point trying to save electricity...because becketts derive their performance from pressure rated pumps that can push a great deal through the venturi and withstand the backpressure...if you open up the beckett injector, you will notice that it is actually a great deal of resistance that the pump has to push through....

it is like you decided on a fuel hungry ferrari but want to save fuel with the fuel economy of a toyota corolla engine. if you have decided on the ferrari...go ahead and flaunt it....and burn the petrol that the engine yearns for....

there is no point buying a fuel hungry ferrari but yet lightly tapping on the accelerator everytime you drive hoping it consumes like a toyota engine....you are just depriving both the ferrai the energy it deserves and you yourself the fun of owning one...

just like if you want to save electricity with a beckett...you probably have to look elsewhere for other schools :)

i have played with a number of pumps through the injector....can easily see the difference :)

well...for those who ask me where to buy this....where to buy that...how to do this...how to do that...seriously some of the answers i dunno....and some of the answers even i know i am obliged not to tell.

people who are serious about DIY, take effort, time, money and pain to go around searching for materials, read up and research on design or learn through experience by making prior models. Nowadays there are too many DIY Leechers or Robbers who leech around trying to plunder or expect to be spoonfed with information.

It is precisely the process of searching and procuring the ideal materials that adds to the fun of DIY...to be spoonfed and start fixing everything up is just being a human factory...nothing more than that.

It is precisely of such DIY-Robbers that make the gurus unwilling to share like they did in the past when the spirit

of DIY was strong. Such robbers copy....and use DIY section as a means to earn money under the cloak of DIY. And the best part is that they probably undercut our sponsors who have similar products in their lineup.

I am sure DIY sponsors like cookiemunster would know best how it feels to have someone copying his design and undercutting him.

And worse, asking him how to get this and that...and then finally sells similar products via the forum under the guise of DIY.

Yes sadly there are indeed such slimeballs around.

Thus for those who are interested in getting items that our sponsors offer, please support them and understand that they have overheads like supporting the forum by being a sponsor. And if you are buying from them, you are helping our forum too :)

If not for the guru that I know personally, I would have gotten one of our sponsors to do this skimmer too :)

Save our sponsors! :)

well...for those who ask me where to buy this....where to buy that...how to do this...how to do that...seriously some of the answers i dunno....and some of the answers even i know i am obliged not to tell.

people who are serious about DIY, take effort, time, money and pain to go around searching for materials, read up and research on design or learn through experience by making prior models. Nowadays there are too many DIY Leechers or Robbers who leech around trying to plunder or expect to be spoonfed with information.

It is precisely the process of searching and procuring the ideal materials that adds to the fun of DIY...to be spoonfed and start fixing everything up is just being a human factory...nothing more than that.

It is precisely of such DIY-Robbers that make the gurus unwilling to share like they did in the past when the spirit

of DIY was strong. Such robbers copy....and use DIY section as a means to earn money under the cloak of DIY. And the best part is that they probably undercut our sponsors who have similar products in their lineup.

I am sure DIY sponsors like cookiemunster would know best how it feels to have someone copying his design and undercutting him.

And worse, asking him how to get this and that...and then finally sells similar products via the forum under the guise of DIY.

Yes sadly there are indeed such slimeballs around.

Thus for those who are interested in getting items that our sponsors offer, please support them and understand that they have overheads like supporting the forum by being a sponsor. And if you are buying from them, you are helping our forum too :)

If not for the guru that I know personally, I would have gotten one of our sponsors to do this skimmer too  :)

Save our sponsors!  :)

luckily all my product goes to our sponsor...

hhhmmmm....except for 2 set of RoBEck Mega(for friends mah)...

SUPPORT THE SPONSORS!!!

That's why I say buy from the sponsors if they have what we want.

Help support the forum :)

But basically even when a few sponsors are offering the same genre of products...quality, performance and end results may differ from one to another.

Take for example cookiemunster who is technically sound in his knowledge and design. One look at his products and you will know that there are reasons why he designs it this way or that way. And he take pains to explain his design here so that we understand his product features (though at the risk of being robbed of his ideas and ingenius implimentation of ideas into design by rippers who end up selling cheaper than him). And you get an end product that is well-engineered and technically backed by his knowledge.

And there are sponsors who bring in products that they themselves do not play a part in the design and fabrication of the product. The products are only as good as the source of the products. And when buying such products, reputation of the brand and track record is important as that is what you have to determine if the product will work long term for you. Brand names like Barr, Deltecs and Bubblekings sell themselves easily :)

Perhaps one day one of the sponsors can tap on my free time and link up with me to come out with my Roidan's Repertoire of products. But I will probably have to scurry around ask this and that, this and that from DIY masters and gurus and ask them to spoonfeed me.

Wanna place your orders now? :yeah: the end product will be cheap and probably looks good and runs pretty good too. ;)

But I dun trust myself and my meagre skills and knowledge and you shouldn't trust me too :lol:

I see the guru's knowledge and fabrication skills in person. And i feel so ashamed that what I know pales in comparison :paiseh: It is definitely a loss to the DIY scene when such gurus are disappointed by what they see in the scene :nc:

oh...a fellow reefer told me after seeing this pic, now he knows how to stop the backflow when the pump fails....

i was quite surprised as i thought this is common knowledge that this is done in many designs to prevent backflow

very basic i thought, no nuclear physics or fluid dynamics involved :)

ok..my mistake..maybe some common knowledge is still not very common :upsidedown:

anyway, the new trend in skimming will be katting, i will be katting soon...

so anyone going to kat with me? :lol:

er..sorry...maybe not common knowledge yet..but dun worry, just a matter of time when katting catches on :lol:

post-9-1097455019.jpg